The Story behind the Poster Visuals

Overview digital gestures

This is a scene from the legendary Minecraft computer game: an excerpt from a 3D world which, although made up of simple cubes, allows players to enjoy infinite creative freedom.

While the pixelated landscape is reminiscent of the past and its utopia at the dawn of the digital age, it also addresses the virtual spaces of the present in which we find ourselves venturing more and more often, and in myriad ways, especially now that we are denied access to public social spaces, or a future that raises all sorts of questions, particularly with regard to our stewardship of the natural environment that surrounds us.

© Christoph Sauer

Our campaign’s second theme photograph depicts the Mir diamond mine in Siberia, just outside the town of Mirny, some 820 km from the capital Yakutsk. With a depth of 525 m and a diameter of 1,200 m the mine isone of the largest excavated holes in the world and a conspicuous example of mankind’s intervention in nature. In its heyday, Mirnywas producing up to 10 million carats (2,000 kg) of diamonds a year. After decades of intensive overexploitation under extreme climatic conditions during the Soviet era right through to the fall of the Iron Curtain and beyond, the open-pit mining operation was finallyshut down in 2001; the site has been operated exclusively as an underground mine since 2009.

© Stepanov Slava

The third and last photograph in this year’s Festwochen campaign features an abandoned cinema set in the desert of Egypt’s Sinai Peninsula. The brainchild of a wealthy French entrepreneur, it was planned for the start of the millennium, but even the official opening of this extravagant open-air cinema turned into a fiasco. The screening of the first film had to be called off, and the cinema’s150 wooden seats were simply left behind, stranded in the desert landscape, conveying an apocalyptic vision of a natural landscape abandoned by mankind.

© Kaupo Kikkas
logo
logo
Press the Enter key to search or ESC to close
The Wiener Festwochen would like to thank their main sponsors

Die Story hinter den Plakat - Sujets

Übersicht digitale Gesten

Hier eine Szene aus dem legendären Computerspiel Minecraft: ein Ausschnitt einer 3D Welt, die sich aus simplen Quadern zusammensetzt, den Spieler*innen aber grenzenlose Gestaltungsfreiheit ermöglicht.

Die pixelige Landschaft erinnert an die Vergangenheit und ihre Utopien zu Beginn des digitalen Zeitalters, thematisiert aber auch die virtuellen Räume der Gegenwart, in die wir uns immer öfter und vielfältiger begeben, gerade in Zeiten, wo uns öffentliche soziale Räume verschlossen sind, oder eine Zukunft, die besonders in Bezug auf unseren Umgang mit der Natur, die uns umgibt, Fragen aufwirft.

© Christoph Sauer

Das zweite Sujetbild unserer Kampagne zeigt das Diamantbergwerk Mir in Sibirien, das direkt an der Stadt Mirny liegt. Mit einer Tiefe von525 m und einem Durchmesser von 1.200 m ist die Mine eines der größten künstlichen Baulöcher unserer Erde und ein deutliches Beispiel des menschlichen Eingreifens in die Natur. In ihrer Blütezeit produzierte Mirny jährlich bis zu 10 Millionen Karat (2000 kg) Diamanten pro Jahr. Nach einem jahrzehntelangen intensiven Raubbau unter extremen Klimabedingungen während der Zeit der Sowjetunion bis nach dem Fall des Eisernen Vorhangs, wurde der Tagbau in der Mine 2001 schließlich stillgelegt und ab 2009 zu einem reinem Untertagbetrieb umgestellt.

© Stepanov Slava

Das dritte und letzte Foto der diesjährigen Festwochen Kampagne zeigt ein verlassenes Filmtheater in der Wüste der ägyptischenSinai-Halbinsel. Von einem wohlhabenden französischen Entrepreneur am Anfang des Millenniums geplant, wurde bereits die Eröffnung des extravaganten Freiluftkinos zum Fiasko. Die Vorführung des ersten Films musste abgebrochen werden und zurück blieben die 150 Holzsitze des Kinos, die gestrandet in der Wüstenlandschaft ein apokalyptisches Bild einer vom Menschen zurückgelassenen Naturlandschaft vermitteln.

© Kaupo Kikkas
logo
logo
Drücken Sie die Eingabetaste, um zu suchen, oder ESC, um zu schließen
Die Wiener Festwochen danken ihren Hauptsponsoren