The archive as the laboratory of the new

Where remembering and forgetting converge

The concept of the ‘archive’ has had quite a career in recent years. For the longest time, archives had previously led a rather shadowy existence, regarded as publicity shy, dusty, and fusty. Indeed, for most people, archivists were somewhat pale-faced specialists in sleeve protectors. This changed abruptly the instant renowned philosophers and historians such as Derrida and Foucault began to focus on this very concept. Since then, the term has been doing the rounds in many a new guise. It might therefore be a good idea to define more precisely the sense in which we are about to discuss the notion of archives here.

Two forms of archives

I consider archives as places where the acts of remembering and forgetting converge. To enable a more precise description, I like to differentiate between functional archives and storage archives. Functional archives store whatever is needed for action to be taken in the present. Expiry dates are therefore part and parcel of any functional archive. A doctor’s surgery for instance will dispose of the files of deceased patients; the same applies to ring binders when office premises are vacated to make way for a successor. Functional archives are management tools that guide and support action taken in the present. Bureaucrats and politicians alike can ill afford to do without them. But once the powers-that-be have had their day, the utility value of such information expires at a stroke.

Storage archives follow a completely different logic. They come into being when what is no longer of interest or relevance either for the present or the future is set aside, but not instantly discarded. In historical terms, this approach first established itself after the French Revolution when institutions such as the monarchy, the clergy, and the nobility were forcibly abolished. All traces of them were not simply erased in the process: rather, they were safeguarded within new institutions. It was then that a new awareness emerged for that which had gone before and remained of interest, even if normative powers would no longer ensue, namely history.

The founding saint of the storage archive in this new sense was Abbé Grégoire, who in the final years of the 18th century coined the term ‘vandalism’. He wrote that ‘only barbarians and slaves hate the sciences and destroy the monuments of culture. Free men love and conserve them’. A new concept of culture emerged, one that stood apart from the political. And, along with it, new civic values that acquired sanctuaries in new types of museums, archives, and libraries. The French Revolution unleashed and propelled the drive towards modernisation. All that was eliminated from the present at an ever accelerating pace did not simply disappear; rather, it became ‘historical’ and, as ‘culture’, it acquired a whole new meaning. This new approach to the past in Western modernity is the mainstay of important cultural resources, of which I would like to mention only three.

First: acknowledging the otherness of the past

My first point pertains to a new form of selflessness in dealing with the past. It is an approach that shields the past from the grasp and desires of the present. According to a phrase by Arno Borst, historians stand out by virtue of the fact that they ‘recognise the differences of different times’. Only by preserving and securing sources are we able to acknowledge the ‘otherness’ of different times. To spot an anachronism, we need to know the difference between the present and a past era. This cannot be achieved without archives, for they are the prerequisite for this invaluable cognitive achievement and the bedrock of history education. And it is this education that allows us to broaden our knowledge of our own existence out of the past, to think critically beyond the constraints of a one-sided image of ourselves, and likewise to recognise the otherness within us.

For example: when we take a look today at the programme archives of the Wiener Festwochen, we are inevitably struck by this otherness aspect of history. We learn that there was far more to this significant departure into a new future, to this revival of Vienna as a European Capital of Culture: namely, the repression of traumatic upheavals through a long and proud ‘origin story’. A mere ten years after the war, the focus was already on the unshakeable continuity of this ‘genius loci that has shaped the nature and soul of Vienna for a millennium’. The city is seen as a meeting place ‘whose spirit and culture, landscape, and historical buildings speak the language of all nations and are of such harmonious diversity that all manner of good spirits may feel at home here, in earnestness and in cheerfulness’. With our modern-day sensitivities, the particular emphasis on Vienna’s hospitality silently passes over the fact that many Viennese artists, actors, and musicians were persecuted on racial grounds and forced to flee into exile, like Stefan Zweig or the Viennese ‘pop star’ and violin virtuoso of the 1930s, Arnold Rosé and his daughter Alma; it is to her memory that a commemorative ‘plateau’ on the first floor of the Neue Burg has now been dedicated.

Second: coming to terms with a history denied

When the winds of history begin to shift and a change of political system seems imminent, unjust regimes immediately set about destroying their archives. Thus the apartheid regime in South Africa destroyed tons of incriminating material before it left office, and civil rights activists in the German Democratic Republic first had to go on hunger strike to secure the inventory of Stasi files. In such cases, the information value of these files is turned on its head. In a historical archive, documents that previously served the purpose of political persecution become the basis for a reappraisal of history, for convicting the perpetrators, acknowledging and rehabilitating the victims, and enlightening society as a whole.

