Österreichisches Museum für Schwarze Unterhaltung und Black Music
Location ÖMSUBM
Price EUR 10,50

Tickets are available at Belvedere 21 or at the box office of ÖMSUBM.

Dates
Previous dates
15 May
Sunday
11 June
Saturday
Time Tue – Sun, 11am to 6pm, Thu, 11 am to 9pm (Open mondays on public holidays)
 
21 May
Saturday
Time 6pm
Everyone sings their own way: Black Musicians in Austria
 
28 May
Saturday
Time 6pm
Wurlitzer: Reading and Hearing Black Austrian Histories
 
4 June
Saturday
Time 6pm
Which Path Leads to History
 
11 June
Saturday
Time 6pm
My Austrian Heart
 
Other dates
© ÖMSUBM
© ÖMSUBM
© ÖMSUBM

With its official opening scheduled as part of the Wiener Festwochen, the Austrian Museum for Black Entertainment and Black Music (ÖMSUBM) is set to become the foremost museum for Black culture and popular music in the German-speaking world. It comprises an extensive archive of vinyl records, magazines, autographs and memorabilia, exhibited in a vibrant venue for the mediation and discussion of Black art and history. Curated by Joana Tischkau, Anta Helena Recke, Elisabeth Hampe, Frieder Blume and Dalia Ahmed, the Museum gathers stories of Black artists and entertainers who rose to prominence in what has been a predominantly white German-language entertainment industry. It illustrates the conditions under which the careers of, among others, Tic Tac Toe, Arabella Kiesbauer, The Rounder Girls, Mola Adebisi and Roberto Blanco progressed in the period from the 1940s to the early noughties, i.e. the turning point between the dwindling importance of scheduled television content and the dawn of the YouTube era. Performances, lectures, panel discussions and concerts by Black artists, activists and media professionals currently living in Austria establish a dialogue with the Museum’s collection, making it a place of exchange with the past nonetheless orientated towards the future.

  • 14 May, 6pm - 1am Ceremonial opening of the Austrian Museum for Black Entertainment and Black Music

    With After Party (till 1 am)

    Honorary patron: Dr.in Mireille Ngosso, Member of the Vienna Parliament and City Council

    Vienna is getting a new museum! The Austrian Museum for Black Entertainment and Black Music is hosting a ceremonial opening with an extensive programme. An evening with addresses from Dr.in Mireille Ngosso and Vanessa Spanbauer, a programme of musical accompaniment by and with Jon Sass as well as the first opportunity to visit the exhibitions. The celebrations will be rounded off with an after-party with the rapper T-Ser, DJs Tonica Hunter and Tmnit Ghide and special guest Grace Marta Latigo aka OGG aka OriginalGangsterGrace.

    6pm Opening speeches
    Dr.in Mireille Ngosso
    Vanessa Spanbauer

    A programme of musical accompaniment

    by Jon Sass (Concept and director) and Roland Guggenbichler (Conductor)
    with Carole Alston, Kim Cooper, Previn Moore and Nelson Williams

    9pm
    Performance: T-Ser

    from 10pm
    DJs
    Tonica Hunter (Sounds of Blackness)
    Tmnit Ghide (Alvozay, DiaspoRa.dio)
    & Special Guest Grace Marta Latigo aka OGG aka OriginalGangsterGrace

    Following the Opening at ÖMSUBM
    alle guests are invited to the After Show Event Majira by Sounds of Blackness at Volksgarten Pavillon. (Entry 8 Euro)

  • 21 May, from 6pm Everyone sings their own way: Black Musicians in Austria

    Film evening with round of discussions in the Blickle Kino

    In the year 2000 the Rounder Girls represented Austria at the Eurovision Song Context with their song All to You! But who exactly are these three soul, jazz and pop singers? Sabine Derflinger’s 1998 documentary The Rounder Girls accompanies the three musicians, Kim Cooper, Lynne Kieran and Tini Kainrath as well as band founder and keyboardist Gerri Schuller. A film about daily life in the group before the big breakthrough. Following The Rounder Girls will be a preview of the upcoming documentary film Austro-Schwarz by the Viennese musician Mwita Mataro. Austro-Schwarz is intended to portray the contemporary Austrian music scene and the Black protagonists in it. In order to speak about this country’s music creation from the past, and the present (and the future too), musicians will then come together in a panel discussion to share their experiences and observations.

