Unfortunately, this event cannot take place. Unfortunately, this event cannot take place. Unfortunately, this event cannot take place. Unfortunately, this event cannot take place. Unfortunately, this event cannot take place. Unfortunately, this event cannot take place. Unfortunately, this event cannot take place. Unfortunately, this event cannot take place. Unfortunately, this event cannot take place. Unfortunately, this event cannot take place. Unfortunately, this event cannot take place.
Kristóf Kelemen, Bence György Pálinkás
MAGYAR AKÁC
Theatre
Language: Hungarian with German and English surtitles
Duration: 60 min
Dates
Vergangene Termine
08. Jun
Monday
Time: 8.30pm
 
09. Jun
Tuesday
Time: 8.30pm
 
10. Jun
Wednesday
Time: 8.30pm
 
11. Jun
Thursday
Time: 6pm
 
Weitere Termine
© Krisztina Csanyi
  • Q & A

    9 June, following the performance

When the EU adopted measures against invasive alien species in 2014, Viktor Orbán sent the following message to Brussels: ‘We protect the country of Hungary, the free distillation of pálinka, honey, and the robinia!’ Said robinia, also known as false acacia, is native to North America, but came to Hungary more than 300 years ago, across the Atlantic. As a non-indigenous species it thrived and became Hungary’s most popular and common tree. The Hungarian acacia is now a national symbol and essential to the production of honey and schnapps. However, as a toxic invasive alien species that has successfully supplanted many indigenous plants, it divides expert opinion. The heated debates that surround the false acacia provide the starting point for the post-truth documentary theatre created by Kristóf Kelemen and Bence György Pálinkás, exponents of Budapest’s young independent theatre scene. Magyar akác (Hungarian Acacia) is their sharp-witted and humorous commentary on Hungary’s current politics and the ideologies of populism. As gardeners they embark on their own political campaigns, establish a movement and reassess the significance of the robinia – as a symbol of an open Hungarian society.

  • Artistic Team

    Direction, Concept Kristóf Kelemen, Bence György Pálinkás With Angéla Eke, Katalin Homonnai, Kristóf Kelemen, Márton Kristóf, Bence György Pálinkás Music Márton Kristóf Direction Assistant Anita Totobé Coordination Actors Réka Judit Kiss Stage Construction Dániel Balázsi, Fanni Hedegűs Light Technician, Sound Technician Mátyás Major Photography Krisztina Csányi English Translation Miklós Zsámboki German Translation Gábor Miklós Thury Production Management Judit Böröcz

  • Production

    Coproduction Trafó Kortárs Művészetek Háza (Budapest), Műhely Alapítvány With the support of Trafó Kortárs Művészetek Háza (Budapest), FÜGE - Függetlenül Egymással Közhasznú Egyesület, Műhely Alapítvány, Emberi Erőforrások Minisztériuma (Ungarn), Nemzeti Kulturális Alap (Ungarn), Jurányi Produkciós Közösségi Inkubátorház Thanks to Orsolya Barna, Seth Coleman, Krisztina Csányi, Lilla Eredics, György Gazsó, Kitti Gosztola, Dániel Lovas, Gábor Nagypál, András Pál, Júlia Regényi, Balázs Semsei (Norwell/Farbwechsel Records), György Sipos, Attila Szirtes, Judit Tarr, Jurányi Production House, Sonidus Archive, Lázár Pika Karácsony, Gábor Mojszi Szőcs, Off Europa Festival

    Premiere May 2017, Trafó Kortárs Művészetek Háza (Budapest)

logo
logo
Press the Enter key to search or ESC to close
The Wiener Festwochen would like to thank their partners

Diese Veranstaltung kann leider nicht stattfinden. Diese Veranstaltung kann leider nicht stattfinden. Diese Veranstaltung kann leider nicht stattfinden. Diese Veranstaltung kann leider nicht stattfinden. Diese Veranstaltung kann leider nicht stattfinden. Diese Veranstaltung kann leider nicht stattfinden. Diese Veranstaltung kann leider nicht stattfinden. Diese Veranstaltung kann leider nicht stattfinden. Diese Veranstaltung kann leider nicht stattfinden. Diese Veranstaltung kann leider nicht stattfinden. Diese Veranstaltung kann leider nicht stattfinden.
Kristóf Kelemen, Bence György Pálinkás
MAGYAR AKÁC
Theater
Sprache: Ungarisch mit deutschen und englischen Übertiteln
Dauer: 60 Min.
Termine
Vergangene Termine
08. Jun
Montag
Zeit: 20.30 Uhr
 
09. Jun
Dienstag
Zeit: 20.30 Uhr
 
10. Jun
Mittwoch
Zeit: 20.30 Uhr
 
11. Jun
Donnerstag
Zeit: 18 Uhr
 
Weitere Termine
© Krisztina Csanyi
  • Publikumsgespräch

    9. Juni, im Anschluss an die Vorstellung

Als die EU 2014 gegen invasive nichtheimische Arten vorging, schickte Viktor Orbán folgende Nachricht nach Brüssel: „Wir schützen das ungarische Land, die freie Pálinka-Destillation, den Honig und die Robinie!“ Die zitierte Robinie, auch Falsche Akazie genannt, kam vor über 300 Jahren über den Atlantik von Nordamerika nach Ungarn. Als fremde Spezies gelang ihr der Aufstieg zu Ungarns beliebtester und häufigster Baumart. Die ungarische Akazie wurde zu einem Nationalsymbol und als Grundlage für Honig und Schnaps unverzichtbar. Als toxischer Eindringling, der viele heimische Arten erfolgreich verdrängt hat, spaltet sie allerdings die Meinungen von Expert*innen. Die hitzigen Debatten um die Falsche Akazie nehmen Kristóf Kelemen und Bence György Pálinkás, Vertreter der jungen, unabhängigen Theaterszene in Budapest, zum Ausgangspunkt für ihr postfaktisches Dokumentartheater. Mit Magyar akác (Ungarische Akazie) gelingt ihnen ein scharfsinniger wie humorvoller Kommentar zur Politik Ungarns und zu den Ideologien des Populismus. Als Gärtner*innen ziehen sie mit eigenen politischen Aktionen ins Feld, gründen eine Bewegung und werten die Bedeutung der Robinie um: zu einem Symbol für eine offene ungarische Gesellschaft.

  • Künstlerisches Team

    Regie, Konzept Kristóf Kelemen, Bence György Pálinkás Mit Angéla Eke, Katalin Homonnai, Kristóf Kelemen, Márton Kristóf, Bence György Pálinkás Musik Márton Kristóf Regieassistenz Anita Totobé Koordination Schauspiel Réka Judit Kiss Herstellung Bühne Dániel Balázsi, Fanni Hedegűs Licht-, Tontechnik Mátyás Major Fotografie Krisztina Csányi Englische Übersetzung Miklós Zsámboki Deutsche Übersetzung Gábor Miklós Thury Produktionsleitung Judit Böröcz

  • Produktion

    Uraufführung Mai 2017, Trafó Kortárs Művészetek Háza (Budapest)

logo
logo
Drücken Sie die Eingabetaste, um zu suchen, oder ESC, um zu schließen
Die Wiener Festwochen danken ihren Hauptsponsoren