Highlighted Label
Philippe Parreno in conversation with Andrea Lissoni
Whenabouts
Keynote
Location brut nordwest
Language English

Registration will be carried out on site

Admission free
Date
11. September
Saturday
Time 8pm
 
© Andrea Rossetti
© Maxilimilan Geuter

    This conversation has one rule: to talk only about the future, rather than about the past. As a process of permanent interdependence, in Philippe Parreno's universe, artwork, film, concert and conversation are all part of an artistic manifestation to-be and can generate an exhibition. To give voice to the future is to imagine the possible. And if a voice comes from the future, it might be a prophecy.

    To coincide with the questions about the future that the Wiener Festwochen have chosen to address, the festival has invited four personalities to give inspiring keynote presentations. Drawing on outstanding artistic, curatorial and academic practices, the lectures held on four consecutive evenings are certain to unleash the imagination.

    As part of the Predictably Unpredictable lab, which reflects on the festival of the future, the issues raised will be explored further the following day. The keynotes are part of MITTEN am Abend, a four-day series that combines lectures, performances and music into a highly diverse programme.

    • Biographies

      Philippe Parreno’s artistic practice sees the exhibition format as a medium, the mechanism and impact of which he is continually exploring. Parreno works with film, sculpture, drawing, and text, and his exhibitions have been shown at, among others, London’s Tate Modern and the Serpentine Gallery, the Palais de Tokyo in Paris and New York’s MoMA. They are conceived as a scripted space in which a series of events unfolds.

      Andrea Lissoni is artistic director at the Haus der Kunst in Munich. He was a curator for the Tate Modern in London, where he established a year-round cinematic programme and devised the Live Exhibition experimental format. In 2016, he co-curated Philippe Parreno’s Anywhen exhibition at the Turbine Hall.

    Related content
    Highlighted Label
    Regenorchester XVI
    Music
    Dates 8. / 9. / 10. / 11. September
    More info Admission free
    You may also be interested in this
    logo
    logo
    Press the Enter key to search or ESC to close
    The Wiener Festwochen would like to thank their main sponsors

Highlighted Label
Philippe Parreno im Gespräch mit Andrea Lissoni
Whenabouts
Keynote
Sprache Englisch

Registrierung erfolgt vor Ort

Eintritt frei
Termin
11. September
Samstag
Zeit 20 Uhr
 
© Andrea Rossetti
© Maxilimilan Geuter

    Bei diesem Gespräch gibt es nur eine Regel: nur über die Zukunft zu sprechen und nicht über die Vergangenheit. Als Prozess von permanenter gegenseitiger Abhängigkeit sind Kunstwerk, Film, Konzert und Gespräch Teil einer zukünftigen künstlerischen Manifestation und können eine Ausstellung hervorbringen. Der Zukunft eine Stimme geben heißt, sich das Mögliche vorzustellen. Und wenn eine Stimme aus der Zukunft kommt, könnte sie eine Prophezeiung sein.

    Anlässlich der Fragen, die sich die Wiener Festwochen zur Zukunft stellen, haben sie vier Persönlichkeiten zu inspirierenden Keynotes eingeladen. Ausgehend von herausragenden künstlerischen, kuratorischen und akademischen Praxen entfesseln die Vorträge an vier aufeinander folgenden Abenden die Vorstellungskraft.

    Im Rahmen des Labors Predictably Unpredictable, das nach dem Festival der Zukunft sucht, werden die verhandelten Themen am darauffolgenden Tag weiter vertieft. Die Keynote ist Teil von MITTEN am Abend, einem viertägigen Programm, das Vorträge, Performances und Musik zu einem heterogenen Programm vereint.

    • Biografien

      Philippe Parrenos künstlerische Praxis begreift die Ausstellung als Medium, dessen Wirkungsweise er beständig erforscht. Parreno, der mit Film, Skulptur, Zeichnung und Text arbeitet, konzipiert seine Ausstellungen – die u.a. in der Tate Modern und der Serpentine Gallery in London, im Palais de Tokyo in Paris oder im New Yorker MoMA gezeigt werden – als einen geskripteten Raum, in dem sich eine Reihe von Ereignissen entfaltet.

      Andrea Lissoni ist künstlerischer Leiter des Hauses der Kunst in München. Er war Kurator für die Tate Modern in London, wo er ein ganzjähriges Filmprogramm etablierte und das experimentelle Format der Live Exhibition entwickelte. 2016 co-curatierte er die Ausstellung Anywhen von Philippe Parreno in der Turbine Hall.

    Zugehörige Inhalte
    Highlighted Label
    Regenorchester XVI
    Musik
    Termine 8. / 9. / 10. / 11. September
    Mehr Infos Eintritt frei
    MITTEN
    logo
    logo
    Drücken Sie die Eingabetaste, um zu suchen, oder ESC, um zu schließen
    Die Wiener Festwochen danken ihren Hauptsponsoren