    Panel discussion with Kim Cooper, Mwita Mataro and Fred Owusu

  • 28 May, from 6pm Wurlitzer: Reading and Hearing Black Austrian Histories

    A literary and musical request concert with optional dancefloor

    The music programme Wurlitzer, named after the German-American jukebox manufacturer Joseph Wurlitzer, was broadcast on ORF between 1987 and 1995. Announced at first as the red-white-red request programme, viewers could have their musical wishes fulfilled by telephone call or fax and send their greetings to the Austrian television audience. The Austrian Museum for Black Entertainment and Black Music picks up this super-Austrian tradition once more to create its own Black request concert. Contemporary Austrian musicians and media figures are invited to read aloud and play their favourite stories and songs from the archives of the ÖMSUBM. Following the reading and listening session, guests and viewers are also invited to play the Black treasures that they have with them on various media (vinyl, cassettes, CDs).

  • 4 June, from 6pm Which Path Leads to History

    ÖMSUBM Wikipedia Edit-a-thon

    The online encyclopaedia Wikipedia, which is compiled by volunteer authors, is not nearly so egalitarian as it first appears. Along with the unbalanced representation of women, lesbians, intersex, non-binary, trans* and agender people*, the platform also lacks articles on Black historical and contemporary figures of public interest. This imbalance needs editing! Dalia Ahmed and Tonica Hunter are hosting an Edit-a-thon in the Austrian Museum for Black Entertainment and Black Music to bring Black protagonists of Austrian (entertainment) history into view on Wikipedia. Racist formulations in existing articles will be reported and the biographies of musicians, artists and writers reclaimed for the online encyclopaedia!


    Alongside the event there will be a three-day lab for going deeper into these themes and preparatory research. Further details and registration here.
    Conceived with Tonica Hunter.

  • 11 June, from 6pm My Austrian Heart

    An evening for Arabella Kiesbauer

    For ten years of their lives, millions of people regularly tuned in as Arabella Kiesbauer drew big emotions from the guests of her talk show, broke taboos and, above all, spread a good mood. She was the talk show queen of German-language television. As such, she has been a formative influence right up to the present day, as she continues to moderate formats like Starmania with great success as well as engaging actively in political issues. In conversation with the ORF journalist Claudia Unterweger, on an evening in the ÖMSUBM dedicated to her, Kiesbauer looks back on her career – from her beginnings as a presenter on the ORF youth programme X-Large until today. Those who were arabellafied in their younger years as television consumers will also have chance to speak and pay tribute to Kiesbauer’s influence on their own life paths and careers. She shaped the German-speaking entertainment industry like barely any other. This evening is an homage to her, and evening with and for Arabella Kiesbauer.

  • In Cooperation with

    Deutsches Museum für Schwarze Unterhaltung und Black Music, Wiener Festwochen, Belvedere 21

logo
logo
Press the Enter key to search or ESC to close
The Wiener Festwochen would like to thank their main sponsors.

Österreichisches Museum für Schwarze Unterhaltung und Black Music
Ort ÖMSUBM
Preis 10,50 Euro

Karten erhalten Sie über das Belvedere 21 oder an der Kasse des ÖMSUBM.

Termine
Vorige Termine
15. Mai
Sonntag
11. Juni
Samstag
Zeit Di – So, 11 bis 18 Uhr, Do 11 bis 21 Uhr (Montags an Feiertagen geöffnet)
 
