Open Call

IN THE FIELD 2024
A scholarship programme of Wiener Festwochen
in collaboration with brut Wien

(c)Picture from melancholic ground by Doris Uhlich

Open Call

IN THE FIELD 2024
A scholarship programme of Wiener Festwochen
in collaboration with brut Wien

(c)Picture from melancholic ground by Doris Uhlich

Wiener Festwochen is calling for applications for 15 scholarships for artists and cultural workers from Austria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Slovenia, Slovakia and Hungary under the heading In the Field. In the framework of a ten-day programme, In the Field will facilitate transregional networking and transfer of knowledge in the context of an international theatre festival, bringing together participants from a 300 kilometre radius around Vienna.

For the first edition of the festival under the new artistic directorship of Milo Rau, In the Field addresses in particular artists and cultural workers at the start of their careers with practices that are located at the intersection of art and activism. The Wiener Festwochen consider themselves a space of utopia, where habitual attitudes and ingrained norms are questioned and ruptured on and off the stage. Critical questions on the correlation of art and society will therefore be raised throughout the upcoming edition of the scholarship programme:

Who is given space and stage? Who is allowed to perform according to which principles and values? How does a diverse, varied, universally accessible festival work and what is the balance of experiment and tradition, discourse and entertainment, aesthetics, and politics it requires? What are the economic frameworks within which we move, where does the money come from, and how independent can art be? How are we able to act in an ecologically sustainable manner and at the same time foster international exchange and mobility? How can art be practised, and what might a festival of the future look like in order to find answers to those questions?

This year, In the Field will be mentored by director, theatre scholar and activist Gin Müller. The recipients of the scholarships will visit performances, rehearsals, and artistic-discursive events together every day as well as meeting artists and activists. Workshops designed by the participants serve to share experiences, knowledge, and hands-on skills. Designed in collaboration with brut Wien, a leading co-production space for Vienna’s independent arts scene, In the Field also places a focus on local developments by bringing scholarship recipients together with important protagonists of the Viennese cultural landscape.

Details

Dates 17 to 26 May 2024
Working Language English
Mentoring Gin Müller (director, theatre scholar, activist)

The programme is aimed at artists and cultural workers at the start of their careers and advanced students of various disciplines (Bachelor students near completion of their studies as well as master´s and PhD students), and in particular at those whose practice is located at the intersection of art and activism.

The group will consist of five scholarship recipients from Vienna and ten from the federal provinces and neighbouring countries whose home or work life centre is located within a radius of 300 km around Vienna.

Participation in In the Field is free of charge for recipients of the scholarship and includes tickets for selected performances as well as – for all scholarship holders from outside of Vienna – accommodation in single rooms (incl. breakfast) for nine overnight stays and travel costs of no more than EUR 200 to cover the journey to and from Vienna by train or coach.

Application

Deadline for Applications 17 February 2024
Please submit your applications and upload your documents via the online form.
Notifications will be sent out as of mid-March 2024.

Application Documents CV and motivational letter (max. 2500 characters, in German or English): In what way would your participation in the In the Field programme be relevant or enriching for your research, education or practices? What perspective, experience and expertise can you contribute to the group? You may also include initial ideas for a workshop designed by you.

Apply here

Contact

Eva Wolfesberger

inthefield@festwochen.at

logo
logo
Press the Enter key to search or ESC to close
The Wiener Festwochen would like to thank their main sponsors.

Open Call

IN THE FIELD 2024
Ein Stipendienprogramm der Wiener Festwochen
in Kooperation mit brut Wien

(c) Foto aus: melancholic ground von Doris Uhlich

Open Call

IN THE FIELD 2024
Ein Stipendienprogramm der Wiener Festwochen
in Kooperation mit brut Wien

(c) Foto aus: melancholic ground von Doris Uhlich

Unter dem Titel In the Field schreiben die Wiener Festwochen 15 Stipendien für Kunst- und Kulturschaffende aus Österreich, Kroatien, Tschechien, Slowenien, der Slowakei und Ungarn aus. Im Rahmen eines 10-tägigen Programms ermöglicht In the Field überregionale Vernetzung und Wissenstransfer im Kontext eines internationalen Theaterfestivals und bringt Akteur:innen aus einem Umkreis von 300 Kilometer nach Wien.

