Florentina Holzinger
Festzug
Video Version
Visual Arts
Dates
Vergangene Termine
19. June
Saturday
Time 3pm - 10pm
Location Donaumarina, Wehlistraße 350 (hinter dem Parkhaus)
 
26. June
Saturday
Time 3pm - 10pm
Location Naschmarkt Parkplatz
 
3. July
Saturday
Time 3pm - 10pm
Location Donaumarina, Wehlistraße 350 (hinter dem Parkhaus)
 
10. July
Saturday
Time 3pm - 10pm
Location Donaukanal / Franzensbrücke
 
Weitere Termine
© Inés Bacher
© Ines Bacher
© Inés Bacher
© Inés Bacher
© Ines Bacher
  • Evening programme

    To download the evening programme please click here.

  • Please note

    As part of 70 years Wiener Festwochen - The concert, FESTZUG premiered live on TV. The video version that emerged as a result of this performance will now move as an installation through four selected locations in the city.

A journey back to the early days of the Wiener Festwochen: in 1929, Rudolf von Laban, the pioneer of modern European dance, organised a Festzug der Gewerbe, or Pageant of the Trades, along Vienna’s Ringstrasse, as a mass event honouring handicrafts. In celebrating this ‘triumph of diligence’, the choreographer was less interested in ‘the people dressed in their finery and the showpiece floats’ than in rhythm as the element linking labour and dance. In Florentina Holzinger’s video-work, ostentatious vehicles and daredevil performers put on a dazzling exhibition. In this gleaming fleet of vehicles, body and machine have seemingly become symbiotic. Stunts, crash tests, or an occult fitness studio: here the choreography sets the rhythm with physical abandon in sync with the mechanical gearing. But to what end does this dystopian procession toil away? Is it a frantic pedalling within the hamster wheel of disciplined self-optimisation? Or a warmup session in anticipation of ruthless resistance? Florentina Holzinger, a feminist figurehead of the Austrian dance scene, excels at continually blurring the boundaries between high culture and entertainment. Grandly and mightily, her dancing street proceeded across the Rathausplatz to the music of Soap&Skin and, now, as a video installation through the city itself.

Festwochen Podcast

  • Artistic Team

    Idea, Concept, Choreography Florentina Holzinger Artistic collaboration Renée Copraij Scenery Nikola Knežević Composition, Sound design Stefan Schneider Camera Videoteam Wiener Festwochen Editing Linda Reif Postproduction Bernhard Hochenauer With Assai, Marie Blochnig, Renée Copraij, Samira Engel, Luisa Garcia Sobreira, Julianna Jules Gleeson, Maria Helgath, Florentina Holzinger, Kristin Jackson Lerch, Annina Machaz, Audrey Merilus, Xana Novais, Lotta Omran, Judith Raupp, Courtney Robertson, Judith Rohrmoser, Julia Rutigliano, Rebecca Strobl, Linnea Tullius, Pia Wilma Wurzer, Anne Zühlke

  • Production

    A commission and a production by Wiener Festwochen In collaboration with Spirit International Distribution Something Great

logo
logo
Press the Enter key to search or ESC to close
The Wiener Festwochen would like to thank their main sponsors

Florentina Holzinger
Festzug
Video Version
Visual Arts
Termine
Vergangene Termine
19. Juni
Samstag
Zeit 15 bis 22 Uhr
Ort Donaumarina, Wehlistraße 350 (hinter dem Parkhaus)
 
26. Juni
Samstag
Zeit 15 bis 22 Uhr
Ort Naschmarkt Parkplatz
 
3. Juli
Samstag
Zeit 15 bis 22 Uhr
Ort Donaumarina, Wehlistraße 350 (hinter dem Parkhaus)
 
10. Juli
Samstag
Zeit 15 bis 22 Uhr
Ort Donaukanal / Franzensbrücke
 
Weitere Termine
© Inés Bacher
© Ines Bacher
© Inés Bacher
© Inés Bacher
© Ines Bacher
  • Abendprogramm

    Das Abendprogramm finden Sie hier.

  • Hinweis

    Im Rahmen von 70 Jahre Wiener Festwochen - Das Konzert wurde der FESTZUG feat. Soap&Skin live im TV uraufgeführt. Die daraus entstandene Videoarbeit wird nun an vier Samstagen an ausgewählten Orten im Stadtraum zu sehen sein.

Ausflug in die Festwochen Frühgeschichte: 1929 inszeniert der Pionier der europäischen Tanzmoderne Rudolf von Laban den Festzug der Gewerbe zur Würdigung der Handwerkskunst als Massenevent auf der Ringstraße. Um „den Sieg des Fleißes“ zu zelebrieren, interessieren den Choreografen weniger „aufgeputzte Menschen und Wägen als Schaustücke“, sondern der Rhythmus als Bindeglied zwischen Arbeit und Tanz. In Florentina Holzingers Videoarbeit stellen sich protzige Kraftfahrzeuge und waghalsige Performerinnen einer Leistungsschau. In dem glänzenden Fuhrpark scheinen Körper und Maschine schon längst symbiotisch zu sein. Stunts, Crashtests, okkultes Fitnessstudio – hier gibt die Choreografie aus vollem Körpereinsatz im Takt mit den Getrieben den Rhythmus vor. Doch wofür wird in dieser dystopischen Prozession geschuftet? Ein Strampeln im Hamsterrad von disziplinierter Selbstoptimierung oder doch Aufwärmtraining für den schonungslosen Widerstand? Florentina Holzinger, feministische Gallionsfigur der österreichischen Tanzszene, verwischt stets die Grenzen zwischen Hochkultur und Unterhaltung. Mächtig zog ihre tanzende Straße zur Musik von Soap&Skin über den Rathausplatz und wandert nun als Videoinstallation durch die Stadt.

Festwochen Podcast

  • Künstlerisches Team

    Idee, Konzept, Choreografie Florentina Holzinger Künstlerische Mitarbeit Renée Copraij Szenerie Nikola Knežević Komposition, Sounddesign Stefan Schneider Kamera Videoteam Wiener Festwochen Schnitt Linda Reif Postproduktion Bernhard Hochenauer Mit Assai, Marie Blochnig, Renée Copraij, Samira Engel, Luisa Garcia Sobreira, Julianna Jules Gleeson, Maria Helgath, Florentina Holzinger, Kristin Jackson Lerch, Annina Machaz, Audrey Merilus, Xana Novais, Lotta Omran, Judith Raupp, Courtney Robertson, Judith Rohrmoser, Julia Rutigliano, Rebecca Strobl, Linnea Tullius, Pia Wilma Wurzer, Anne Zühlke

  • Produktion

    Ein Auftragswerk und eine Produktion von Wiener Festwochen In Zusammenarbeit mit Spirit Internationale Distribution Something Great

logo
logo
Drücken Sie die Eingabetaste, um zu suchen, oder ESC, um zu schließen
Die Wiener Festwochen danken ihren Hauptsponsoren