In this context, securing sources means even more than broadening our historical image of ourselves; it means retrieving into the present not just a forgotten history, but a history concealed and denied, and then establishing it as the foundations of a new present and a new future. Recognising and accepting a history previously denied in this way can help prevent a reoccurrence of the wrongdoing. In considering the history of Black people in the United States, by and large suppressed from the ‘White archive’, the civil and human rights activist James Baldwin had this pithy formulation: ‘Not everything that is faced can be changed, but nothing can be changed until it is faced.’

Third: the archives of art

In material terms, remembering and forgetting are predicated on different organisational forms within the framework of society, politics, and the arts. Let’s consider musicians by way of an example: until the advent of sound recording technology, their archives consisted exclusively of sheet music, initially handwritten and later reproduced in copperplate engravings. So what did these early collections of sheet music look like? Who had access to them? Who did they manage to reach? Before choral and music societies within the middle classes played a role in music archival history, this task fell upon the patrons among the nobility and aristocracy. Only a select few, relatively speaking, benefited from their archives.

One such example is Freiherr Gottfried van Swieten (1733–1803), a passionate collector of sheet music. In London he was actively involved in the circles that cultivated the music of Handel and, in Berlin, those surrounding Bach’s sons; indeed, he brought his treasures to Vienna, where he was appointed director of the royal court library. He delighted the likes of Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven with this private collection of sheet music, prompting significant artistic innovations in the process. Musicians thus became acquainted with Bach’s polyphony, in turn encouraging them to go beyond the galant style popular in Vienna at the time. This music archive also enabled Mozart to work on his arrangements of Handel’s great oratorios. Without the important contribution of the music archives of the nobility, the compositions of older masters would not have been revisited, and without this recourse to previous compositions certain innovations in the creative output of younger masters would not have occurred. Against such a backdrop, it is not difficult to imagine the significance of the vast treasure of collected sheet music in the Weimar library of Duchess Anna Amalia for the contemporary musicians able to draw inspiration from it. Given that most of this treasure went up in flames in 2004, this particular chapter of music history is now forever closed.

Verdi, for one, appreciated the importance of such archives for artistic creativity and innovation: ‘Let us turn to the past: that will be progress.’ The archive is a passive resource that must be safeguarded, nurtured, sorted and, above all, consulted. As with the oracle at Delphi, it is all about the question that is asked in order to trigger the right answer. Such creative exchanges are always set in motion by the topical questions that artists ask, and their searches. Their questions are a wake-up call that again taps into and illuminates information that has remained latent.

The concept of memory always encompasses both: remembering and forgetting. Breaking cultural memory down into the two mainstays of storage and functional memory illustrates the complementary structure of memory, with the acts of remembering and forgetting always in close kinship and interacting at many levels. Indeed, much of what has been forgotten is not lost forever; rather, it has merely become temporarily inaccessible to us. That which, in our own personal memory, has sunk back down to the unsorted seabed of the forgotten can, given the right circumstances, rise up to the surface once more, like the deeply forgotten sensation that Proust’s madeleines suddenly conjured up once again. What we refer to as ‘forgotten’ is usually a latent memory to which we have lost the password; when it is accidentally accessed, a piece of the past once experienced through our senses returns completely unexpectedly. Perhaps we can go so far as to conclude that the archive is to cultural memory what Proust’s mémoire involontaire is to the individual: a pool and a backdrop for latent memories whose time has either passed or still lies ahead.

  • Biography Aleida Assmann

    Aleida Assmann was professor of English studies and general literature studies at the University of Constance from 1993 to 2014. Together with her husband Jan Assmann, she was awarded the 2017 Balzan Prize for her research work on cultural memory and, in 2018, the Friedenspreis des Deutschen Buchhandels, an international peace prize awarded by the German Book Trade Association. Her most recent German publication is entitled Die Wiedererfindung der Nation. Warum wir sie fürchten und warum wir sie brauchen [The Reinvention of the Nation. Why We Fear It and Why We Need It] (2020).

