Highlighted Label
Stine Janvin, Ula Sickle, Persis Bekkering
THE UNIVERSITY OF RAVE: WHAT CAN WE LEARN FROM THE PARTY?
Labor
Location brut nordwest
Language English
Price EUR 12,50 per day (Participation fee)
Dates
6. September
Monday
Time 11am - 6pm
 
7. September
Tuesday
Time 11am - 6pm
 
© Ania Rosinska Luczak
© Stine Sampers
  • Participation

    The lab is open to anyone interested in the subject as well as in exploring related movement and voice practices. Participants can either attend one of the two days, or join for the entire two-day lab.

  • Registration

    By July 4 via email to mitten@festwochen.at (subject: University of Rave), with a few sentences about yourself and your interest in participating in the workshop. Please also let us know whether you want to participate on both days and just one of the two days. This information will enable the artists to prepare the lab and, in the event of more applications, to select the number of participants according to the room capacity.

    Applicants will be notified of their selection by July 18.

More than a year has passed without the proximity of the bodies of strangers, packed in a dark space, of sweat-soaked bodies moving in collective euphoria. All we can evoke are the memories. That’s precisely where The University of Rave steps in and poses the question: What can we learn from the party? How do we keep the revolutionary potential of the collective experience? What does solidarity look like in a world of ‘social distancing?

Open Call

Over the course of two days, the dance floor will be broken down into its foundational parts, combining movement and voice workshops with discourse, writing and reflection, studying rave as a historical movement and a continuum, with the potential to shape new futures.

On Day 1, Stine Janvin will teach a vocal workshop in which the voice becomes a rhythm machine, invoking the deeply physical experience of repeating beats and melodic patterns using the techniques she developed for Echoic Choir and earlier works such as Fake Synthetic Music. Ula Sickle will guide the participants through the choreographic research for the performance, looking at various practices such as rave shuffle and its links to traditional folk dance, as well as trance dancing and its use of repetitive movement, in an effort to understand the elementary parts of what constitutes the rave experience.

Day 2 is dedicated to the written word. Writer and dramaturge Persis Bekkering will take the participants through a selection of essential texts, both fiction and theory, to collectively read and study the aesthetics and politics of rave. Participants will then be invited to write the rave themselves, understanding rave as a narrative device.

An informal roundtable discussion, open to all, will round off the University of Rave. Collectively we will imagine the dance floors of the future when bodies can safely sweat together again. In this caesura that the pandemic enforces on us, we will reflect on what we want to keep from the party’s past, and what we want to change.

  • Biographies

    Stavanger-born vocalist, performer and sound artist Stine Janvin works with the extensive flexibility of her voice, and the ways in which it can be used to channel physicality of sound. Created for variable spaces from theatres, to clubs and galleries, and more recently websites and digital platforms, the backbone of Janvin’s projects focus on exploring performance formats, vocal instrumentation and potential dualities of the natural versus artificial, tangible/digital, and minimal/dramatic. Her most recent works are SOLD (a dog and pony show) and Fake Synthetic Music, for which she earned an Honorary Mention of the Prix Ars Electronica 2019. Janvin is a fellow at Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD in 2020.

    Ula Sickle is a choreographer and performer, living and working in Brussels. From a background in contemporary dance, she works across disciplines, drawing from contemporary music and the visual arts. She studied in Toronto and Paris, before attending PARTS (Performing Arts Research and Training Studios) in Brussels and Le Fresnoy in Tourcoing, France. Between 2017 and 2018 she was artist in residence at Ujazdowski Centre for Contemporary Art in Warsaw and at WIELS in Brussels. Ula’s performances have been presented in theatres and festivals across Europe including the Kunstenfestivaldesarts (Brussels), Tanz Im August (Berlin), Moving in November (Helsinki) and Les Rencontres chorégraphiques internationales de Seine-Saint-Denis (Paris). At Wiener Festwochen 2019, she performed Relay.

    Persis Bekkering is a writer and dramaturge based in Brussels. Her recent publications include essays, art criticism and fiction in Dutch and English. Her debut novel Een heldenleven (The Life of a Hero), published in 2018 with Prometheus Press, was shortlisted for the ANV Debutantenprijs 2018. A new novel, Exces, is forthcoming in May; one chapter has been translated into English as Last Utopia, and will be printed in a bibliophile edition by the Jan Van Eyck Academy. Taking the formal aspects of techno music as a narrative device, the two books are an attempt at mapping the emotional landscape of the contemporary, marked by permanent crises. The (historical) rave movement forms the ecstatic, visceral backdrop to a story about loss, love, and trauma.

Related content
Stine Janvin, Ula Sickle
ECHOIC CHOIR
Music, Performance
Dates 4. / 5. / 6. June
logo
logo
Press the Enter key to search or ESC to close
The Wiener Festwochen would like to thank their main sponsors

Highlighted Label
Stine Janvin, Ula Sickle, Persis Bekkering
THE UNIVERSITY OF RAVE: WHAT CAN WE LEARN FROM THE PARTY?
Labor
Sprache Englisch
Preis 12,50 Euro pro Tag (Teilnahmegebühr)

Anmeldung abgeschlossen

Termine
6. September
Montag
Zeit 11 Uhr bis 18 Uhr
 
7. September
Dienstag
Zeit 11 Uhr bis 18 Uhr
 
© Ania Rosinska Luczak
© Stine Sampers
© Jasper Kettner

    Mehr als ein Jahr ist vergangen, ohne Nähe zu fremden Körpern im vollen, dunklen Raum, zu schweißgebadeten Körpern, die sich in kollektiver Euphorie bewegen. Nur die Erinnerungen sind noch abrufbar. The University of Rave setzt genau an dem Punkt an und fragt: Was lernen von der Party? Wie das revolutionäre Potenzial der kollektiven Erfahrung aufrechterhalten? Wie sieht Solidarität in einer „sozial distanzierten“ Welt aus?

