Du Yun

© Zhen Qin

Biography

Du Yun, born and raised in Shanghai, China, and currently based in New York City, works at the intersection of opera, orchestral, theatre, cabaret, musical, oral tradition, public performances, electronics, visual arts, and noise. Her body of work is championed by some of today’s finest performing groups and organizations around the world.
Du Yun’s second opera Angel’s Bone won the 2017 Pulitzer Prize in Music. Four of her feature studio albums were named The New Yorker’s Notable Recordings of the Year. Her latest monodrama opera In Our Daughter’s Eyes was named a notable performance of the year in 2022 by the New Yorker. A community champion, Du Yun was a founding member of the International Contemporary Ensemble; served as the Artistic Director of MATA Festival (2014-2018); conceived the Pan Asia Sounding Festival at the National Sawdust; and founded FutureTradition, a global initiative that illuminates the provenance lineages of folk art and uses these structures to build cross-regional collaborations.
In 2023, Harvard University honoured her as centennial medalist, the highest recognition for its alumni. She was Artist of the Year at the Beijing Music Festival in 2019, and the Asia Society in Hong Kong has honoured her for her continued contributions to performing arts. The Carnegie Foundation and the Vilcek Prize in Music have honoured her as an immigrant who has made lasting contributions to the American society.
Du Yun is Professor of Composition at the Peabody Institute, and Distinguished Visiting Professor at the Shanghai Conservatory of Music.

logo
logo
Press the Enter key to search or ESC to close
The Wiener Festwochen would like to thank their main sponsors.

Du Yun

© Zhen Qin

Biografie

Du Yun, geboren und aufgewachsen in Shanghai, lebt derzeit in New York City. Sie arbeitet an der Schnittstelle von Oper, Orchestermusik, Theater, Cabaret, Musical, mündlicher Überlieferung, öffentlicher Performance, Elektronik, bildender Kunst und Noise. Ihre Werke werden von renommiertesten Ensembles und Institutionen weltweit zur Aufführung gebracht.
Ihre zweite Oper Angel’s Bone gewann den Pulitzer Prize in Music 2017. Vier ihrer Studioalben wurden im New Yorker als Herausragende Aufnahmen des Jahres ausgezeichnet. Ihre jüngste monodramatische Oper In Our Daughter’s Eyes listete The New Yorker als Herausragende Aufführung des Jahres 2022. Als Pionierin ihrer Community war sie Gründungsmitglied des International Contemporary Ensemble, künstlerische Leiterin des MATA Festivals (2014-2018), entwickelte das Pan Asia Sounding Festival am National Sawdust und gründete FutureTradition, eine globale Initiative zur Sichtbarmachung der Herkunftslinien von Folk Art, die diese Strukturen für den Aufbau interregionaler Zusammenarbeit nutzt.
2023 verlieh die Universität Harvard ihr die Centennial Medal, die höchste Ehre für deren Absolvent:innen. Sie war Künstlerin des Jahres beim Beijing Music Festival 2019 und die Asia Society in Hong Kong zeichnete sie für ihre fortwährenden Beiträge zur darstellenden Kunst aus. Die Carnegie Foundation und der Vilcek Prize in Music ehrten sie als Immigrantin, die einen bleibenden Beitrag zur amerikanischen Gesellschaft geleistet hat.
Du Yun ist Professorin für Komposition am Peabody Institute und Gastprofessorin am Shanghai Conservatory of Music.

logo
Drücken Sie die Eingabetaste, um zu suchen, oder ESC, um zu schließen
Die Wiener Festwochen danken ihren Hauptsponsoren
Wiener Festwochen | Freie Republik Wien Service
T +43 1 589 22 22
täglich 10–19 Uhr
service@festwochen.at