Workshop
Regenerative Activism
With Servane D., Isabel Fremeaux, Jay Jordan
Admission free

The workshop is fully booked, thank you for the high interest!

Dates
21 June
Friday
Time 10am - 6pm
 
22 June
Saturday
Time 10am - 6pm
 
21 June
Friday
Time 10am - 6pm
 
22 June
Saturday
Time 10am - 6pm
 
© The Laboratory of Insurrectionary Imagination
© Zad
© Jay Jordan
© Aymeric Masseron

Can we imagine a world where those involved in the fight for social and ecological justice somehow renew themselves rather than burn out or give up? A culture with care rather than exploitation at its heart? Movements where we thrive rather than just endure? This workshop will present some tools for Regenerative Activism, an approach that tries to make our activism more effective and resilient to crises. Rather than just being able to “keep going”, it is about revitalising our personal and collective resources, thus keeping our movements responsive and creative.

With Servane D., Isabelle Fremeaux and Jay Jordan three inhabitants of the autonomous commune Zone to Defend (Zad) in France will come to Vienna. In two workshops and two talks they will offer trainings in (anti-) repression, share tools for a regenerative activism, give insights into the mass movement Les Soulèvements de la Terre, that emerged from Zad, as well as into the creative resistance and joyful forms of disobedience that The Laboratory of Insurrectionary Imagination (Labofii) has been practising.

Biography: Isabelle Fremeaux

Isabelle Fremeaux (she/her) is a popular educator, action researcher and deserter of the neoliberal academy where for a decade she was Senior Lecturer at Birkbeck College London. Co-author (with Jay Jordan) of the film and book Les Sentiers de l’utopie (2011, La Découverte), together they coordinate The Laboratory of Insurrectionary Imagination (Labofii), bringing artists and activists together to design tools and acts of disobedience. Jay and Isa live and work on the Zad of Notre-dame-des-landes, 'a territory lost to the republic,' according to the French government, where an international airport project was abandoned after a 40 years of struggle. Isa and Jay’s latest book is about the Zad: We are ‘Nature’ Defending Itself: Entangling Art, Activism and Autonomous Zones (Vagabonds/Pluto/Journal of Aesthetics & Protest, 2021).

Biography: Jay Jordan

Labelled a 'Domestic Extremist' by the UK police, and 'a magician of rebellion' by the French press, Jay Jordan (they/them) co-founded Reclaim the Streets and the Clandestine Insurgent Rebel Clown Army. They have applied creative tactics to ecological and social justice movements since the 1990’s. They are co-author of We Are Everywhere: The irresistible rise of global anticapitalism (2003,Verso) and A Users Guide to Demanding the Impossible (With Gavin Grindon, Minor Compositions, 2011).

Related content
logo
Press the Enter key to search or ESC to close
The Wiener Festwochen would like to thank their main sponsors.
Wiener Festwochen | Free Republic of Vienna Service
T +43 1 589 22 22
daily 10am–7pm
service@festwochen.at

Workshop
Regenerativer Aktivismus
Mit Servane D., Isabel Fremeaux, Jay Jordan
Termine
21. Juni
Freitag
Zeit 10 - 18 Uhr
 
22. Juni
Samstag
Zeit 10 - 18 Uhr
 
21. Juni
Freitag
Zeit 10 - 18 Uhr
 
22. Juni
Samstag
Zeit 10 - 18 Uhr
 
© The Laboratory of Insurrectionary Imagination
© Zad
© Jay Jordan
© Aymeric Masseron

Können wir uns eine Welt vorstellen, in der diejenigen, die sich für soziale und ökologische Gerechtigkeit einsetzen, sich irgendwie selbst erneuern anstatt auszubrennen oder aufzugeben? Eine Kultur, in der Fürsorge und nicht Ausbeutung im Mittelpunkt stehen? Bewegungen, in denen wir gedeihen und nicht nur überleben? Dieser Workshop stellt Tools für Regenerativen Aktivismus vor, einen Ansatz, der unseren Aktivismus effektiver und krisenfester machen soll. Anstatt nur „einfach weiterzumachen“ geht es um das Wiederbeleben unserer persönlichen und kollektiven Ressourcen, damit unsere Bewegungen reaktionsfähig und kreativ bleiben.

Mit Servane D., Isabelle Fremeaux und Jay Jordan kommen drei Bewohner:innen der in Frankreich gelegenen, autonomen, gemeinschaftlichen Zone à défendre (Zad, dt. zu verteidigende Zone) nach Wien. In zwei Workshops und zwei Gesprächsformaten bieten sie Trainings für (Anti-)Repression, vermitteln Werkzeuge für einen regenerativen Aktivismus, geben Einblicke in die Massenbewegung Les Soulèvements de la Terre, die in der Zad entstanden ist, sowie in den künstlerischen Widerstand und die fröhlichen Formen des Ungehorsams, welche das Laboratory of Insurrectionary Imagination (Labofii) seit 2004 praktiziert.

Biographie: Isabelle Fremeaux

Isabelle Fremeaux (she/her) ist Pädagogin (Volksbildung), Aktionsforscherin und Deserteurin der neoliberalen Akademie, an der sie ein Jahrzehnt lang als Senior Lecturer am Birkbeck College London tätig war. Als Co-Autor:innen (mit Jay Jordan) des Films und des Buches Les Sentiers de l'utopie (2011, La Découverte) koordinieren sie gemeinsam das Laboratory of Insurrectionary Imagination (Labofii), das Künstler:innen und Aktivist:innen zusammenbringt, um Werkzeuge und Aktionen des Ungehorsams zu entwickeln. Jay und Isa leben und arbeiten auf der Zad von Notre-dame-des-landes, einem laut der französischen Regierung "für die Republik verlorenen Gebiet", wo ein internationales Flughafenprojekt nach 40 Jahren Kampf aufgegeben wurde. Isa und Jays neuestes Buch handelt von der Zad: We are 'Nature' Defending Itself: Entangling Art, Activism and Autonomous Zones (Vagabonds/Pluto/Journal of Aesthetics & Protest, 2021).

Biographie: Jay Jordan

Jay Jordan (they/them), von der britischen Polizei als "Extremist:in" und von der französischen Presse als "Magier:in der Rebellion" bezeichnet wurde, ist Mitbegründer:in von Reclaim the Streets und der Clandestine Insurgent Rebel Clown Army. Seit den 1990er Jahren wendet Jay Jordan kreative Taktiken auf ökologische und soziale Gerechtigkeitsbewegungen an. Jay Jordan ist Mitautor:in von We Are Everywhere: The irresistible rise of global anticapitalism (2003, Verso) und A Users Guide to Demanding the Impossible (mit Gavin Grindon, Minor Compositions, 2011).

Zugehörige Inhalte
logo
Drücken Sie die Eingabetaste, um zu suchen, oder ESC, um zu schließen
Die Wiener Festwochen danken ihren Hauptsponsoren
Wiener Festwochen | Freie Republik Wien Service
T +43 1 589 22 22
täglich 10–19 Uhr
service@festwochen.at