    Details

    Über den Zeitraum von zwei Tagen wird der Dance Floor in seine Grundelemente zerlegt: Ein Bewegungs- und Stimmworkshop wird mit Diskurs, Schreiben und Reflektieren verknüpft, um Rave aus historischer Perspektive sowie als Kontinuum in die Gegenwart und als Potenzial für neue Zukunftsformen zu erforschen.

    Im Stimmworkshop von Stine Janvin am ersten Tag lernen die Teilnehmer*innen, wie die Stimme zur Rhythmusmaschine wird und erleben die stark körperliche Empfindung sich wiederholender Beats und melodischer Muster anhand der Techniken, die Janvin für Echoic Choir und frühere Arbeiten wie Fake Synthetic Music entwickelt hat. Ula Sickle führt die Teilnehmer*innen durch die choreografische Recherche für ihre Performance. Sie stellt verschiedene Praktiken wie Rave Shuffle und seine Verbindung zu traditionellen Volkstänzen oder Trance Dance und seine Verwendung repetitiver Bewegung vor, um die grundlegenden Elemente, die Rave definieren, verständlich zu machen.

    Der zweite Tag ist dem geschriebenen Wort gewidmet. Autorin und Dramaturgin Persis Bekkering erarbeitet mit den Teilnehmer*innen eine Auswahl an fiktiven und theoretischen Texten, um die Ästhetik und Politik des Raves zu erforschen. Im Anschluss sind die Teilnehmer*innen eingeladen, selbst einen Rave zu schreiben, Rave also als narratives Werkzeug wahrzunehmen.

    Ein informeller Runder Tisch, offen für alle, wird die Universität des Raves abrunden. Gemeinsam werden wir die Dance Floors der Zukunft imaginieren, wo die Körper wieder gemeinsam ins Schwitzen geraten. In dieser Zäsur, die uns die Pandemie aufzwingt, denken wir darüber nach: Was wollen wir von der Vergangenheit der Party bewahren, was ändern?

    • Biographien

      Stine Janvin ist Sängerin, Performerin und Sound Artist aus Stavanger, Norwegen. Sie arbeitet mit der umfangreichen Flexibilität ihrer Stimme und den Möglichkeiten, damit die Körperlichkeit von Klängen zu vermitteln. Sie experimentiert mit Performance-Formaten, Vokalinstrumentation un den potentiellen Dualitäten von natürlich/künstlich, real/digital und minimalistisch/dramatisch. Sie konzipiert ihre Arbeiten für unterschiedliche Räumlichkeiten, von Theatern über Clubs und Gallerien bis neuerdings hin zu Websites und digitalen Plattformen. Ihre jüngsten Werke sind SOLD (a dog and pony show) und Fake Synthetic Music, für das sie eine Honorary Mention des Prix Ars Electronica 2019 erhielt. Stine Janvin ist Stipendiatin des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD 2020.

      Ula Sickle ist Choreografin und Performerin, sie lebt und arbeitet Brüssel. Aus dem zeitgenössischen Tanz kommend, setzt sie sich über Genregrenzen hiweg und bezieht zeitgenössische Musik und bildende Kunst in ihre Werke mit ein. Sie studierte erst in Toronto und Paris, bevor sie am renomierten PARTS (Performing Arts Research and Training Studios) in Brüssel und später am Le Fresnoy in Tourcoing, Frankreich, ihre Ausbildung abschloss. Zwischen 2017 und 2018 war sie Artist in Residence des Ujazdowski Centre for Contemporary Art in Warschau und am WIELS Zentrum für zeitgenössische Kunst in Brüssel. Ula Sickles Performances waren in Theatern und auf Festivals quer durch Europa zu sehen, unter anderem bei Kunstenfestivaldesarts in Brüssel, Tanz im August in Berlin, Moving in November in Helsinki, Les Rencontres chorégraphiques internationales de Seine-Saint-Denis in Paris und bei den Wiener Festwochen, wo sie 2019 Relay zeigte.

      Persis Bekkering ist Schriftstellerin und Dramaturgin und lebt in Brüssel. Zu ihren jüngsten Publikationen zählen Essays, Kunstkritiken und Belletristik in Niederländisch und Englisch. Ihr Debütroman Een heldenleven, 2018 bei Prometheus Press erschienen, stand auf der Shortlist für den ANV Debutantenprijs 2018. Ein neuer Roman, Exces, soll im Mai herauskommen; ein Kapitel davon wurde unter dem Titel Last Utopia ins Englische übersetzt und wird in einer bibliophilen Ausgabe der Jan Van Eyck Academy abgedruckt. Mit den formalen Aspekten der Techno-Musik als narrativem Stilmittel sind die beiden Bücher ein Versuch, die emotionale Landschaft des von permanenten Krisen geprägten Zeitgenössischen zu vermessen. Die (historische) Rave-Bewegung bildet den ekstatischen, instinktiv emotionalen Hintergrund für eine Geschichte über Verlust, Liebe und Trauma.

    Zugehörige Inhalte
    Stine Janvin, Ula Sickle
    ECHOIC CHOIR
    Musik, Performance
    Termine 4. / 5. / 6. Juni
    logo
    logo
    Drücken Sie die Eingabetaste, um zu suchen, oder ESC, um zu schließen
    Die Wiener Festwochen danken ihren Hauptsponsoren