21. Mai
Samstag
Zeit 18 Uhr
Jeder singt nach seiner Weise: Schwarze Musiker:innen in Österreich
 
28. Mai
Samstag
Zeit 18 Uhr
Wurlitzer: Österreichische Schwarze Geschichten Lesen und Hören
 
4. Juni
Samstag
Zeit 18 Uhr
Welcher Pfad Führt Zur Geschichte
 
11. Juni
Samstag
Zeit 18 Uhr
Mein österreichisches Herz
 
Weitere Termine
© ÖMSUBM
© ÖMSUBM
© ÖMSUBM

Mit seiner Eröffnung im Rahmen der Wiener Festwochen positioniert sich das Österreichische Museum für Schwarze Unterhaltung und Black Music (ÖMSUBM) als führendes Museum für Schwarze Kultur und Popularmusik im deutschsprachigen Raum. Es beherbergt ein umfassendes Archiv an Schallplatten, Magazinen, Autogrammen und Erinnerungsstücken, die an einem lebendigen Ort der Vermittlung und Diskussion von Schwarzer Kunst und Geschichte ausgestellt werden. Kuratiert von Joana Tischkau, Anta Helena Recke, Elisabeth Hampe, Frieder Blume und Dalia Ahmed versammelt das Museum Geschichten von Schwarzen Künstler:innen und Entertainer:innen, die in der weiß dominierten deutschsprachigen Unterhaltungsindustrie zu Prominenz gekommen sind. Es verdeutlicht so die Bedingungen für die Karrieren von u. a. Tic Tac Toe, Arabella Kiesbauer, den Rounder Girls, Mola Adebisi oder Roberto Blanco im Zeitraum von den 1940ern bis in die frühen Nullerjahre, die einen Wendepunkt zwischen dem Bedeutungsverlust des Programmfernsehens und dem Beginn der Youtube-Ära markieren. Performances, Vorträge, Panels und Konzerte von aktuell in Österreich lebenden Schwarzen Künstler:innen, Aktivist:innen und Medienschaffenden treten in Dialog mit der Sammlung des Museums und machen es zu einem Ort des zukunftsweisenden Austauschs mit der Vergangenheit.

  • 14. Mai, 18 Uhr - ca. 1 Uhr Feierliche Eröffnung des ÖMSUBM

    Mit After Party (bis 1 Uhr)

    Ehrenschutz: Dr.in Mireille Ngosso, Abgeordnete zum Wiener Landtag und Gemeinderat

    Wien bekommt ein neues Museum! Das Österreichische Museum für Schwarze Unterhaltung und Black Music lädt ein zur feierlichen Eröffnung mit umfangreichem Programm. Ein Abend mit Reden von Dr.in Mireille Ngosso und Vanessa Spanbauer, einem musikalischen Begleitprogramm von und mit Jon Sass sowie der erstmaligen Möglichkeit des Besuchs der Ausstellungen. Abgerundet werden die Feierlichkeiten von einer After-Party mit dem Rapper T-Ser, den DJs Tonica Hunter und Tmnit Ghide sowie Special Guest Grace Marta Latigo aka OGG aka OriginalGangsterGrace.

    18 Uhr Eröffungsreden
    Dr.in Mireille Ngosso
    Vanessa Spanbauer

    Musikalische Präsentation
    von Jon Sass (Konzept und Programmdirektor) und Roland Guggenbichler (Musikalischer Leiter)
    mit Carole Alston, Kim Cooper, Previn Moore und Nelson Williams

    21 Uhr
    Performance: T-Ser

    Ab 22 Uhr
    DJs (im Untergeschoss)
    Tonica Hunter (Sounds of Blackness)
    Tmnit Ghide (Alvozay, DiaspoRa.dio)
    & Special Guest Grace Marta Latigo aka OGG aka OriginalGangsterGrace
    Im Anschluss an die Eröffnung im ÖMSUBM
    sind alle Gäste herzlich zum After Show
    Event Majira von Sounds of Blackness im Volksgarten Pavillon eingeladen. (Eintritt 8 Euro)

  • 21. Mai, 18 Uhr Jeder singt nach seiner Weise: Schwarze Musiker:innen in Österreich

    Filmabend mit Gesprächsrunde im Blickle Kino

    Im Jahr 2000 vertreten die Rounder Girls Österreich beim Eurovision Song Contest mit ihrem Song All To You! Doch wer genau sind diese drei Soul-, Jazz- und Pop-Sängerinnen? Sabine Derflingers Dokumentarfilm The Rounder Girls aus 1998 begleitet die drei Musiker:innen Kim Cooper, Lynne Kieran und Tini Kainrath sowie den Band-Gründer und Keyboarder Gerri Schuller. Ein Film über den Bandalltag vor dem großen Durchbruch. Im Anschluss an The Rounder Girls wird eine Preview des entstehenden Dokumentarfilms Austro-Schwarz des Wiener Musikers Mwita Mataro gezeigt. Austro-Schwarz soll die aktuelle Österreichische Musikszene und die Schwarzen Akteur:innen darin abbilden. Um über das Musikschaffen in diesem Land gestern, wie heute (und auch morgen) zu sprechen, kommen Musiker:innen anschließend in einem Panel zusammen, um von ihren Erfahrungen und Beobachtungen zu sprechen.

