Open Call

in the field 2023

Apply now for
A Wiener Festwochen
scholarship programme
in co-operation with brut Wien

Open Call

in the field 2023

Apply now for
A Wiener Festwochen
scholarship programme
in co-operation with brut Wien

In the Field is a scholarship programme aimed at aspiring artists and cultural workers. 15 scholarship recipients from Austria, Croatia, Hungary, Slovakia, Slovenia and the Czech Republic are set to reconvene once again in Vienna in 2023 as part of the Wiener Festwochen. Concurrently with the festival programme, they will take a closer look together at aesthetic and structural issues pertaining to contemporary art production and, over a period of ten days, explore both the international scene and the local context. In the Field focuses on transregional networking and knowledge transfer, bringing together young people from a 300 km radius around Vienna for exchanges with one another and the city itself.

Critical questions about the art sector as a whole run through each edition of In the Field: What are the economies in which we are operating, and how do we want to shape cooperation? What differentiates or unites the various contexts in which art is created and showcased around the world: across various disciplines, large institutions and self-organised structures, artists and collectives, international touring and site-specific work, commissioned work and guest performances? How do structural framework conditions and formal and aesthetic choices inform one another?

As a multidisciplinary festival that is both international in orientation and anchored within the city itself, the Wiener Festwochen provide a platform for a many-voiced reflection. Conceived in co-operation with brut Wien, a leading co-production space for Vienna’s independent arts scene, the programme also focuses on local actors and trends. This year, In the Field is led by Austrian playwright Gerhild Steinbuch.

The scholarship recipients have the opportunity to attend performances and rehearsals together on a daily basis, hear from experts, and then discuss their wealth of impressions within the group and with numerous guests. Through the exchanges among participants, with the organisers, with international artists performing at the festival and with Vienna’s cultural landscape in general, In the Field offers a space for dialogue and inspiration as well as a practical insight into the structures and working practices of the art and culture sector.

Details

Time frame 19 to 29 May
Working language
English

Mentor Gerhild Steinbuch (writer, head of the Institute for Language Arts at the University for Applied Arts Vienna)

The programme is aimed at aspiring artists and cultural workers as well as advanced students from a wide range of disciplines (undergraduates or Master’s and PhD study courses) with an interest in performative art. The group consists of five scholarship recipients from Vienna and ten from the federal provinces and neighbouring ountries.

The In the Field programme is free of charge for the scholarship recipients and includes tickets for selected performances at the Wiener Festwochen.

For all scholarship recipients not ordinarily resident in Vienna the scholarship also includes accommodation in single rooms (incl. breakfast) and expenses for travel to and from Vienna by train up to a maximum amount of EUR 200, as well as tickets for public transportation in Vienna.

Application

Application deadline 12 February 2023
To apply and upload the documents use the online form.
The notifications will be sent out as of mid-march 2023

Documents
CV and motivational letter (max. 2500 characters, in German and English): Why would participation in the In the Field programme be relevant or enriching for your reserach, education or practice? What sort of perspective, experience and expertise might you contribute to the group discussion?

For all questions, please contact
Eva Wolfesberger, inthefield@festwochen.at

logo
logo
Press the Enter key to search or ESC to close
The Wiener Festwochen would like to thank their main sponsors.

Open Call

in the field 2023

Jetzt bewerben für
das Stipendienprogramm
der Wiener Festwochen
in Kooperation mit brut Wien!

Open Call

in the field 2023

Jetzt bewerben für
das Stipendienprogramm
der Wiener Festwochen
in Kooperation mit brut Wien!

In the Field ist ein Stipendienprogramm, das sich an Kunst- und Kulturschaffende am Beginn ihrer Laufbahn richtet. Auch 2023 treffen sich im Rahmen der Wiener Festwochen wieder 15 Stipendiat:innen aus Kroatien, Österreich, Tschechien, Slowenien, der Slowakei und Ungarn in Wien. Entlang des Festivalprogramms nehmen sie gemeinsam ästhetische und strukturelle Fragen zeitgenössischer Kunstproduktion ins Visier und beforschen 10 Tage lang das internationale Feld sowie den lokalen Kontext. In the Field setzt auf überregionale Vernetzung und Wissenstransfer und bringt junge Menschen aus einem Umkreis von 300 Kilometer rund um Wien in Austausch miteinander und mit der Stadt.

