Wiener Festwochen 2021: THE INEQUALITIES

The Inequalities is the title under which up-and-coming British author and director Alexander Zeldin has chosen to combine three thrilling, stand-alone evenings of theatre into a capitalism-critical trilogy. These works are to be presented together for the first time in Vienna: a unique opportunity that’s not to be missed!

Various forms of inequality are today more visible and acute than ever, due to the pandemic and, in Britain specifically, the changes in circumstances resulting from Brexit, with affluence and the elites on one side of the social balance and poverty and precarity on the other. They penetrate to the very core of each individual, ultimately creating all sorts of (un)certainty above all else.

‘Theatre gives us the chance to really see life,’ says Zeldin, whose works take a magnifying glass to the seemingly ‘smaller’ stories. His realism is shaped by the urge to portray societal truths on stage. In-depth research and involving people in the development and performance of his pieces who have genuinely been affected are the foundations of his work.

LOVE, Beyond Caring, and Faith, Hope and Charity all work as stunning, stand-alone evenings of theatre; but in combination, as The Inequalities, they span a multi-faceted arc which, overall, greatly amplifies the intensity of its individual elements.

© Alyssa Schukar
© Sarah Lee

LOVE

Eight people are housed together in temporary accommodation. How are they supposed to live in this fragile community, with their needs and fears colliding within such a confined space? With its keen instinct for the subtleties of human interaction, LOVE propelled Alexander Zeldin into the limelight of international attention.

BEYOND CARING

Here Alexander Zeldin places the audience in the makeshift staff room of a meat processing factory. The individual fates, worries, fears and, ultimately, the complex hierarchies between employees and those working on zero-hours contracts are subtly played out by the five actors. Almost like a documentary, Beyond Caring highlights the inequalities of the work environment.

© Sarah Lee

FAITH, HOPE AND CHARITY

The soup kitchen of a community centre in a major city somewhere in Britain. In Faith, Hope and Charity, Hazel, the thoughtful and considerate cook, dishes out hot meals to those in need. Despite all the disputes and conflicts, a tender community nonetheless emerges. With his ensemble of professionals and untrained actors, Zeldin portrays the different lives that exist on the margins of society.

Make a note of the date: the complete programme will be published on April 15. Add to calendar.
Make a note of the date: the complete programme will be published on April 15. Add to calendar.
Make a note of the date: the complete programme will be published on April 15. Add to calendar.
Make a note of the date: the complete programme will be published on April 15. Add to calendar.
Make a note of the date: the complete programme will be published on April 15. Add to calendar.
Make a note of the date: the complete programme will be published on April 15. Add to calendar.
Make a note of the date: the complete programme will be published on April 15. Add to calendar.
Make a note of the date: the complete programme will be published on April 15. Add to calendar.
Make a note of the date: the complete programme will be published on April 15. Add to calendar.
Make a note of the date: the complete programme will be published on April 15. Add to calendar.
Make a note of the date: the complete programme will be published on April 15. Add to calendar.

Wiener Festwochen 2021:
Preview #1

logo
logo
Press the Enter key to search or ESC to close
The Wiener Festwochen would like to thank their main sponsors

Wiener Festwochen 2021: THE INEQUALITIES

The Inequalities: Unter diesem Übertitel fasst der aufstrebende britische Autor und Regisseur Alexander Zeldin drei eigenständige, packende Theaterabende zu einer kapitalismuskritischen Trilogie zusammen. In Wien werden diese Arbeiten erstmals gemeinsam präsentiert: eine einmalige Gelegenheit, die man nicht verpassen sollte!

Ungleichheiten werden durch die Pandemie sichtbarer und größer denn je und dies in Großbritannien aufgrund der sich ändernden Post-Brexit-Verhältnisse ganz besonders: Wohlstand und Eliten auf der einen, Armut und Prekariat auf der anderen Seite der gesellschaftlichen Waage. Sie dringen bis ins Innerste eines*r jeden Einzelnen vor und erzeugen letztlich vor allem Formen der (Un-)Sicherheit.

„Theatre gives us the chance to really see life“, sagt Zeldin, der in seinen Stücken die scheinbar kleinen Geschichten wie mit einer Lupe vergrößert. Geprägt wird seine Form des Realismus durch den Anspruch soziale Wahrheiten auf der Bühne zu zeigen. Intensive Recherche und das Einbeziehen tatsächlich Betroffener in die Entwicklung und Aufführung seiner Stücke sind die Grundlagen seiner Arbeit.

LOVE, Beyond Caring und Faith, Hope and Charity funktionieren als eindrückliche, für sich stehende Theaterabende, spannen aber gemeinsam als The Inequalities einen facettenreichen Bogen, der die Intensität seiner Einzelteile im Gesamten um das Vielfache verstärkt.

© Alyssa Schukar
© Sarah Lee

LOVE

Acht Personen sind gemeinsam in einer Einrichtung für temporäres Wohnen untergebracht. Doch wie in dieser fragilen Gemeinschaft leben, wenn Bedürfnisse und Ängste auf kleinstem Raum aufeinandertreffen? Sein feines Gespür für menschliche Zwischentöne, katapultierte Alexander Zeldin mit LOVE ins Zentrum der internationalen Aufmerksamkeit.

BEYOND CARING

Alexander Zeldin versetzt das Publikum hier in den provisorischen Pausenraum einer Fleischverarbeitungsfabrik. Die Einzelschicksale, Sorgen, Ängste und letztlich komplexen Hierarchien zwischen Angestellten und prekär Beschäftigten werden von den fünf Schauspieler*innen subtil herausgearbeitet. Quasidokumentarisch macht Beyond Caring die Unverhältnisse der Arbeitswelt sichtbar.

© Sarah Lee

FAITH, HOPE AND CHARITY

Die Volksküche eines Community Centers in einer britischen Großstadt. In Faith, Hope and Charity versorgt die umsichtige Köchin Hazel die Bedürftigen mit warmen Mahlzeiten. Trotz Streitigkeiten und Konflikten erklingt eine zarte Gemeinschaft. Zeldin zeigt mit dem aus Profis und Laien bestehenden Ensemble unterschiedliche Lebensumstände am Rande der Gesellschaft.

Jetzt schon vormerken: Das gesamte Programm wird am 15. April veröffentlicht. Add to calendar.
Jetzt schon vormerken: Das gesamte Programm wird am 15. April veröffentlicht. Add to calendar.
Jetzt schon vormerken: Das gesamte Programm wird am 15. April veröffentlicht. Add to calendar.
Jetzt schon vormerken: Das gesamte Programm wird am 15. April veröffentlicht. Add to calendar.
Jetzt schon vormerken: Das gesamte Programm wird am 15. April veröffentlicht. Add to calendar.
Jetzt schon vormerken: Das gesamte Programm wird am 15. April veröffentlicht. Add to calendar.
Jetzt schon vormerken: Das gesamte Programm wird am 15. April veröffentlicht. Add to calendar.
Jetzt schon vormerken: Das gesamte Programm wird am 15. April veröffentlicht. Add to calendar.
Jetzt schon vormerken: Das gesamte Programm wird am 15. April veröffentlicht. Add to calendar.
Jetzt schon vormerken: Das gesamte Programm wird am 15. April veröffentlicht. Add to calendar.
Jetzt schon vormerken: Das gesamte Programm wird am 15. April veröffentlicht. Add to calendar.

Wiener Festwochen 2021:
Vorschau #1

logo
logo
Drücken Sie die Eingabetaste, um zu suchen, oder ESC, um zu schließen
Die Wiener Festwochen danken ihren Hauptsponsoren