Talk
Becoming the Territory: The Laboratory of Insurrectionary Imagination
With Isabel Fremeaux, Jay Jordan
Date
20 June
Thursday
Time 6pm
 
20 June
Thursday
Time 6pm
 
© The Laboratory of Insurrectionary Imagination
© Jay Jordan
© Aymeric Masseron

The Laboratory of Insurrectionary Imagination is infamous for bringing artist and activists together to co-design and deploy joyful forms of disobedience since 2004. They now inhabit the zad, 'a territory lost to the republic,' according to the French government, where an airport project was abandoned after a 40 years of struggle. They will take us on a journey of creative resistance exploring how we must abandon the toxic hypermobility of the art world and learn to become the territory.

With Servane D., Isabelle Fremeaux and Jay Jordan three inhabitants of the autonomous commune Zone to Defend (Zad) in France will come to Vienna. In two workshops and two talks they will offer trainings in (anti-) repression, share tools for a regenerative activism, give insights into the mass movement Les Soulèvements de la Terre, that emerged from Zad, as well as into the creative resistance and joyful forms of disobedience that The Laboratory of Insurrectionary Imagination (Labofii) has been practising.

Biography: Isabelle Fremeaux

Isabelle Fremeaux (she/her) is a popular educator, action researcher and deserter of the neoliberal academy where for a decade she was Senior Lecturer at Birkbeck College London. Co-author (with Jay Jordan) of the film and book Les Sentiers de l’utopie (2011, La Découverte), together they coordinate The Laboratory of Insurrectionary Imagination (Labofii), bringing artists and activists together to design tools and acts of disobedience. Jay and Isa live and work on the Zad of Notre-dame-des-landes, 'a territory lost to the republic,' according to the French government, where an international airport project was abandoned after a 40 years of struggle. Isa and Jay’s latest book is about the Zad: We are ‘Nature’ Defending Itself: Entangling Art, Activism and Autonomous Zones (Vagabonds/Pluto/Journal of Aesthetics & Protest, 2021).

Biography: Jay Jordan

Labelled a 'Domestic Extremist' by the UK police, and 'a magician of rebellion' by the French press, Jay Jordan (they/them) co-founded Reclaim the Streets and the Clandestine Insurgent Rebel Clown Army. They have applied creative tactics to ecological and social justice movements since the 1990’s. They are co-author of We Are Everywhere: The irresistible rise of global anticapitalism (2003,Verso) and A Users Guide to Demanding the Impossible (With Gavin Grindon, Minor Compositions, 2011).

Related content
logo
Press the Enter key to search or ESC to close
The Wiener Festwochen would like to thank their main sponsors.
Wiener Festwochen | Free Republic of Vienna Service
T +43 1 589 22 22
daily 10am–7pm
service@festwochen.at

Talk
Zum Territorium werden: Das Laboratory of Insurrectionary Imagination
Mit Isabel Fremeaux, Jay Jordan
Termin
20. Juni
Donnerstag
Zeit 18 Uhr
 
20. Juni
Donnerstag
Zeit 18 Uhr
 
© The Laboratory of Insurrectionary Imagination
© Jay Jordan
© Aymeric Masseron

Das Laboratory of Insurrectionary Imagination ist berühmt-berüchtigt dafür, dass es seit 2004 Künstler:innen und Aktivist:innen zusammenbringt, um gemeinsam fröhliche Formen des Ungehorsams zu entwickeln und umzusetzen. Sie bewohnen nun die Zad, ein laut der französischen Regierung „für die Republik verlorenes Gebiet“, in dem ein Flughafenprojekt nach 40 Jahren Kampf aufgegeben wurde. Sie nehmen uns mit auf eine Reise des kreativen Widerstands und zeigen uns, wie wir die toxische Hypermobilität der Kunstwelt aufgeben und lernen müssen, selbst zum Territorium zu werden.

Mit Servane D., Isabelle Fremeaux und Jay Jordan kommen drei Bewohner:innen der in Frankreich gelegenen, autonomen, gemeinschaftlichen Zone à défendre (Zad, dt. zu verteidigende Zone) nach Wien. In zwei Workshops und zwei Gesprächsformaten bieten sie Trainings für (Anti-)Repression, vermitteln Werkzeuge für einen regenerativen Aktivismus, geben Einblicke in die Massenbewegung Les Soulèvements de la Terre, die in der Zad entstanden ist, sowie in den künstlerischen Widerstand und die fröhlichen Formen des Ungehorsams, welche das Laboratory of Insurrectionary Imagination (Labofii) seit 2004 praktiziert.

Biographie: Isabelle Fremeaux

Isabelle Fremeaux (she/her) ist Pädagogin (Volksbildung), Aktionsforscherin und Deserteurin der neoliberalen Akademie, an der sie ein Jahrzehnt lang als Senior Lecturer am Birkbeck College London tätig war. Als Co-Autor:innen (mit Jay Jordan) des Films und des Buches Les Sentiers de l'utopie (2011, La Découverte) koordinieren sie gemeinsam das Laboratory of Insurrectionary Imagination (Labofii), das Künstler:innen und Aktivist:innen zusammenbringt, um Werkzeuge und Aktionen des Ungehorsams zu entwickeln. Jay und Isa leben und arbeiten auf der Zad von Notre-dame-des-landes, einem laut der französischen Regierung "für die Republik verlorenen Gebiet", wo ein internationales Flughafenprojekt nach 40 Jahren Kampf aufgegeben wurde. Isa und Jays neuestes Buch handelt von der Zad: We are 'Nature' Defending Itself: Entangling Art, Activism and Autonomous Zones (Vagabonds/Pluto/Journal of Aesthetics & Protest, 2021).

Biographie: Jay Jordan

Jay Jordan (they/them), von der britischen Polizei als "Extremist:in" und von der französischen Presse als "Magier:in der Rebellion" bezeichnet wurde, ist Mitbegründer:in von Reclaim the Streets und der Clandestine Insurgent Rebel Clown Army. Seit den 1990er Jahren wendet Jay Jordan kreative Taktiken auf ökologische und soziale Gerechtigkeitsbewegungen an. Jay Jordan ist Mitautor:in von We Are Everywhere: The irresistible rise of global anticapitalism (2003, Verso) und A Users Guide to Demanding the Impossible (mit Gavin Grindon, Minor Compositions, 2011).

Zugehörige Inhalte
logo
Drücken Sie die Eingabetaste, um zu suchen, oder ESC, um zu schließen
Die Wiener Festwochen danken ihren Hauptsponsoren
Wiener Festwochen | Freie Republik Wien Service
T +43 1 589 22 22
täglich 10–19 Uhr
service@festwochen.at