Durch die vierte Ausgabe von In the Field ziehen sich kritische Fragestellungen zum Kunstbetrieb: In welchen Ökonomien bewegen wir uns und wie wollen wir Zusammenarbeit gestalten? Was unterscheidet oder vereint die unterschiedlichen Kontexte, in denen weltweit Kunst entsteht und präsentiert wird: zwischen den Disziplinen, großen Institutionen und selbstorganisierten Strukturen, Künstler:innen oder Kollektiven, internationalem Touring und ortspezifischer Arbeit, Auftragsarbeit und Gastspiel? Wie informieren sich strukturelle Rahmenbedingungen und formale und ästhetische Entscheidungen gegenseitig?

Die Wiener Festwochen als internationales und zugleich in der Stadt verankertes, multidisziplinäres Festival bilden die Plattform für ein vielstimmiges Nachdenken. Konzipiert in Kooperation mit brut Wien, als wichtigem Koproduktionshaus für die freie Szene Wiens, lenkt das Programm den Blick auch auf lokale Akteur:innen und Entwicklungen. In the Field wird dieses Jahr von der Dramatikerin Gerhild Steinbuch geleitet.

Gemeinsam besuchen die Stipendiat:innen täglich Aufführungen und Proben, hören von Expert:innen und diskutieren die Fülle an Eindrücken in der Gruppe und mit zahlreichen Gästen. Durch den Austausch untereinander, mit den Veranstalter:innen, internationalen Künstler:innen des Festivals und der Wiener Kulturlandschaft bietet In the Field einen Raum für Dialog und Inspiration, sowie einen praxisnahen Einblick in die Strukturen und Arbeitsweisen des Kunst- und Kulturbetriebs

Details

Zeitraum 19. bis 29. Mai 2023
Arbeitssprache
Englisch
Mentorin Gerhild Steinbuch (Schriftstellerin, Professorin für Sprachkunst an der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien)

Das Programm richtet sich an Kunst- und Kulturschaffende am Beginn ihrer Laufbahn und fortgeschrittene Studierende unterschiedlichster Disziplinen (2. Studienabschnitt oder Master- bzw. Doktoratsstudium) mit Interesse für performative Kunst. Die Gruppe setzt sich aus 5 Stipendiat:innen aus Wien und 10 aus den Bundes- und Nachbarländern zusammen. Richtwert: Lebensmittelpunkt innerhalb eines Radius von 300 km Luftlinie um Wien.

Das In the Field Programm ist für die Stipendiat:innen kostenlos und inkludiert Tickets für ausgewählte Vorstellungen der Wiener Festwochen.

Für alle nicht in Wien lebenden Stipendiat:innen sind darüber hinaus die Unterbringung in Einzelzimmern (inkl. Frühstück), Reisekosten für eine An- und Abreise mit dem Zug bis maximal 200 Euro und Tickets für den öffentlichen Nahverkehr inkludiert.

Bewerbung

Bewerbungsfrist 12. Februar 2023
Bewerbung und Upload der Unterlagen erfolgt über das Online-Formular.
Die Benachrichtigungen werden ab Mitte März 2023 versendet.

Notwendige Unterlagen
Lebenslauf und Motivationsschreiben (max. 2500 Zeichen, in Deutsch oder Englisch): Warum ist die Teilnahme am Programm von In the Field für die eigene Forschung, Ausbildung oder Praxis relevant oder bereichernd? Und welche Perspektive, Erfahrung und Expertise kann in die Gruppendiskussionen eingebracht werden?

Bei Fragen wenden Sie sich gerne an
Eva Wolfesberger, inthefield@festwochen.at

logo
logo
Drücken Sie die Eingabetaste, um zu suchen, oder ESC, um zu schließen
Die Wiener Festwochen danken ihren Hauptsponsoren