Für die erste Festivalausgabe unter der neuen Intendanz von Milo Rau adressiert In the Field insbesondere Kunst- und Kulturschaffende am Beginn ihrer Laufbahn, deren Praxis an der Schnittstelle von Kunst und Aktivismus angesiedelt ist. Die Wiener Festwochen verstehen sich als Utopieraum, in dem gängige Denkweisen und eingeschliffene Normen auf und abseits der Bühne hinterfragt und durchbrochen werden. Durch die kommende Ausgabe des Stipendienprogramms ziehen sich daher kritische Fragestellungen zum Zusammenhang von Kunst und Gesellschaft:

Wem geben wir Raum und Bühne? Wer darf nach welchen Grundsätzen und Werten auftreten? Wie funktioniert ein diverses, vielfältiges, für alle zugängliches Festival und welches Verhältnis von Experiment und Tradition, Diskurs und Unterhaltung, Ästhetik und Politik braucht es dafür? In welchen Ökonomien bewegen wir uns, woher kommt das Geld und wie unabhängig kann Kunst sein? Wie können wir ökologisch nachhaltig agieren und gleichzeitig internationalen Austausch und Mobilität fördern? Wie kann eine Kunstpraxis, wie könnte ein Festival der Zukunft konkret aussehen, das Antworten auf diese Fragen findet?

In the Field wird dieses Jahr von Regisseur*, Theaterwissenschaftler* und Aktivist* Gin Müller als Mentor* begleitet. Gemeinsam besuchen die Stipendiat:innen täglich Aufführungen, Proben und künstlerisch-diskursive Formate und treffen Künstler:innen und Aktivist:innen. In von den Teilnehmer:innen gestalteten Workshops vermitteln sie einander Erfahrungen, Wissen und praktische Fähigkeiten. Konzipiert in Kooperation mit brut Wien, als wichtigem Koproduktionshaus für die freie Szene Wiens, lenkt In the Field den Blick außerdem auf lokale Entwicklungen, indem die Stipendiat:innen mit wichtigen Akteur:innen der Wiener Kulturlandschaft vernetzt werden.

Details

Zeitraum 17. bis 26. Mai 2024 (10 Tage)
Arbeitssprache Englisch
Mentoring Gin Müller (Regisseur*, Theaterwissenschaftler*, Aktivist*)

Das Programm richtet sich an Kunst- und Kulturschaffende am Beginn ihrer Laufbahn und fortgeschrittene Studierende unterschiedlichster Disziplinen (2. Studienabschnitt oder Master- bzw. Doktoratsstudium), insbesondere an jene mit einer Praxis an der Schnittstelle von Kunst und Aktivismus.

Die Gruppe setzt sich aus 5 Stipendiat:innen aus Wien und 10 aus den Bundes- und Nachbarländern zusammen, deren Lebens- oder Arbeitsmittelpunkt innerhalb eines Radius von 300 km um Wien liegt.

Die Teilnahme an In the Field ist für die Stipendiat:innen kostenlos und inkludiert Tickets für ausgewählte Vorstellungen sowie – für alle nicht in Wien lebenden Stipendiat:innen – Reisekosten für eine An- und Abreise mit Zug oder Bus bis maximal 200 Euro und die Unterbringung in Einzelzimmern (inkl. Frühstück) für 9 Nächte.

Bewerbung

Bewerbungsfrist 17. Februar 2024
Bewerbung und Upload der Unterlagen erfolgt über das Online-Formular.
Die Benachrichtigungen werden ab Mitte März 2024 versendet.

Bewerbungsunterlagen Lebenslauf und Motivationsschreiben (max. 2500 Zeichen, in Deutsch oder Englisch): Warum ist die Teilnahme am Programm von In the Field für die eigene Forschung, Ausbildung oder Praxis relevant oder bereichernd? Welche Perspektive, Erfahrung und Expertise kann in die Gruppe eingebracht werden? Optional: erste Ideen für einen selbst gestalteten Workshop.

Zur Bewerbung

Kontakt

Eva Wolfesberger

inthefield@festwochen.at

logo
logo
Drücken Sie die Eingabetaste, um zu suchen, oder ESC, um zu schließen
Die Wiener Festwochen danken ihren Hauptsponsoren