Highlighted Label
Begüm Erciyas
Forest Gatherings
Labor
Language working language is English; the artist also speaks German
Price 25 Euro (Registration fee)

Registration closed

Dates
Vergangene Termine
6. September
Monday
Time 6pm to 8.30pm
 
8. September
Wednesday
Time 2pm to 5pm
 
9. September
Thursday
Time 6pm to 9pm
 
11. September
Saturday
Time 5.30am to 8.30am
 
Weitere Termine
© Bea Borgers

    A clearing in the forest as a rendezvous point for a group of people and a shared listening experience are the two parameters that Begüm Erciyas chooses anew each day as the starting point for her four-day lab. Known for involving the audience as responsible participants in her performances, Begüm Erciyas will be sounding the forest as a performative environment for the first time, together with 12 keen participants. It is about choreographing acoustic instructions and experimenting with the notion of togetherness.

    Details

    The forest: a safe haven and an inexhaustible habitat. An immense, flowing microcosm with no obvious host or intrusive owner. A stoic memory store stretching back centuries, crucial to any thoughts about a potential future.

    Over four days, a group of participants will meet at different times of the day at a specific forest location in or around Vienna and spend two or three hours there, together. They will produce and listen to audio recordings to explore such questions as: What is special about a particular place at a particular time of day? What sounds do you hear on site? What reaches you through the headphones? And how do both affect the relationships with the others and your own actions?

    The lab is founded on the assumption that the moment and surroundings of the listening experience have a crucial influence on the experience itself. Some words or sounds should perhaps only be heard in a certain place or when facing in a certain direction. Others should perhaps only be heard when we ourselves are in motion. And while in some listening moments we should have the option of seeing someone else, for others still, the mere tangible presence of others is enough.

    On Day 1, as part of a larger group, Begüm Erciyas herself will test out a listening situation and make it available for all to experience. On the following days, the forest locations with their differences and similarities will provide the inspiration for creating the sound material and defining and organising the listening parameters.

      Related content
      Begüm Erciyas
      Letters from Attica
      Performance
      Dates 16. / 17. / 18. / 19. / 20. June
      logo
      logo
      Press the Enter key to search or ESC to close
      The Wiener Festwochen would like to thank their main sponsors

Highlighted Label
Begüm Erciyas
Forest Gatherings
Labor
Sprache Arbeitssprache ist Englisch, die Künstlerin spricht außerdem Deutsch
Preis 25 Euro (Teilnahmegebühr)

Anmeldung abgeschlossen

Termine
Vergangene Termine
6. September
Montag
Zeit 18 bis 20.30 Uhr
 
8. September
Mittwoch
Zeit 14 bis 17 Uhr
 
9. September
Donnerstag
Zeit 18 bis 21 Uhr
 
11. September
Samstag
Zeit 5.30 bis 8.30 Uhr
 
Weitere Termine
© Bea Borgers

    Eine Lichtung im Wald als Treffpunkt einer Gruppe Menschen und eine gemeinsame Hörerfahrung sind die beiden Parameter, die Begüm Erciyas täglich neu für ihr viertägiges Lab als Ausgangspunkt wählt. Bekannt dafür, das Publikum als verantwortungsvolle Teilnehmer*innen in ihren Performances zu involvieren, testet Begüm Erciyas gemeinsam mit 12 Interessierten erstmals den Wald als performatives Umfeld. Akustische Anweisungen choreografieren und experimentieren mit dem Zusammensein.

    Details

    Der Wald: Rückzugsort und unerschöpflicher Lebensraum. Ein immenser, fließender Mikrokosmos ohne offensichtlichem Gastgeber oder aufdringlichem Besitzer. Ein stoischer Erinnerungsspeicher über Jahrhunderte hinweg, eine Notwendigkeit für jeden Gedanken an eine Zukunft.

    An vier Tagen trifft sich eine Gruppe von Teilnehmer*innen zu verschiedenen Tageszeiten an einem bestimmten Ort in einem Wald in oder rund um Wien und verbringt dort zwei oder drei Stunden miteinander. Sie produzieren und hören Audioaufnahmen und erforschen anhand dieser: Was ist die Besonderheit des jeweiligen Ortes zu einer bestimmten Tageszeit? Welche Geräusche vernimmt man vor Ort, was erreicht einen über die Kopfhörer und wie wirkt sich beides auf die Beziehungen zu den anderen und auf das eigene Handeln aus?

    Grundannahme des Labs ist, dass der Moment und die Umgebung des Hörens einen entscheidenden Einfluss auf die Hörerfahrung selbst hat. Manche Worte oder Geräusche sollten vielleicht nur an einem bestimmten Ort gehört werden oder mit dem Blick in eine bestimmte Richtung. Anderes sollten wir vielleicht nur dann hören, wenn wir selbst in Bewegung sind. In manchen Hörmomenten sollten wir die Möglichkeit haben, jemand anderen zu sehen, während für wiederum andere Momente die rein spürbare Präsenz von anderen ausreicht.

    Am ersten Tag und in einer größeren Gruppe wird Begüm Erciyas selbst eine Hörsituation herstellen und für alle erfahrbar machen. An den darauffolgenden Tagen dienen die verschiedenen Treffpunkte im Wald, ihre Unterschiede und Ähnlichkeiten, als Inspiration für das Generieren von Sound und das Definieren und Organisieren der Parameter des Hörens.

      Zugehörige Inhalte
      Begüm Erciyas
      Letters from Attica
      Performance
      Termine 16. / 17. / 18. / 19. / 20. Juni
      logo
      logo
      Drücken Sie die Eingabetaste, um zu suchen, oder ESC, um zu schließen
      Die Wiener Festwochen danken ihren Hauptsponsoren