Top
logo
logo
Press the Enter key to search or ESC to close
The Wiener Festwochen would like to thank their main sponsors

Das Archiv als Labor des Neuen

Wo Erinnern und Vergessen aufeinandertreffen

Der Begriff Archiv hat in den letzten Jahren eine erstaunliche Karriere gemacht. Lange Zeit führten Archive eine Schattenexistenz; sie galten als öffentlichkeitsscheu und verstaubt; unter einem Archivar stellte man sich einen blassen Spezialisten mit Ärmelschonern vor. Das änderte sich schlagartig, als berühmte Philosophen und Historiker wie Derrida und Foucault sich dieses Begriffs annahmen. Seither zirkuliert das Wort mit vielen neuen Bedeutungen. Deshalb empfiehlt es sich, zunächst genauer festzulegen, in welchem Sinne im Folgenden von Archiv die Rede sein soll.

Zwei Formen von Archiven

Archive verstehe ich als Orte, an denen Erinnern und Vergessen aufeinandertreffen. Um das genauer zu beschreiben, unterscheide ich zwischen Funktions-Archiven und Speicher-Archiven. In den Funktionsarchiven wird gespeichert, was für das Handeln in der Gegenwart gebraucht wird. In jedes Funktionsarchiv sind Verfallsdaten eingeschrieben. In einer Arztpraxis zum Beispiel werden Akten verstorbener Patient*innen entsorgt, dasselbe gilt für die Aktenordner nach der Räumung eines Büros für der*die Nachfolger*in. Funktionsarchive sind Steuerungsinstrumente, die das Handeln in der Gegenwart leiten und abstützen. Weder die Bürokratie noch die politische Macht kann ohne sie auskommen. Wenn diese Gegenwart der Macht endet, verfällt der Gebrauchswert dieser Informationen mit einem Schlage.

Speicherarchive folgen einer ganz anderen Logik. Sie entstehen, wenn das, was weder für die Gegenwart noch für die Zukunft mehr von Interesse und Relevanz ist, zwar aussortiert, aber noch nicht gleich weggeworfen wird. Eine solche Haltung hat sich in der Geschichte zum ersten Mal nach der Französischen Revolution durchgesetzt, nachdem Institutionen wie Monarchie, Klerus und Adel gewaltsam abgeschafft worden waren. Ihre Spuren wurden dabei aber nicht getilgt, sondern eigens in neuen Institutionen gesichert. Damals entstand ein neues Bewusstsein für das, was vergangen ist und wovon auch keine normative Kraft mehr ausgeht, was aber trotzdem noch von Interesse ist: die Historie.

Der Gründungsheilige des Speicherarchivs in diesem neuen Sinne wurde Abbé Grégoire, der in den letzten Jahren des 18. Jahrhunderts den Begriff Vandalismus prägte. Nur „Barbaren und Sklaven”, schrieb er, „hassen die Wissenschaften und zerstören die Monumente der Kultur. Freie Menschen lieben und bewahren sie“. Damit entstand ein neuer Kulturbegriff, der sich vom Politischen trennte, und mit ihm neue bürgerliche Werte, die in neuartigen Museen, Archiven und Bibliotheken ihre sakrosankten Schutzräume erhielten. Die Französische Revolution hat eine enorme Beschleunigung der Modernisierung freigesetzt. Was dabei immer schneller aus der Gegenwart ausgeschieden wurde, verschwand nicht einfach, sondern wurde nun historisch und gewann damit eine ganz neue Bedeutung als Kultur. Dieser neue Umgang mit der Vergangenheit in der westlichen Moderne ist die Grundlage für wichtige kulturelle Ressourcen, von denen ich hier nur drei nennen möchte.

Erstens: die Anerkennung der Alterität der Vergangenheit

Der erste Punkt betrifft eine neue Form der Selbstlosigkeit im Umgang mit der Vergangenheit. Es ist die Haltung, die die Vergangenheit gegenüber dem Zugriff und den Begehrlichkeiten der Gegenwart schützt. Historiker*innen zeichnen sich nach einem Satz von Arno Borst dadurch aus, dass sie „die Verschiedenheit der Zeiten anerkennen“. Nur wenn Quellen aufgehoben und gesichert werden, wird es möglich, die Alterität der Zeiten anzuerkennen. Um einen Anachronismus zu erkennen, muss man die Differenz zwischen der Gegenwart und einer vergangenen Zeitepoche kennen. Das geht nicht ohne Archive, die die Voraussetzung für diese unschätzbare kognitive Errungenschaft und die Grundlage historischer Bildung sind. Erst diese Bildung ermöglicht es, das Wissen über das eigene Gewordensein zu erweitern, kritisch über die Verengung eines einseitigen Selbstbildes hinauszudenken und auch das Fremde im Eigenen zu erkennen.

