MITTEN

At the end of this years edition, the festival signals a change of pace. The Wiener Festwochen are interrupting their flow to open up an additional space for encounters with their audience. Away from the stages and the finished works, the city will be filled with processes, conversations, and experiences, all radiating out from the Nordwestbahn site. For a whole week, the succession of evening premieres is to be replaced by daytime lab sessions, featuring a discursive programme, performances, concerts, and an (outdoor) space for relaxed get-togethers in the evening. As they shift perspectives and open up free spaces, these labs are set to be exciting and stimulating, inspiring and fun, as they highlight real possibilities for our desire for change.

Location brut nordwest

MITTEN am Tag

ARTISTS-LABS

For MITTEN am Tag, artists and the festival will focus their energies on process-orientated exchanges and diverse learning experiences as part of practical lab sessions. Together with Festwochen artists, participants will reflect on what makes the city likeable or detestable, relate various anecdotes about their given names, engage in all sorts of dialogues in Vienna’s parks and gardens, dip into the waters of the Danube and listen out for its testimony; or cook soup for 18 hours. Each activity is in keeping with the artists’ individual wishes to explore a particular theme inspired by the city of Vienna or their own artistic research. They will blaze a new trail and invite an equally inquisitive group of people to ally themselves to this venture lasting several days.

Dates 1 - 12 September

By and with Azade Shahmiri, Begüm Erciyas, Gabriela Carneiro da Cunha, Jozef Wouters, Kate McIntosh, Laia Fabre, Thomas Kasebacher / notfoundyet, Felix Schellhorn, Melis Tezkan, Okan Urun / biriken, Michikazu Matsune, Stine Javin, Ula Sickle & Persis Bekkering



PREDICTABLY UNPREDICTABLE
Ein Labor zum Festival der Zukunft

On the occasion of its 70th anniversary, the Wiener Festwochen are inviting participants to sketch out scenarios for possible futures under the rubric of Predictably Unpredictable. As part of a four-day lab session, researchers and students from five universities, artists, and members of the public will come together to consider the positioning of festivals yesterday, today and tomorrow, in lectures and discussions as well as performance, installation and acoustic interventions. With the help of the Festwochen archive, they will retrace the festival’s chequered history, discuss its current challenges and, together, draw up visions of the Festival of the Future – as a place for the predictably unpredictable.

Dates 9 - 12 September

Admission free

By and with Alexandra Althoff, Anne Juren, Ash Bulayev, Begüm Erciyas, Claudia Bosse, Elke Krasny, Helga Nowotny, Jozef Wouters, Marvi Mazhar, Michael Marder, Michael Spranger, Milica Ilić, Sandi Hilal, Wolfgang Zinggl and others

MITTEN am Abend

KEYNOTE, PERFORMANCE, MUSIC

MITTEN am Abend expands on the thoughts of the day. Inspired by visions of the future, artists and theorists will take a look at the unpredictability of space, time, encounters, and artistic practice. Four keynote presentations will unleash the imagination.

Local artists will present four sketches for the stage influenced by a piece of Festwochen history. Artistic explorations of history will evolve using various resources such as music, language, stage design, and performance.

The MITTEN evenings will be rounded off by a newly formed group anchored by Austrian trumpet player Franz Hautzinger. For the 16th instalment of his Regenorchester (‘rain orchestra’) he has brought together three exceptional musicians plus a different surprise guest for each evening session.

Dates 8 - 11 September

Admission free

By and with Thomas Hirschhorn, Silvia Bottiroli, Mi You, Philippe Parreno and Andrea Lissoni; Philine Rinert & Bernhard Fleischmann, Maria Muhar & Sara Ostertag, Sööt/Zeyringer and Curd Duca as well as Franz Hautzinger & Regenorchester XVI

Top
logo
logo
Press the Enter key to search or ESC to close
The Wiener Festwochen would like to thank their main sponsors

MITTEN

Die Wiener Festwochen verändern gegen Ende des Festivals ihren Fokus und öffnen einen Raum für die Begegnung mit ihrem Publikum. Abseits der Bühnen, fern fertiger Kunstwerke, wird die Stadt ausgehend vom Nordwestbahngelände eine Woche lang mit Prozessen, Gesprächen und Erlebnissen befüllt. Statt abendlichem Premierenreigen laden mehrtägige künstlerische Labore MITTEN am Tag zu kollektiven Prozessen ein. MITTEN am Abend bieten Keynotes, Performances und Konzerte ein vielfältiges Programm. Anregend soll es sein, Lust machen und beflügeln, so manche Perspektiven und Grenzen verschieben, Freiräume aufzeigen – dem Wunsch nach Veränderung konkret Möglichkeiten vorführen.

