Workshop
REHEARSING (ANTI)REPRESSION
With Isabelle Fremeaux, Servane D.
Dates
13 June
Thursday
Time 10am - 6pm
 
14 June
Friday
Time 10am - 6pm
 
13 June
Thursday
Time 10am - 6pm
 
14 June
Friday
Time 10am - 6pm
 
© The Laboratory of Insurrectionary Imagination
© Jay Jordan
© DarkBlue

The repression of activism is growing everywhere, everything is done to scare people from fighting. Being prepared is one of the best weapons against this and theatre is a great tool for rehearsing repression. This workshop will train people to be able to run re-enactments of situations of police custody and interrogation, so as to prepare activists for eventual arrest by giving them knowledge about their legal rights but also an embodied taste of the experience of being detained in a police station.

With Servane D., Isabelle Fremeaux and Jay Jordan three inhabitants of the autonomous commune Zone to Defend (Zad) in France will come to Vienna. In two workshops and two talks they will offer trainings in (anti-) repression, share tools for a regenerative activism, give insights into the mass movement Les Soulèvements de la Terre, that emerged from Zad, as well as into the creative resistance and joyful forms of disobedience that The Laboratory of Insurrectionary Imagination (Labofii) has been practising.

Biography: Isabelle Fremeaux

Isabelle Fremeaux (she/her) is a popular educator, action researcher and deserter of the neoliberal academy where for a decade she was Senior Lecturer at Birkbeck College London. Co-author (with Jay Jordan) of the film and book Les Sentiers de l’utopie (2011, La Découverte), together they coordinate The Laboratory of Insurrectionary Imagination (Labofii), bringing artists and activists together to design tools and acts of disobedience. Jay and Isa live and work on the Zad of Notre-dame-des-landes, 'a territory lost to the republic,' according to the French government, where an international airport project was abandoned after a 40 years of struggle. Isa and Jay’s latest book is about the Zad: We are ‘Nature’ Defending Itself: Entangling Art, Activism and Autonomous Zones (Vagabonds/Pluto/Journal of Aesthetics & Protest, 2021).

Biography: Servane D.

Servane D. is one of the inhabitants of the autonomous commune Zone to Defend (Zad) in France. From Zad's mud, where she settled six years ago to Rio de Janeiro's beaches, where she met Julian Boal and his Theatre of the Oppressed school, passing by Nantes's acting conservatory, Servane D. has made her way between theatre and activism, sometimes letting them meet one another. She also sings, builds, hikes, dances, loves, solves maths problems, picks plants and wood, and takes care of her friends.

Related content
logo
Press the Enter key to search or ESC to close
The Wiener Festwochen would like to thank their main sponsors.
Wiener Festwochen | Free Republic of Vienna Service
T +43 1 589 22 22
daily 10am–7pm
service@festwochen.at

Workshop
(Anti-)Repression proben
Mit Isabelle Fremeaux, Servane D.
Termine
13. Juni
Donnerstag
Zeit 10 - 18 Uhr
 
14. Juni
Freitag
Zeit 10 - 18 Uhr
 
13. Juni
Donnerstag
Zeit 10 - 18 Uhr
 
14. Juni
Freitag
Zeit 10 - 18 Uhr
 
© The Laboratory of Insurrectionary Imagination
© Jay Jordan
© DarkBlue

Überall nimmt die Unterdrückung von Aktivismus zu, es wird alles dafür getan, damit die Menschen vor Kampfmaßnahmen zurückschrecken. Eine der besten Waffen dagegen ist, darauf vorbereitet zu sein; das Theater ist dabei ein gutes Instrument, um Repression zu proben. In diesem Workshop werden die Teilnehmer:innen trainiert, Situationen von Polizeigewahrsam und Verhören nachzustellen, um Aktivist:innen auf eine eventuelle Verhaftung vorzubereiten, indem sie nicht nur ihre gesetzlichen Rechte kennenlernen, sondern auch die körperliche Erfahrung machen, in einer Polizeistation festgehalten zu werden.

Mit Servane D., Isabelle Fremeaux und Jay Jordan kommen drei Bewohner:innen der in Frankreich gelegenen, autonomen, gemeinschaftlichen Zone à défendre (Zad, dt. zu verteidigende Zone) nach Wien. In zwei Workshops und zwei Gesprächsformaten bieten sie Trainings für (Anti-)Repression, vermitteln Werkzeuge für einen regenerativen Aktivismus, geben Einblicke in die Massenbewegung Les Soulèvements de la Terre, die in der Zad entstanden ist, sowie in den künstlerischen Widerstand und die fröhlichen Formen des Ungehorsams, welche das Laboratory of Insurrectionary Imagination (Labofii) seit 2004 praktiziert.

Biografie: Isabelle Fremeaux

Isabelle Fremeaux (she/her) ist Pädagogin (Volksbildung), Aktionsforscherin und Deserteurin der neoliberalen Akademie, an der sie ein Jahrzehnt lang als Senior Lecturer am Birkbeck College London tätig war. Als Co-Autor:innen (mit Jay Jordan) des Films und des Buches Les Sentiers de l'utopie (2011, La Découverte) koordinieren sie gemeinsam das Laboratory of Insurrectionary Imagination (Labofii), das Künstler:innen und Aktivist:innen zusammenbringt, um Werkzeuge und Aktionen des Ungehorsams zu entwickeln. Jay und Isa leben und arbeiten auf der Zad von Notre-dame-des-landes, einem laut der französischen Regierung "für die Republik verlorenen Gebiet", wo ein internationales Flughafenprojekt nach 40 Jahren Kampf aufgegeben wurde. Isa und Jays neuestes Buch handelt von der Zad: We are 'Nature' Defending Itself: Entangling Art, Activism and Autonomous Zones (Vagabonds/Pluto/Journal of Aesthetics & Protest, 2021).

Biografie: Servane D.

Servane D. ist eine der Bewohner:innen der in Frankreich gelegenen, autonomen, gemeinschaftlichen Zone à défendre (Zad, dt. zu verteidigende Zone). Vom Schlamm der Zad, wo sie sich vor sechs Jahren niedergelassen hat, bis zu den Stränden von Rio de Janeiro, wo sie Julian Boal und seine Schule des Theaters der Unterdrückten kennengelernt hat, und über das Schauspielkonservatorium von Nantes hat Servane D. ihren Weg zwischen Theater und Aktivismus zurückgelegt, wobei sie diese manchmal aufeinandertreffen lässt. Außerdem singt, baut, wandert, tanzt, und liebt sie, löst Matheaufgaben, pflückt Pflanzen und Holz, und kümmert sich um ihre Freunde.

Zugehörige Inhalte
logo
Drücken Sie die Eingabetaste, um zu suchen, oder ESC, um zu schließen
Die Wiener Festwochen danken ihren Hauptsponsoren
Wiener Festwochen | Freie Republik Wien Service
T +43 1 589 22 22
täglich 10–19 Uhr
service@festwochen.at