Wenn wir heute zum Beispiel einen Blick in das Archiv der Programmhefte der Wiener Festwochen werfen, fällt uns diese Alterität der Geschichte unweigerlich auf. Wir erfahren dabei, dass es bei diesem wichtigen Aufbruch in eine neue Zukunft und der Wiederbelebung Wiens als Kulturhauptstadt Europas noch um mehr ging, nämlich um die Verdrängung traumatischer Brüche durch eine lange und stolze Herkunftsgeschichte. Bereits zehn Jahre nach Kriegsende setzte man auf die unerschütterliche Kontinuität dieses „Genius loci, der an Gestalt und Seele Wiens seit einem Jahrtausend wirkt“. Die Stadt erscheint dabei als ein Treffpunkt, „deren Geist und Kultur, Landschaft und Bauten der Vergangenheit die Sprache aller Völker sprechen und von solcher harmonischen Vielfalt sind, dass aller guter Geist jeder Art in Ernst und Frohsinn sich hier zuhause fühlen kann“. Die besondere Betonung der Gastlichkeit Wiens übergeht für heutige Ohren stillschweigend, dass viele Wiener Künstler*innen, Schauspieler*innen und Musiker*innen aus rassischen Gründen verfolgt wurden und ins Exil fliehen mussten wie Stefan Zweig oder der Wiener Popstar und Geigenvirtuose der Dreißigerjahre Arnold Rosé und seine Tochter Alma, der inzwischen in der Neuen Burg das Plateau im 1. Stock als Erinnerungsort gewidmet ist.

Zweitens: die Aufarbeitung einer verleugneten Geschichte

Wenn sich der Wind der Geschichte dreht und ein politischer Systemwechsel ansteht, machen sich Unrechtsregime umgehend daran, ihre Archive zu vernichten. Auf diese Weise hat das Apartheidregime in Südafrika vor seinem Abtritt Tonnen von belastendem Material vernichtet und die Bürgerrechtler*innen in der DDR mussten erst in einen Hungerstreik treten, um den Bestand der Stasi-Akten zu sichern. In solchen Fällen kehrt sich der Informationswert der Akten nämlich um. Die Unterlagen, die zuvor der politischen Verfolgung dienten, werden im historischen Archiv zur Grundlage für eine Aufarbeitung der Geschichte, die Verurteilung der Täter*innen, die Anerkennung und Rehabilitierung der Opfer und die Aufklärung der Gesellschaft.

Quellensicherung bedeutet in diesem Zusammenhang noch mehr als die Erweiterung unseres historischen Selbstbildes; sie bedeutet, nicht nur eine vergessene, sondern eine verheimlichte und verleugnete Geschichte in die Gegenwart zu holen und zur Grundlage einer neuen Gegenwart und Zukunft zu machen. Diese verleugnete Geschichte anzuerkennen und anzunehmen kann verhindern, dass sich dieses Unrecht wiederholt. Mit Blick auf die aus dem weißen Archiv verdrängte Geschichte der Schwarzen in den USA hat der Bürger- und Menschenrechtler James Baldwin das auf eine prägnante Formel gebracht: „Nicht alles kann verändert werden, aber nichts kann verändert werden, bevor man sich nicht damit auseinandergesetzt hat.“

Drittens: die Archive der Kunst

Die materiellen Voraussetzungen für Erinnern und Vergessen sind im Rahmen der Gesellschaft, der Politik und der Künste unterschiedlich organisiert. Wenn wir als Beispiel die Musiker*innen nehmen, so bestand deren Archiv bis zum Zeitpunkt der technischen Möglichkeit von Tonaufnahmen ausschließlich aus zunächst handgeschriebenen und später in Kupferstichen reproduzierten Noten. Wie sahen frühe Notensammlungen aus? Wer hatte Zugang zu ihnen, was war ihre Reichweite? Bevor in der Geschichte der Musik-Archivierung bürgerliche Gesangs- und Musikvereine eine Rolle zu spielen beginnen, haben adlige Mäzene diese Aufgabe übernommen. Ihre Archive kamen immer nur einer kleinen Gruppe zugute.

