Marlene Monteiro Freitas
IDIOTA
Dance
Location MAK
Duration 70 min
Price EUR 25
Dates
Previous dates
15 June
Wednesday
Time 8pm
 
15 June
Wednesday
Time 10pm
 
16 June
Thursday
Time 8pm
 
16 June
Thursday
Time 10pm
 
17 June
Friday
Time 8pm
 
17 June
Friday
Time 10pm
 
Other dates
© Ines Bacher
© Ines Bacher
© Ines Bacher
© Ines Bacher
  • Paper-free evening programme

    Please find Marlene Monteiro Freitas’ thoughts on idiota here.

  • Please note

    Doors open 15 min before the start of the performance.

Marlene Monteiro Freitas has emerged as one of the great idiosyncratic talents of the last decade. The Wiener Festwochen have been featuring her powerful works on a regular basis since 2014. From her astonishing group pieces Bacantes – Prelúdio para uma Purga (2019) and Mal – Embriaguez Divina (2020) to her first-ever staging of musical repertoire with Pierrot lunaire (2021), she is renowned for creating passionately stunning works. Before she puts on an opera for the first time, in Vienna in 2023, the artist takes to the stage this year with a counterpart to her big production, namely an intimate solo. Inspired by works by Cape Verdean painter Alex Silva (1974 – 2019) and the mythological figure of Pandora, idiota is situated in an exhibition context, a performance within a showcase, specifically Pandora’s box. Known for letting loose all curses on humankind, not only is Pandora perceived as a reasonable answer to the age-old question of why people fall ill and die, she also personifies fertility. Surrounded by artworks, history, knowledge, civilisation and evolution, Marlene Monteiro Freitas’s idiota loses her bearings. A vulnerable presence and movements executed as if under constraint are suggestive of a form of autonomy as yet unknown.

  • Artistic Team

    Choreography, Performance Marlene Monteiro Freitas Choreography assistance Hsin-Yi Hsiang Space Marlene Monteiro Freitas, Miguel Figueira, Yannick Fouassier Light Yannick Fouassier Sounddesign Rui Antunes Costumes Marlene Monteiro Freitas

  • Production

    Production P.OR.K - Soraia Gonçalves, Joana Costa Santos (Lisbon) Distribution Key Performance (Stockholm) Coproduction Wiener Festwochen, CNAD – Centro Nacional de Arte, Artesanato e Design (Mindelo), Kunstenfestivaldesarts (Brussels), Grec Festival de Barcelona, Festival d'Automne à Paris Supported by Theater Freiburg (Freiburg, DE); Mattatoio – Azienda Speciale Palaexpo (Rome; IT)

    Premiere May 2022, Kunstenfestivaldesarts (Brüssel)

logo
logo
Press the Enter key to search or ESC to close
The Wiener Festwochen would like to thank their main sponsors.

Marlene Monteiro Freitas
IDIOTA
Tanz
Ort MAK
Dauer 70 Min.
Preis 25 Euro
Termine
Vorige Termine
15. Juni
Mittwoch
Zeit 20 Uhr
 
15. Juni
Mittwoch
Zeit 22 Uhr
 
16. Juni
Donnerstag
Zeit 20 Uhr
 
16. Juni
Donnerstag
Zeit 22 Uhr
 
17. Juni
Freitag
Zeit 20 Uhr
 
17. Juni
Freitag
Zeit 22 Uhr
 
Weitere Termine
© Ines Bacher
© Ines Bacher
© Ines Bacher
© Ines Bacher
  • Papierfreies Abendprogramm

    Marlene Monteiro Freitas’ Gedanken zu idiota finden Sie hier.

  • Hinweis

    Einlass 15 Min. vor Vorstellungsbeginn

Marlene Monteiro Freitas hat sich als eines der großen, eigenwilligen Talente des letzten Jahrzehnts herauskristallisiert. Seit 2014 präsentieren die Wiener Festwochen regelmäßig ihre kraftvollen Arbeiten. Von den erstaunlichen Gruppenstücken Bacantes – Prelúdio para uma Purga (2019) und Mal – Embriaguez Divina (2020) bis hin zu ihrer ersten Inszenierung von musikalischem Repertoire mit Pierrot lunaire (2021) schafft sie vehement beeindruckende Werke. Bevor die Künstlerin 2023 in Wien zum ersten Mal eine Oper inszenieren wird, präsentiert sie sich in diesem Jahr mit einem Gegenstück zur großen Bühne: einem intimen Solo. Inspiriert von Arbeiten des kapverdischen Malers Alex Silva (1974 – 2019) und der mythologischen Figur der Pandora ist idiota im Ausstellungskontext verortet, eine Performance in einer Vitrine, in Pandoras Box. Als Überbringerin der Übel der Welt bekannt, als akzeptable Antwort auf die uralte Frage, warum Menschen krank werden und sterben, verkörpert Pandora jedoch auch die Fruchtbarkeit. Umgeben von Kunstwerken, von Geschichte, Wissen, Zivilisation und Evolution verliert Marlene Monteiro Freitas’ idiota die Orientierung. Verletzliche Präsenz und Bewegungen wie unter Zwang lassen eine noch unbekannte Form von Autonomie erahnen.

  • Künstlerisches Team

    Choreografie, Performance Marlene Monteiro Freitas Assistenz Choreografie Hsin-Yi Hsiang Raum Marlene Monteiro Freitas, Miguel Figueira, Yannick Fouassier Licht Yannick Fouassier Sounddesign Rui Antunes Kostüme Marlene Monteiro Freitas

  • Produktion

    Produktion P.OR.K - Soraia Gonçalves, Joana Costa Santos (Lissabon) Distribution Key Performance (Stockholm) Koproduktion Wiener Festwochen, CNAD – Centro Nacional de Arte, Artesanato e Design (Mindelo), Kunstenfestivaldesarts (Brussels), Grec Festival de Barcelona, Festival d'Automne à Paris Mit Unterstützung von Theater Freiburg (Freiburg, DE); Mattatoio – Azienda Speciale Palaexpo (Rome; IT)

    Uraufführung Mai 2022, Kunstenfestivaldesarts (Brüssel)

logo
logo
Drücken Sie die Eingabetaste, um zu suchen, oder ESC, um zu schließen
Die Wiener Festwochen danken ihren Hauptsponsoren