Statement Festwochen reframed, June

In March 2020, the physical space – where we work, meet and engage collectively with one another – was taken away from us. A few weeks after publishing the programme of the 2020 edition of the Wiener Festwochen, we painfully had to accept that the festival we had planned would not be taking place, at least not in the form initially conceived. The ‘live’, collective experience of our programme had been made impossible.

We started to experiment with ways of translating it through different mediums. We published a printed supplement with Der Standard exploring the Festival’s content, echoing the voices of some of the artists we had intended to invite to Vienna. Digital tools provided another platform. From 15 May, we showcased online a collection of ‘small gestures’ that related to each of the artistic projects in our programme. Traces or promises, they were taken from existing material or gave insights into a creation still to be realised: moving images, musical fragments, short texts. They took the form of conversations, workshops, or video clips. Together, they formed a kind of fascinating digital archive for a festival that didn’t happen …

Today, we are happy to announce that a live and condensed version of our initial programme will take place at the end of the summer!

While the majority of the creations for the 2020 festival have been postponed until next year, we are delighted to be able to share already some of the festival’s co-productions and guest performances with you later this year. Musical, choreographic and theatrical forms will alternate on the stages. Major established names of the international scene will feature alongside up-and-coming figures. Carefully composed, this small yet impressive selection of works will receive a special resonance within the transformative context we are currently experiencing. They will in turn echo some of the questions and uncertainties raised by the global crisis we are going through.

After months of restrictions, this programme should be a celebration of the importance of the live arts, their ability to strengthen social interaction, their inherent potential to broaden our physical and mental spaces … and to envision possible futures.

Christophe Slagmuylder, June 2020

We care about your safety!

From 26 August to 26 September 2020, the Wiener Festwochen are delighted to be able to stage an abridged version of the 2020 Festival programme, thus making it possible for us to enjoy and share once again the experience of its artistic projects.

Of course, the safety of our audiences, artists and staff remains paramount, which is why, in consultation with the authorities, we are currently working on a safety concept for all the events we are planning. The concept will take account of all safety-related issues that concern your attendance at our events: distancing rules, seating, access and interval arrangements, compulsory masks, general hygiene measures, and rules of conduct before, during and after each event.

For our Corona Info / FAQs please see here.

We thank you for your understanding and look forward to your attendance!

logo
logo
Press the Enter key to search or ESC to close
The Wiener Festwochen would like to thank their main sponsors

Statement Festwochen reframed

Im März 2020 wurde uns der physische Raum, in dem wir arbeiten, uns treffen und austauschen, entzogen. Ein paar Wochen nach der Veröffentlichung des Programms der Wiener Festwochen für Mai und Juni 2020 mussten wir schmerzlich akzeptieren, dass das Festival so, wie wir es uns vorgestellt hatten, nicht stattfinden würde, zumindest nicht in der ursprünglich konzipierten Form. Unser Programm live und gemeinsam zu erleben, war unmöglich geworden.

Wir begannen damit zu experimentieren, es über unterschiedliche Wege umzusetzen. Gemeinsam mit Der Standard veröffentlichten wir eine gedruckte Beilage zu Inhalten des Festivals und ließen darin einige Künstler*innen zu Wort kommen, die wir nach Wien eingeladen hätten. Die digitalen Medien boten eine weitere Plattform. Ab dem 15. Mai präsentierten wir im Internet eine Sammlung an „Gesten“, die jeweils mit den künstlerischen Projekten unseres Programms in Zusammenhang standen. Mal Spur, mal Versprechen, waren sie Auszüge aus existierendem Material oder gaben Einblick in ein neues Werk, dessen Realisierung noch aussteht. Bewegte Bilder, musikalische Fragmente, kurze Texte, Formate wie Gespräche, Workshops, Videoclips. In ihrer Gesamtheit bilden sie gewissermaßen ein faszinierendes digitales Archiv eines Festivals, das nicht stattgefunden hat …

Heute sind wir glücklich, Ihnen ankündigen zu können, dass am Ende des Sommers eine komprimierte Liveversion unseres ursprünglichen Programms stattfinden wird!

Während die meisten der für die Festwochen 2020 geplanten Uraufführungen auf das nächste Jahr verschoben werden, freuen wir uns sehr, Ihnen noch heuer einige der vom Festival koproduzierten und eingeladenen Stücke zeigen zu können. Musikalische, choreografische und theatrale Formen alternieren auf den Bühnen. Große Namen der internationalen Szene werden neben Newcomern präsentiert. Sorgfältig zusammengestellt, bekommt diese kleine, aber beeindruckende Auswahl an Werken im transformativen Kontext, den wir gerade erleben, eine besondere Resonanz. Stellen sie doch wiederum einige jener Fragen und Ungewissheiten in den Raum, die von der aktuellen globalen Krise aufgeworfen werden.

Nach Monaten der Restriktionen soll dieses Programm die Bedeutung der Livekünste feiern, ihre Fähigkeit, soziale Interaktion zu stärken, ihr ureigenes Potenzial, unsere physischen und mentalen Räume zu erweitern … und mögliche Zukunftsentwürfe vorstellbar zu machen.

Christophe Slagmuylder, Juni 2020

Ihre Sicherheit ist uns wichtig!

Die Wiener Festwochen freuen sich sehr, dass von 26. August bis 26. September eine reduzierte Fassung des Festivalprogramms 2020 realisiert und gezeigt werden kann und damit wieder ein gemeinsames Erleben künstlerischer Projekte möglich wird.

Dennoch steht natürlich die Sicherheit unserer Besucher*innen, Künstler*innen und Mitarbeiter*innen an erster Stelle. Wir arbeiten deshalb derzeit in Absprache mit den Behörden an einem Sicherheitskonzept für alle geplanten Veranstaltungen. Darin werden alle sicherheitsrelevanten Fragen zu Ihrem Besuch berücksichtig – wie etwa Abstandsregelungen, Sitzplätze, Zugangs- und Pausenmodalitäten, Maskenpflicht, sowie generelle Hygienemaßnahmen und Verhaltensregeln vor, während und nach den Veranstaltungen.

Unsere Corona Info / FAQs finden Sie hier

Wir danken Ihnen für Ihr Verständnis und freuen uns auf Ihren Besuch!

logo
logo
Drücken Sie die Eingabetaste, um zu suchen, oder ESC, um zu schließen
Die Wiener Festwochen danken ihren Partnern