    Panelteilnehmer*innen: Kim Cooper, Mwita Mataro und Fred Owusu

  • 28. Mai, 18 Uhr Wurlitzer: Österreichische Schwarze Geschichten Lesen und Hören

    Ein literarisches und musikalisches Wunschkonzert mit optionaler Tanzfläche

    Die nach dem deutsch-amerikanischen Jukebox-Hersteller Joseph Wurlitzer benannte Musiksendung Wurlitzer wurde zwischen 1987 und 1995 im ORF ausgestrahlt. Erstmals als das rot-weiß-rote Wunschprogramm angekündigt, konnten sich Zuschauer:innen per Telefonanruf oder Fax ihre Musikwünsche erfüllen lassen und Grüße an das österreichische Fernsehpublikum senden. Das Österreichische Museum für Schwarze Unterhaltung und Black Music lässt diese ur-österreichische Tradition wieder aufleben und kreiert sein eigenes Schwarzes Wunschkonzert.
    Zeitgenössische Österreichische Künstler:innen und Medienschaffende sind dazu eingeladen, ihre Lieblingsgeschichten sowie Songs aus dem Archiv des ÖMSUBM vorzulesen und aufzulegen. Im Anschluss an die Lesung und eine Listening Session sind auch Gäste und Zuschauer:innen dazu eingeladen, ihre mitgebrachten Schwarzen Schätze auf Tonträgern (Schallplatten, Kassetten, CDs) aufzulegen.

  • 4. Juni, 18 Uhr - 22 Uhr Welcher Pfad Führt Zur Geschichte

    ÖMSUBM Wikipedia Edit-a-thon

    Die Online-Enzyklopädie Wikipedia, die durch freiwillige und ehrenamtliche Autor:innen befüllt wird, ist lang nicht so egalitär wie sie zunächst scheint. Neben einer unausgewogenen Repräsentation von FLINTA*, fehlen der Plattform auch Artikel zu Schwarzen historischen und zeitgenössischen Persönlichkeiten des öffentlichen Interesses. Diese Schieflage gilt es zu editieren! Dalia Ahmed und Tonica Hunter laden ein zum Edit-a-thon ins Österreichische Museum für Schwarze Unterhaltung und Black Music um Schwarze Akteur:innen der österreichischen (Entertainment-)Geschichte auf Wikipedia aufscheinen zu lassen. Rassistische Formulierungen in vorhandenen Artikeln werden beanstandet und die Biografien der Musiker:innen, Künstler:innen, Schriftsteller:innen gemeinsam in die Online-Enzyklopädie hineinreklamiert!


    Begleitend zur Veranstaltung findet ein dreitägiges Labor zur Vertiefung in die Thematik und vorbereitenden Recherche statt. Weitere Details und Anmeldung hier.
    Konzipiert mit Tonica Hunter.

  • 11. Juni, ab 18 Uhr Mein österreichisches Herz

    Ein Abend für Arabella Kiesbauer

    Millionen von Menschen haben zehn Jahre ihres Lebens lang regelmäßig eingeschaltet, wenn Arabella Kiesbauer den Gästen ihrer Talkshow große Emotionen entlockte, Tabus brach und vor allem auch gute Laune verbreitete. Sie war die Talkshow-Queen des deutschsprachigen Fernsehens. Als solche ist sie ein prägender Einfluss bis in die Gegenwart hinein, in der sie weiterhin mit großem Erfolg Formate wie Starmania moderiert und sich politisch aktiv engagiert. Im Gespräch mit der ORF-Journalistin Claudia Unterweger blickt sie an diesem ihr gewidmeten Abend im ÖMSUBM auf Ihre Karriere zurück, von den Anfängen als Moderatorin der ORF-Jugendsendung X-Large bis heute. Und auch diejenigen, die in jungen Jahren als Fernsehkonsument:innen arabellisiert wurden, kommen zu Wort und zollen Kiesbauers Einfluss auf ihre eigenen Lebenswege und Karrieren Tribut. Sie hat die deutschsprachige Unterhaltungsindustrie geprägt, wie kaum eine andere. Dieser Abend ist eine Hommage an sie, ein Abend mit und für Arabella Kiesbauer.

  • In Kooperation mit

    Deutsches Museum für Schwarze Unterhaltung und Black Music, Wiener Festwochen, Belvedere 21

logo
logo
Drücken Sie die Eingabetaste, um zu suchen, oder ESC, um zu schließen
Die Wiener Festwochen danken ihren Hauptsponsoren