Festwochen Commission +++ Festwochen Commission +++ Festwochen Commission +++ Festwochen Commission +++ Festwochen Commission +++ Festwochen Commission +++ Festwochen Commission +++ Festwochen Commission +++ Festwochen Commission +++ Festwochen Commission +++ Festwochen Commission +++ Festwochen Commission +++ Festwochen Commission +++ Festwochen Commission +++ Festwochen Commission +++ Festwochen Commission +++ Festwochen Commission +++ Festwochen Commission +++ Festwochen Commission +++ Festwochen Commission +++ Festwochen Commission +++ Festwochen Commission +++
Florentina Holzinger feat. Soap&Skin
FESTZUG
Music, Performance
Admission free
Date
14. May
Friday
Time As part of 70 YEARS WIENER FESTWOCHEN - THE CONCERT. From 9.20pm
 

A journey back to the early days of the Wiener Festwochen: in 1929, Rudolf von Laban, the pioneer of modern European dance, organised a Festzug der Gewerbe, or Pageant of the Trades, along Vienna’s Ringstrasse, as a mass event honouring handicrafts. In celebrating this ‘triumph of diligence’, the choreographer was less interested in ‘the people dressed in their finery and the showpiece floats’ than in rhythm as the element linking labour and dance. In Florentina Holzinger’s intervention at 70 years Festwochen - a concert, ostentatious vehicles and daredevil performers put on a dazzling exhibition. In this gleaming fleet of vehicles, body and machine have seemingly become symbiotic. Stunts, crash tests, or an occult fitness studio: here the choreography sets the rhythm with physical abandon in sync with the mechanical gearing. But to what end does this dystopian procession toil away? Is it a frantic pedalling within the hamster wheel of disciplined self-optimisation? Or a warmup session in anticipation of ruthless resistance? Florentina Holzinger, a feminist figurehead of the Austrian dance scene, excels at continually blurring the boundaries between high culture and entertainment. Grandly and mightily, her dancing street proceeds across the Rathausplatz to the music of Soap&Skin and, later, as a video installation through the city itself.

Festwochen Podcast

  • Artistic Team

    Idea, Concept, Choreography Florentina Holzinger Music Soap&Skin Artistic collaboration Renée Copraij Scenery Nikola Knežević Sound design Stefan Schneider With Marie Blochnig, Sibylle Fischer, Maria Helgath, Annina Machaz, Audrey Merilus, Xana Novais, Courtney Robertson, Julia Rutigliano, Linnea Tullius a. o.

  • Production

    A commission and a production by Wiener Festwochen In collaboration with Spirit International Distribution Something Great

Related content
logo
logo
Press the Enter key to search or ESC to close
The Wiener Festwochen would like to thank their main sponsors

Festwochen Commission +++ Festwochen Commission +++ Festwochen Commission +++ Festwochen Commission +++ Festwochen Commission +++ Festwochen Commission +++ Festwochen Commission +++ Festwochen Commission +++ Festwochen Commission +++ Festwochen Commission +++ Festwochen Commission +++ Festwochen Commission +++ Festwochen Commission +++ Festwochen Commission +++ Festwochen Commission +++ Festwochen Commission +++ Festwochen Commission +++ Festwochen Commission +++ Festwochen Commission +++ Festwochen Commission +++ Festwochen Commission +++ Festwochen Commission +++
Florentina Holzinger feat. Soap&Skin
FESTZUG
Musik, Performance
Eintritt frei
Termin
14. Mai
Freitag
Zeit Im Rahmen von 70 JAHRE WIENER FESTWOCHEN - DAS KONZERT. Ab 21.20 Uhr
 

Ausflug in die Festwochen Frühgeschichte: 1929 inszeniert der Pionier der europäischen Tanzmoderne Rudolf von Laban den Festzug der Gewerbe zur Würdigung der Handwerkskunst als Massenevent auf der Ringstraße. Um „den Sieg des Fleißes“ zu zelebrieren, interessieren den Choreografen weniger „aufgeputzte Menschen und Wägen als Schaustücke“, sondern der Rhythmus als Bindeglied zwischen Arbeit und Tanz. In Florentina Holzingers Intervention im Rahmen von 70 Jahre Festwochen - Ein Konzert stellen sich protzige Kraftfahrzeuge und waghalsige Performerinnen einer Leistungsschau. In dem glänzenden Fuhrpark scheinen Körper und Maschine schon längst symbiotisch zu sein. Stunts, Crashtests, okkultes Fitnessstudio – hier gibt die Choreografie aus vollem Körpereinsatz im Takt mit den Getrieben den Rhythmus vor. Doch wofür wird in dieser dystopischen Prozession geschuftet? Ein Strampeln im Hamsterrad von disziplinierter Selbstoptimierung oder doch Aufwärmtraining für den schonungslosen Widerstand? Florentina Holzinger, feministische Gallionsfigur der österreichischen Tanzszene, verwischt stets die Grenzen zwischen Hochkultur und Unterhaltung. Mächtig zieht ihre tanzende Straße zur Musik von Soap&Skin über den Rathausplatz und später als Videoinstallation durch die Stadt.

Festwochen Podcast

  • Künstlerisches Team

    Idee, Konzept, Choreografie Florentina Holzinger Musik Soap&Skin Künstlerische Mitarbeit Renée Copraij Szenerie Nikola Knežević Sounddesign Stefan Schneider Mit Marie Blochnig, Sibylle Fischer, Maria Helgath, Annina Machaz, Audrey Merilus, Xana Novais, Courtney Robertson, Julia Rutigliano, Linnea Tullius u. a.

  • Produktion

    Ein Auftragswerk und eine Produktion von Wiener Festwochen In Zusammenarbeit mit Spirit Internationale Distribution Something Great

Zugehörige Inhalte
logo
logo
Drücken Sie die Eingabetaste, um zu suchen, oder ESC, um zu schließen
Die Wiener Festwochen danken ihren Hauptsponsoren