Ein Beispiel ist der Freiherr Gottfried van Swieten (1733 – 1803), der ein leidenschaftlicher Notensammler war. Er tat sich in London im Umkreis der Händel-Pflege sowie in Berlin im Umkreis der Bach-Söhne um und brachte seine Schätze nach Wien, wo er Direktor der königlichen Hofbibliothek wurde. Mit dieser privaten Notensammlung hat er Haydn, Mozart und Beethoven beglückt und dadurch bedeutende künstlerische Innovationen angestoßen. Die Musiker lernten Bachs Polyphonie kennen, was ihnen half, den in Wien beliebten galanten Stil zu überwinden. Dieses Musikarchiv ermöglichte auch Mozarts Bearbeitung von Händels großen Oratorien. Ohne diese wichtige Dienstleistung adliger Musikarchive hätte es keine Rückgriffe auf die Kompositionen älterer Meister gegeben und ohne diese Rückgriffe wären bestimmte Innovationen im Schaffen der jüngeren Meister nicht möglich gewesen. Vor diesem Hintergrund kann man ahnen, was der große Schatz gesammelter Noten in der Weimarer Bibliothek der Herzogin Anna Amalia für die zeitgenössischen Musiker*innen bedeutete, die sich hier ihre Inspirationen holen konnten. Da der größte Teil dieses Schatzes 2004 verbrannt ist, ist dieses Kapitel der Musikgeschichte für immer geschlossen.

Wie bedeutungsvoll solche Archive für das künstlerische Schaffen und die Innovation sind, hat Verdi gewusst und ausgesprochen: „Zum Alten zurückkehren heißt Fortschritt.“ Das Archiv ist eine passive Ressource, die gesichert, gepflegt, sortiert und vor allem befragt werden muss. Aber wie beim Orakel in Delphi kommt es gerade auch auf die Frage an, die dann die Antwort auslöst. Es sind immer die aktuellen Fragen und Suchbewegungen der Künstler*innen, die diesen kreativen Austausch in Gang setzen. Ihre Fragen sind wie ein Weckruf, der latent gebliebene Informationen noch einmal nutzt und aufleuchten lässt.

Der Begriff des Gedächtnisses umfasst immer schon beides: Erinnern und Vergessen. Die Unterscheidung des kulturellen Gedächtnisses in die Pole des Speicher- und Funktionsgedächtnisses bildet die komplementäre Struktur von Gedächtnis ab, in dem Erinnern und Vergessen stets nahe beieinanderliegen und sich auf vielfältige Weise verschränken. Denn vieles, was vergessen wurde, ist nicht für immer verloren, sondern uns nur zeitweise unzugänglich geworden. Was im persönlichen Gedächtnis auf den unsortierten Grund des Vergessenen zurückgesunken ist, kann unter bestimmten Umständen noch einmal an die Oberfläche steigen, wie die tief vergessene Empfindung, die Prousts Madeleine plötzlich wieder freisetzt. Was wir Vergessen nennen, ist in der Regel ein latentes Gedächtnis, zu dem wir das Kennwort verloren haben; wenn es zufällig getroffen wird, kehrt völlig unerwartet ein Stück sinnlich gelebter Vergangenheit zurück. Was Prousts mémoire involontaire fürs Individuum ist, so dürfen wir vielleicht folgern, ist das Archiv fürs kulturelle Gedächtnis: Fundus und Hintergrund für latente Erinnerungen, die ihre Stunde hinter sich oder noch vor sich haben.

  • Biografie Aleida Assmann

    Aleida Assmann war von 1993 – 2014 Professorin für Anglistik und Allgemeine Literaturwissenschaft an der Universität Konstanz. 2017 erhielt sie zusammen mit ihrem Mann Jan Assmann den Balzan Preis 2017 für ihre Forschungen zum Kulturellen Gedächtnis und 2018 ebenfalls zusammen mit Jan Assmann den Friedenspreis des Deutschen Buchhandels. Zuletzt erschienen: Die Wiedererfindung der Nation. Warum wir sie fürchten und warum wir sie brauchen (2020).

Zum Seitenanfang
logo
logo
Drücken Sie die Eingabetaste, um zu suchen, oder ESC, um zu schließen
Die Wiener Festwochen danken ihren Hauptsponsoren