Julia Grillmayr, Tanja Traxler, Kalifornia Kurt
Last Time, This Time, Next Time LAB
Discourse
Duration: 2 - 8pm
Date
12. Sep
Saturday
Time: 2pm
 
© pixabay
  • Participation

    The LAB is booked out. Thank you for the great interest!

The ongoing ecological crisis, the current pandemic and the present protests against socio-economic, racial and politically motivated injustice all challenge ideas about progress, acceleration and deceleration, simultaneity, and how, generally, we perceive time. It is now increasingly important to consider concurrently various levels of temporality – human as well as non-human –in order to make sense of the current situation. This workshop provides philosophical, literary and scientific input as well as hands-on materials that allow us to ponder these issues together. Are we living at a time of life-changing events or in a deep-time loop? What concepts and ideas can help us to reflect on our contemporary temporalities? How can we test out various human and more-than-human temporalities?

Last Time, This Time, Next Time LAB begins with the keynote lecture Latencies, Tipping Points, Catastrophes. Experiences of Time in the Anthropocene by Eva Horn, Director of the Anthropocene Network Vienna. Next, scientist and journalist Julia Grillmayr will head up the workshop and, together with physicist and science editor Tanja Traxler, take a deeper look at the subject matter. Under the title Haunting Ourselves: The Loop as a Figure of Thought in the Anthropocene, Vienna-based musician Kalifornia Kurt will take charge of the practical part of the afternoon. At his tape workshop, participants will have the opportunity to work hands-on, building their own tape loops and recording sounds on analogue devices at the waterfront USUS venue.

LAB curated, inaugurated, accompanied and reflected by Julia Grillmayr, with a discursive impulse contribution by Tanja Traxler, tape workshop by Kalifornia Kurt

Julia Grillmayr was born in 1987 and is a Vienna and Linz-based academic journalist, science communicator, and tap dancer. She holds a PhD in Comparative Literature from the University of Vienna and is currently working on her first post-doc project Science Fiction, Fact & Forecast at the University of Art and Design Linz.

Tanja Traxler was born in 1985 and studied physics and philosophy at the University of Vienna and the University of California/Santa Cruz. She has been a science editor at the Austrian daily broadsheet Der Standard since 2015. In 2018 she received the Austrian sponsorship award for scientific journalism.

Kalifornia Kurt, was born in 1983, is a Vienna-based musician and media artist.

    Related content
    logo
    logo
    Press the Enter key to search or ESC to close
    The Wiener Festwochen would like to thank their main sponsors

Julia Grillmayr, Tanja Traxler, Kalifornia Kurt
Last Time, This Time, Next Time LAB
Diskurs
Dauer: 14 bis 20 Uhr
Termin
12. Sep
Samstag
Zeit: 14 Uhr
 
© pixabay
  • Teilnahme

    Das LAB ist ausgebucht! Vielen Dank für das große Interesse!

Die andauernde ökologische Krise, die aktuelle Pandemie sowie die gegenwärtigen Proteste gegen sozio-ökonomisch, rassistisch und politisch motivierte Ungerechtigkeit hinterfragen Vorstellungen von Fortschritt, Be- und Entschleunigung, Simultanität, und wie wir Zeit im Allgemeinen wahrnehmen. Immer wichtiger wird es, für ein neues Verständnis unserer aktuellen Situation gleichzeitig verschiedene Zeitlichkeiten – menschliche, wie nicht-menschliche – zu betrachten. Der Workshop bietet philosophischen, literarischen und wissenschaftlichen Input und über das Erstellen von Tape-Loops auch einen praktischen Zugang, der uns erlaubt, gemeinsam zu reflektieren. Leben wir in einer Zeit einschneidender Ereignisse oder in einem tiefenzeitlichen Loop? Welche Begriffe und Ideen helfen, unsere Zeitlichkeiten zu überdenken? Wie können wir verschiedene menschliche und mehr-als-menschliche Temporalitäten erproben?

Last Time, This Time, Next Time LAB beginnt mit der Keynote Lecture Latenzen, Umschlagspunkte, Katastrophen. Zeiterfahrungen im Anthropozän von Eva Horn, Leiterin des Anthropocene Network Vienna. Im Anschluss übernimmt die Wissenschafterin und Journalistin Julia Grillmayr die Leitung des Workshops und setzt die tiefere Auseinandersetzung mit dem Thema gemeinsam mit der Physikerin und Wissenschaftsredakteurin Tanja Traxler fort. Unter dem Titel Haunting ourselves: Der Loop als Denkfigur des Anthropozäns leitet der in Wien lebende Musiker Kalifornia Kurt den praktischen Teil des Nachmittags ein. In seinem Tape-Workshop werden die Teilnehmer*innen selbst aktiv; sie bauen ihre eigenen Kassetten-Loops und nehmen mit analogen Aufnahmegeräten im USUS am Wasser auf.

LAB kuratiert, eröffnet, begleitet und reflektiert von Julia Grillmayr, mit einem diskursiven Impuls-Beitrag von Tanja Traxler, Tape-Workshop Kalifornia Kurt

Julia Grillmayr, geboren 1987, forscht in Wien und Linz, ist Wissenschafterin, Journalistin, Radio-Macherin und Step-Tänzerin. Sie dissertierte in Vergleichender Literaturwissenschaft an der Universität Wien und arbeitet aktuell an dem Post Doc Projekt Science Fiction, Fact & Forecast an der Universität für künstlerische und industrielle Gestaltung Linz.

Tanja Traxler, geboren 1985, studierte Physik und Philosophie an der Universität Wien und der University of California/Santa Cruz. Seit 2015 ist sie Wissenschaftsredakteurin bei Der Standard. 2018 wurde sie mit dem Österreichischen Staats- und Förderungspreis für Wissenschaftspublizistik ausgezeichnet.

Kalifornia Kurt, geboren 1983, ist Musiker und Medienkünstler; er lebt in Wien.

    Zugehörige Inhalte
    logo
    logo
    Drücken Sie die Eingabetaste, um zu suchen, oder ESC, um zu schließen
    Die Wiener Festwochen danken ihren Hauptsponsoren