Opening Weekend

David Schalko, the creative mind behind this year’s inaugural evening Last Night on Earth, has injected a decent dose of club atmosphere into the team, with Kruder & Dorfmeister and the visual artists hand mit auge. After all, he firmly believes there should be dancing. Superstars such as Bilderbuch and Viennese rapper Yung Hurn, the exceptional Norwegian musician Sofia Jernberg, Burgtheater actor Caroline Peters, Chris Haring’s dance company Liquid Loft and the Wiener Singakademie choir under the direction of Heinz Ferlesch will be doing their bit to boost this invitation to dance. Last Night on Earth, the motto of evening, might sound dystopian, yet it’s anything but. Indeed, if it’s the ‘last night on earth’, then it needs to be a damn good one!

The Festwochen Bar on Karlsplatz is the place to meet for all those keen to enjoy a drink, a chat and a get-together in good company on a balmy summer’s evening. It’s a hotspot for Festwochen visitors, artists, and the spontaneous-minded, right in the heart of the city. The place where the festival’s hustle and bustle continues late into the evening. And where the Festwochen likes to unwind!

Vienna’s getting a new museum! The Austrian Museum for Black Entertainment and Black Music invites you to its festive opening with a wide-ranging programme: An evening with addresses from Dr.in Mireille Ngosso and Vanessa Spanbauer, a programme of musical accompaniment by and with Jon Sass as well as the first opportunity to visit the exhibitions. The celebrations will be rounded off with an after-party with the rapper T-Ser, DJs Tonica Hunter and Tmnit Ghide and special guest Grace Marta Latigo aka OGG aka OriginalGangsterGrace. Admission to the opening is free.

In t u m u l u s, the large-format opening production by François Chaignaud and Geoffroy Jourdain / Les Cris de Paris thirteen dancing singers (or singing dancers) are showcasing what they have in common.

Japanese theatre-maker Satoko Ichihara has chosen to unmask the opera Madama Butterfly with humour and a feisty spirit: in a wild and disturbing fantasy world, a battle rages for sovereignty of interpretation in matters of identity politics, ideals of beauty, sexuality, and power.

With RAW, Laia Fabre and Thomas Kasebacher, aka notfoundyet, are extending invitations in multiple directions: to artists from this year’s Festwochen programme, to chefs established in Vienna, and to you. The hosts for the first RAW evening are Joana Tischkau from the ÖMSUBM and chef Stefanie Herkner.

And there’s another choral piece: internationally acclaimed artist Ulla von Brandenburg is staging her production Friede auf Erden together with actors, the Arnold Schoenberg Choir and musicians of the Klangforum Wien.

Sonntag, 15. Mai

Opening
Music
Date 13 May
More info Admission free
Top
logo
logo
Press the Enter key to search or ESC to close
The Wiener Festwochen would like to thank their main sponsors.

Eröffnungs
wochenende

David Schalko, der den diesjährigen Eröffnungsabend Last Night on Earth konzipiert, hat sich mit Kruder & Dorfmeister und den Visual Artists hand mit auge eine gehörige Portion Clubatmosphäre ins Team geholt. Denn er findet: Es soll getanzt werden. Die Superstars Bilderbuch und der Wiener Rapper Yung Hurn, die norwegische Ausnahmemusikerin Sofia Jernberg, Burgschauspielerin Caroline Peters, Chris Harings Tanzkompagnie Liquid Loft und die Wiener Singakademie unter der Leitung von Heinz Ferlesch werden ihren Teil dazu beitragen, der Tanzaufforderung Nachdruck zu verleihen. Last Night on Earth, das Motto des Abends, klingt dystopisch, will aber das Gegenteil: Denn wenn es die letzte Nacht auf Erden ist, dann soll sie verdammt noch mal großartig werden!

Die Festwochen Bar am Karlsplatz ist der Treffpunkt für all jene, die an einem lauen Sommerabend in guter Gesellschaft einen Drink genießen, plaudern und einander begegnen möchten. Ein Hotspot mitten in der Stadt für Festwochen Besucher:innen, Künstler:innen und Kurzentschlossene. Der Ort, an dem sich das Festivaltreiben bis spätabends fortsetzt. Die Festwochen feiern!

Wien bekommt ein neues Museum! Das Österreichische Museum für Schwarze Unterhaltung und Black Music lädt bei freiem Eintritt zur feierlichen Eröffnung mit umfangreichem Programm: Ein Abend mit Reden von Dr.in Mireille Ngosso und Vanessa Spanbauer, einem musikalischen Begleitprogramm von und mit Jon Sass sowie der erstmaligen Möglichkeit des Besuchs der Ausstellungen. Abgerundet werden die Feierlichkeiten von einer After-Party mit dem Rapper T-Ser, den DJs Tonica Hunter und Tmnit Ghide sowie Special Guest Grace Marta Latigo aka OGG aka OriginalGangsterGrace.

Bei der großformatigen Eröffnungsproduktion von François Chaignaud und Geoffroy Jourdain / Les Cris de Paris - t u m u l u s – betonen dreizehn tanzende Sänger:innen (oder singenden Tänzer:innen) das Gemeinsame.

Die japanische Theatermacherin Satoko Ichihara demaskiert die Oper Madama Butterfly mit Humor und Kampflust: in einer wilden und verstörenden Fantasiewelt wird um Deutungshoheit in Sachen Identitätspolitik, Schönheitsideale, Sexualität und Macht gekämpft.

Laia Fabre und Thomas Kasebacher, aka notfoundyet, sprechen mit RAW Einladungen in viele Richtungen aus: an Künstler:innen aus dem diesjährigen Festwochen Programm, an in Wien etablierte Köch:innen und an Sie. Den ersten RAW-Abend gestalten Joana Tischkau vom ÖMSUBM und die Köchin Stefanie Herkner.

Und noch ein Chor-Stück: Die international viel gelobte bildende Künstlerin Ulla von Brandenburg inszeniert gemeinsam mit Schauspieler:innen, dem Arnold Schoenberg Chor und Musiker:innen des Klangforum Wien Friede auf Erden.

Eröffnung
Musik
Termin 13. Mai
Mehr Infos Eintritt frei
Österreichisches Museum für Schwarze Unterhaltung und Black Music
Termine 21. / 28. Mai / 4. / 11. Juni / 15. Mai → 11. Juni
Zum Seitenanfang
logo
logo
Drücken Sie die Eingabetaste, um zu suchen, oder ESC, um zu schließen
Die Wiener Festwochen danken ihren Hauptsponsoren