And if I devoted my life to one of its feathers?
A Prologue in Public Space
Date
01. Jun
Monday
31. Jul
Friday
Time: 0am - midnight
 
© Kunsthalle Wien

Originally scheduled for the early summer of 2020, And if I devoted my life to one of its feathers?, an exhibition curated by Miguel A. López and produced in collaboration with the Kunsthalle Wien, has been postponed until next year.

For now, we invite you to a special preview of the exhibition: a selection of works designed for public settings. Starting June 1, 2020, creative statements by six artists and artist collectives—Manuel Chavajay, Chto Delat, Inhabitants with Margarida Mendes, Daniela Ortiz, Prabhakar Pachpute, and Sophie Utikal—created specifically for this occasion, will be featured on 250 billboards throughout Vienna.

This “Prologue in Public Space” is an attempt to translate some of the exhibition’s voices and topics into a medium that is compatible with the current obstacles and circumstances facing cultural presentations around the world.

Miguel A. López invited the artists to produce works that reflect on the current pandemic from the perspective of their own experiences, concerns, geographies, and political communities. Each work responds to and reflects a different outlook on a shared world that is collectively, but unevenly, being affected by the coronavirus pandemic. In keeping with the spirit of the original exhibition, the interventions are meant to start a dialogue about self-determination and social and ecological change.

A joint project by the Wiener Festwochen and the Kunsthalle Wien.

The project is generously supported by EPAMEDIA.

  • Artistic Team

    Curated by Miguel A. López With works by Manuel Chavajay, Chto Delat, Inhabitants with Margarida Mendes, Daniela Ortiz, Prabhakar Pachpute, Sophie Utikal

Artists
logo
logo
Press the Enter key to search or ESC to close
The Wiener Festwochen would like to thank their partners

And if I devoted my life to one of its feathers?
Ein Prolog im öffentlichen Raum
Termin
01. Juni
Montag
31. Juli
Freitag
Zeit: 0 bis 24 Uhr
 
© Kunsthalle Wien

Ursprünglich für den Frühsommer 2020 geplant, ist die gemeinsame Ausstellung mit der Kunsthalle Wien, And if I devoted my life to one of its feathers?, kuratiert von Miguel A. López, auf das kommende Jahr verschoben.

Eine Auswahl von Arbeiten für den öffentlichen Raum gibt einen ersten Vorgeschmack auf die Ausstellung: Ab 1. Juni 2020 sind, eigens für dieses Projekt geschaffene, künstlerische Statements von sechs Künstler*innen und -kollektiven – Manuel Chavajay, Chto Delat, Inhabitants mit Margarida Mendes, Daniela Ortiz, Prabhakar Pachpute und Sophie Utikal – auf 250 großformatigen Plakatflächen in der ganzen Stadt Wien verteilt zu sehen.

Dieser „Prolog im öffentlichen Raum“ versucht, einige der Stimmen und Themen der Schau in ein Medium zu übersetzen, das mit den Hindernissen und Umständen vereinbar ist, mit denen Kulturproduzent*innen in aller Welt dieser Tage umgehen müssen.

Miguel A. López hat die Künstler*innen eingeladen, Arbeiten zu schaffen, die aus der Perspektive der je eigenen Erfahrungen, Sorgen, Geografien und politischen Gemeinschaften auf die Pandemie reflektieren. In jeder Arbeit kommt eine andere Sicht auf unsere gemeinsame Welt zum Ausdruck, in der die Coronavirus-Pandemie zwar alle, aber nicht alle gleichermaßen betrifft. Ganz im Geiste der ursprünglichen Ausstellung wollen diese Interventionen eine Auseinandersetzung über Selbstbestimmung sowie gesellschaftlichen und ökologischen Wandel anstoßen.

Ein gemeinsames Projekt der Wiener Festwochen und der Kunsthalle Wien

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von EPAMEDIA.

  • Künstlerisches Team

    Kuratiert von Miguel A. López Mit Arbeiten von Manuel Chavajay, Chto Delat, Inhabitants mit Margarida Mendes, Daniela Ortiz, Prabhakar Pachpute, Sophie Utikal

Künstler*innen
logo
logo
Drücken Sie die Eingabetaste, um zu suchen, oder ESC, um zu schließen
Die Wiener Festwochen danken ihren Partnern