Ort brut nordwest

MITTEN am Tag

KÜNSTLER*INNEN LABORE

MITTEN am Tag widmen sich Festwochen-Künstler*innen und Publikum dem prozessorientierten Austausch und vielfältigen Lernen in praktischen Laboren. Gemeinsam reflektieren sie darüber, was die Stadt liebens- und verachtenswert macht, erzählen Anekdoten zum eigenen Vornamen, führen Dialoge in Wiens Gärten, besuchen und befragen die Donau oder kochen 18 Stunden lang Suppe. Jede einzelne Aktivität folgt dem Wunsch eines Künstlers oder einer Künstlerin, ein bestimmtes, von der Stadt oder der eigenen Recherche inspiriertes Thema zu erkunden. Sie wagen sich selbst in unbekanntes Terrain und laden eine ebenso neugierige Gruppe von Menschen ein, Verbündete in einer mehrtägigen Expedition zu sein.

Termine 1. bis 12. September

Von und mit Azade Shahmiri, Begüm Erciyas, Gabriela Carneiro da Cunha, Jozef Wouters, Kate McIntosh, Laia Fabre, Thomas Kasebacher / notfoundyet, Felix Schellhorn, Melis Tezkan, Okan Urun / biriken, Michikazu Matsune, Stine Javin, Ula Sickle & Persis Bekkering



PREDICTABLY UNPREDICTABLE
Ein Labor zum Festival der Zukunft

Anlässlich ihres 70-jährigen Bestehens laden die Festwochen unter dem Titel Predictably Unpredictable dazu ein, gemeinsam Zukünfte zu entwerfen. Im Rahmen eines viertägigen Labors kommen Forscher*innen und Studierende von fünf Universitäten, Künstler*innen und Publikum zusammen, um in Lectures, Diskussionen sowie performativen, installativen und akustischen Interventionen nach der Positionierung eines Festivals im Gestern, Heute und Morgen zu fragen. Dabei begeben sie sich mithilfe des Festwochen Archivs auf die Spuren der vielfältigen Geschichte des Festivals, diskutieren aktuelle Herausforderungen und entwickeln miteinander Visionen vom Festival der Zukunft: als Ort geplanter Unberechenbarkeit.

Termine 9. bis 12. September

Eintritt frei

Von und mit Alexandra Althoff, Anne Juren, Ash Bulayev, Begüm Erciyas, Carlo Rovelli, Claudia Bosse, Elke Krasny, Helga Nowotny, Jozef Wouters, Marvi Mazhar, Michael Marder, Michael Spranger, Milica Ilić, Piergiorgio Pepe, Sandi Hilal, Viola Gruber, Wolfgang Zinggl, u. a.

MITTEN am Abend

KEYNOTE, PERFORMANCE, MUSIK

MITTEN am Abend spinnt die Gedanken des Tages weiter. Beflügelt von Visionen des Zukünftigen werfen Künstler*innen und Theoretiker*innen einen Blick auf die Unberechenbarkeiten von Raum, Zeit, Begegnung und künstlerischer Praxis. Vier Keynotes entfesseln die Vorstellungskraft.

Inspiriert von einem Stück Festwochen Geschichte präsentieren lokale Künstler*innen vier Skizzen für die Bühne. Mit musikalischen, sprachlichen, szenografischen und performativen Mitteln entstehen künstlerische Auseinandersetzungen mit Geschichte.

Die Abende von MITTEN beschließt eine Gruppe rund um den österreichischen Trompeter Franz Hautzinger. Als 16. Auflage seines Regenorchesters versammelt er um sich drei Ausnahmemusiker*innen plus einen täglich wechselnden Überraschungsgast. Jeden Abend wird aufs Neue improvisiert.

Termine 8. bis 11. September

Eintritt frei
Registrierung erfolgt vor Ort

Von und mit Thomas Hirschhorn, Silvia Bottiroli, Mi You, Philippe Parreno & Andrea Lissoni; Philine Rinnert & Bernhard Fleischmann, Maria Muhar & Sara Ostertag, Sööt/Zeyringer und Curd Duca sowie Franz Hautzinger & Regenorchester XVI

Zum Seitenanfang
logo
logo
Drücken Sie die Eingabetaste, um zu suchen, oder ESC, um zu schließen
Die Wiener Festwochen danken ihren Hauptsponsoren