Postponed until 2021. Postponed until 2021. Postponed until 2021. Postponed until 2021. Postponed until 2021. Postponed until 2021. Postponed until 2021. Postponed until 2021. Postponed until 2021. Postponed until 2021. Postponed until 2021.
The Wooster Group, Bertolt Brecht
THE MOTHER
Theatre
Language: English with German surtitles
Dates
Vergangene Termine
03. Jun
Wednesday
Time: 8.30pm
 
04. Jun
Thursday
Time: 8.30pm
 
05. Jun
Friday
Time: 8.30pm
 
06. Jun
Saturday
Time: 8.30pm
 
07. Jun
Sunday
Time: 3pm
 
07. Jun
Sunday
Time: 8.30pm
 
Weitere Termine
© Design Irfan Brkovic

    The Wooster Group: influential and trendsetting, legendary and revolutionary. The New York theatre company returns to Vienna with a world premiere, their last performance in the city dating back to 1997. This time Elizabeth LeCompte is directing Bertolt Brecht’s The Mother. The agitprop ‘Lehrstück’, or learning play, showcases the lead character’s journey from illiterate woman to resolute revolutionary. The play premiered in Berlin in 1932 and was to be the last Brecht premiere before the Nazis seized power. In 1935 it was adapted for the stage in collaboration with the Theatre Union of New York, a left-wing theatre company. The Wooster Group revisits this connection between Brecht and New York, introducing its own distinctive aesthetic and contem porary debates. SoHo, the district where the eponymous Wooster Street is located, has undergone extreme gentrification since the Group was first founded in 1975. The transformation of cityscape and society are the themes with which The Wooster Group addresses a text once condemned as propagandistic in the 1930s. Indeed, current events have made a rereading of that text all the more compelling.

    • Artistic Team

      Text Bertolt Brecht Direction Elizabeth LeCompte With music by Amir ElSaffar With Charlie Coursey, Steve Cuiffo, Matthew Dipple, Jim Fletcher, Ari Fliakos, Gareth Hobbs, Erin Mullin, Kate Valk Set Elizabeth LeCompte, Joseph Silovsky Light David Sexton, Jennifer Tipton Sound Eric Sluyter Video Irfan Brkovic Costume Enver Chakartash Production Management Bona Lee

    • Production

      Production The Wooster Group Coproduction Wiener Festwochen, piece by piece productions (New York)

      Premiere 2021

    Related content
    logo
    logo
    Press the Enter key to search or ESC to close
    The Wiener Festwochen would like to thank their main sponsors

Verschoben auf 2021. Verschoben auf 2021. Verschoben auf 2021. Verschoben auf 2021. Verschoben auf 2021. Verschoben auf 2021. Verschoben auf 2021. Verschoben auf 2021. Verschoben auf 2021. Verschoben auf 2021. Verschoben auf 2021.
The Wooster Group, Bertolt Brecht
THE MOTHER
Theater
Sprache: Englisch mit deutschen Übertiteln
Termine
Vergangene Termine
03. Jun
Mittwoch
Zeit: 20.30 Uhr
 
04. Jun
Donnerstag
Zeit: 20.30 Uhr
 
05. Jun
Freitag
Zeit: 20.30 Uhr
 
06. Jun
Samstag
Zeit: 20.30 Uhr
 
07. Jun
Sonntag
Zeit: 15 Uhr
 
07. Jun
Sonntag
Zeit: 20.30 Uhr
 
Weitere Termine
© Design Irfan Brkovic

    Einflussreich und stilbildend, legendär und revolutionär: The Wooster Group. Zuletzt 1997 in Wien zu Gast, kommt die Theatergruppe aus New York mit einer Weltpremiere zurück. Elizabeth LeCompte inszeniert Bertolt Brechts Die Mutter. Das agitatorische Lehrstück zeichnet die Entwicklung einer Analphabetin zur entschiedenen Revolutionärin nach. Uraufgeführt 1932 in Berlin als letzte Brecht-Premiere vor der Machtergreifung der Nationalsozialisten, wurde der Text 1935 mit der politisch linken Theatergruppe Theatre Union of New York inszeniert. The Wooster Group rekurriert auf diese Verbindung zwischen Brecht und New York und begegnet ihr mit eigener Ästhetik und zeitgenössischen Debatten. Seit der Gründung der Gruppe im Jahr 1975 wurde SoHo, das Viertel mit der namensgebenden Wooster Street, extrem gentrifiziert. Die Veränderung von Stadtbild und Gesellschaft sind Themen, mit denen The Wooster Group an den in den 30er-Jahren als propagandistisch abgeurteilten Text anknüpft. Die Gegenwart zwingt zur Re-Lektüre.

    • Künstlerisches Team

      Text Bertolt Brecht Regie Elizabeth LeCompte Mit Musik von Amir ElSaffar Mit Charlie Coursey, Steve Cuiffo, Matthew Dipple, Jim Fletcher, Ari Fliakos, Gareth Hobbs, Erin Mullin, Kate Valk Bühne Elizabeth LeCompte, Joseph Silovsky Licht David Sexton, Jennifer Tipton Ton Eric Sluyter Video Irfan Brkovic Kostüm Enver Chakartash Produktionsleitung Bona Lee

    • Produktion

      Produktion The Wooster Group Koproduktion Wiener Festwochen, piece by piece productions (New York)

      Premiere 2021

    Zugehörige Inhalte
    logo
    logo
    Drücken Sie die Eingabetaste, um zu suchen, oder ESC, um zu schließen
    Die Wiener Festwochen danken ihren Partnern