Highlighted Label
Sööt/Zeyringer
Women who kill and other categories
Performance
Location brut nordwest
Language English

Registration will be carried out on site

Admission free
Date
10. September
Friday
Time 9pm
 
© Franzi Kreis

    The performance-duo Sööt/Zeyringer has researched the archive of the Wiener Festwochen to examine the way in which women have been represented in the programme texts from 1951 to the present day. ‘Women who kill’, ‘Women who are mothers’ and ‘Women who leave’ are the categories the duo explores throughout this performance. Their subjective collection brings the usual and unusual roles of women into the spotlight. By adding a layer of their own thoughts, they turn their research into a humorous and poetic reflection on what is remembered.

    Women who kill and other categories is one of four works commissioned on the 70-year history of the Wiener Festwochen, for which the festival opened up its archives for research purposes. Inspired by a piece of Festwochen history, local artists are to present one sketch for the stage each, on four consecutive evenings. Artistic explorations of history will be created using various resources such as music, language, stage design, and performance.

    The performance is part of MITTEN am Abend, a four-day series that combines lectures, performances and music into a highly diverse programme.

    • Künstlerisches Team

      Concept, Research Sööt/Zeyringer With Tiina Sööt, Dorothea Zeyringer

    • Biography

      Under the name Sööt/Zeyringer, artists Tina Sööt and Dorothea Zeyringer operate at the interface between visual arts, dance, and theatre. Their performances address personal and sociologically relevant issues in ways that are both poetic and humorous. In their most recent works, they explored female anger and documented the forgotten history of female slapstick comedians.

    Related content
    Highlighted Label
    Mi You
    Cosmotechnics for the Future
    Keynote
    Date 10. September
    More info Admission free
    Highlighted Label
    Regenorchester XVI
    Music
    Dates 8. / 9. / 10. / 11. September
    More info Admission free
    You may also be interested in this
    logo
    logo
    Press the Enter key to search or ESC to close
    The Wiener Festwochen would like to thank their main sponsors

Highlighted Label
Sööt/Zeyringer
Women who kill and other categories
Performance
Sprache Englisch
Eintritt frei
Termin
10. September
Freitag
Zeit 20 Uhr
 
© Franzi Kreis

    Das Performanceduo Sööt/Zeyringer erforschte das Archiv der Wiener Festwochen, um die Repräsentation der Frauen in den Programmtexten von 1951 bis heute zu untersuchen. „Frauen, die töten“, „Frauen, die einander unterstützen“ und „Frauen, die allein auf der Bühne erscheinen“ sind nur einige jener Kategorien, die das Duo in dieser Performance erkunden. Ihre subjektive Sammlung richtet den Scheinwerfer auf die gewöhnlichen und ungewöhnlichen Rollen von Frauen. Durch eine zusätzliche Schicht eigener Gedanken wird die Untersuchung zu einer humorvollen und poetischen Reflexion darüber, was erinnert wird.

    Woman who kill and other categories ist eine von vier Auftragsarbeiten zur 70-jährigen Geschichte der Wiener Festwochen: Für die Recherche hat das Festival sein Archiv geöffnet. Inspiriert von einem Stück Festwochen Geschichte präsentieren lokale Künstler*innen an vier aufeinander folgenden Abenden je eine Skizze für die Bühne. Mit musikalischen, sprachlichen, szenografischen und performativen Mitteln entstehen künstlerische Auseinandersetzungen mit Geschichte.

    Die Aufführung ist Teil von MITTEN am Abend, einem viertägigen Programm, das Vorträge, Performances und Musik zu einem heterogenen Programm vereint.

    • Biografie

      Unter dem Namen Sööt/Zeyringer arbeiten die Künstlerinnen Tina Sööt und Dorothea Zeyringer an der Schnittstelle von bildender Kunst, Tanz und Theater. Ihre Performances thematisieren soziologisch relevante wie persönliche Themen in einer poetischen und humorvollen Weise. In ihren letzten Arbeiten erforschten sie weiblichen Zorn und dokumentierten die vergessene Geschichte weiblicher Slapstick-Comedians.

    Zugehörige Inhalte
    Highlighted Label
    Mi You
    Cosmotechnics for the Future
    Keynote
    Termin 10. September
    Mehr Infos Eintritt frei
    Highlighted Label
    Regenorchester XVI
    Musik
    Termine 8. / 9. / 10. / 11. September
    Mehr Infos Eintritt frei
    MITTEN
    logo
    logo
    Drücken Sie die Eingabetaste, um zu suchen, oder ESC, um zu schließen
    Die Wiener Festwochen danken ihren Hauptsponsoren