The ghostlike quality of the voice is a central element in the fourth and final installment of Suites by Encyclopédie de la parole. From their vast archive of audio recordings speakers return from the past, manifesting themselves through their very absence. With this even more true in times of the Coronavirus, marked by confinements and lockdowns, we have selected three voices from Suite n°4 for our online gestures. The calls of a shepherd in the Pyrenees, an announcement in New York’s American Museum of Natural History and a recital of the ancient Lotus Sutra will give you a little insight into what to expect when the piece will be presented at the 2021 edition of Wiener Festwochen.

yééééééééouwww

Francis has been working as a shepherd in the Pyrenees for twenty-five years. Our recording is from a 2005 feature report about Francis by Robin Hunzinger for Arte Radio (the entire broadcast is available under the title Les Bergers). The report makes no mention of the meaning or purpose of the calls we hear him make here: is he calling his flock? Is he communicating with other shepherds? Perhaps he just enjoys hearing the sound of his own voice echoing around the valley.

the museum will be closing in ten minutes

New York’s American Museum of Natural History is one of the world’s largest natural history museums. Located on Upper West Side, across the street from Central Park, it consists of 26 interconnected buildings housing a total of 45 permanent exhibition halls, in addition to a planetarium and a library. The Museum welcomes 5 million visitors a year. Our recording, posted on the freesound.org website in 2018 by a certain Kyles, features the official announcement made shortly before 6 pm to remind visitors that the Museum is about to close. It is spoken in five languages by five female voices: English, French, German, Spanish and Japanese.

Namu Myōhō Renge Kyō, Lotus Sutra

Nichiren Buddhism is a Japanese branch of Buddhism founded in the 13th century by the eponymous monk. It is part of Mahayana (‘Great Vehicle’) Buddhism, which also includes, among others, Chinese Chan Buddhism and Japanese Zen. For this particular branch, all spiritual practice is exercised for the benefit of other beings, who are inherently capable of attaining enlightenment in their present lifetime; the sutras are teachings that stem directly from Buddha and are therefore considered sacred. The texts are often adorned with gems and precious stones or engraved on gilded boards and are even the object of prostrations. The mere fact of uttering the title of a sutra is considered beneficial.

Nichiren chose the Lotus Sutra as the core doctrine of his teachings. They describe what several traditions refer to as ‘the seed of awakening’ or ‘tathagatagarba’, in other words the potential that is innate in all sentient beings to attain Buddhahood through virtuous acts and ‘skilful means’, swift and effective.

Gongyo (literally ‘assiduous practice’) constitutes the principal ritual in Nichiren Buddhism. It consists of chanting the title of the Lotus Sutra – Namu Myōhō Renge Kyō, often followed by the reading of part of Chapters 2 (‘Ways and Means’) and 16 (‘The Eternal Lifespan of Tathagata’). Gongyo is performed twice daily, upon rising and before retiring.

Our recording is a tutorial that teaches the pronunciation of gongyo, recited slowly. It has been viewed 1,823,202 times since being posted online on 7 February 2013.

Related content
logo
logo
Press the Enter key to search or ESC to close
The Wiener Festwochen would like to thank their partners

Day 14

Drei Stimmen aus Suite n°4

Übersicht digitale Gesten

Die geisterhafte Eigenschaft der Stimme ist ein zentrales Element in der vierten und letzten Folge der Suites von Encyclopédie de la parole. Aus ihrem riesigen Archiv von Audioaufnahmen kommen Sprecher*innen aus der Vergangenheit zurück und manifestieren sich genau durch ihre Abwesenheit. Da dies in den von Eingesperrtsein und Lockdown geprägten Zeiten des Coronavirus sogar noch mehr zutrifft, haben wir für unsere Online-Gesten drei Stimmen von Suite n°4 ausgewählt. Die Rufe eines Hirten in den Pyrenäen, eine Ansage aus dem New Yorker American Museum of Natural History und die Rezitation des alten Lotos-Sutra wird Ihnen einen kleinen Einblick geben, was man erwarten kann, wenn das Stück bei den Wiener Festwochen 2021 präsentiert wird.

yééééééééouwww

Francis ist seit fünfundzwanzig Jahren Almhirte in den Pyrenäen. Unsere Aufnahme stammt aus einer Radioreportage über ihn von Robin Hunziger aus dem Jahr 2005 für Arte Radio (die vollständige Fassung ist dort unter dem Titel Les Bergers abrufbar). Die Reportage erläutert nicht den Sinn oder die Funktion seiner Schreie, die zu hören sind: Der Ruf nach der Herde? Kommunikation mit anderen Hirten? Vielleicht auch nur die Freude daran, wie die eigene Stimme im Tal von Hang zu Hang springt.

the museum will be closing in ten minutes, das Museum wird in zehn Minuten geschlossen

Das American Museum of Natural History von New York ist eines der größten Museen für Naturgeschichte der Welt. Es liegt an der Upper West Side am Central Park und besteht aus 26 miteinander verbundenen Gebäuden, die eine Dauerstellung in 45 Sälen sowie ein Planetarium und eine Bibliothek beherbergen. Es zählt jährlich 5 Millionen Besucher*innen. Auf unserer 2018 von einem gewissen Kyles auf der website freesound.org geposteten Aufnahme hört man die Ansage kurz vor 18 Uhr, mit der die bevorstehende Schließung des Museums angekündigt wird. Fünf Frauenstimmen sprechen in fünf Sprachen: Englisch, Französisch, Deutsch, Spanisch und Japanisch.

Nam Myōhō Renge Kyō, Lotos-Sutra

Der Nichiren-Buddhismus ist ein im 18. Jahrhundert vom gleichnamigen Mönch gegründeter japanischer Zweig des Buddhismus. Er gehört zum Mahayana-Buddhismus (“Großes Fahrzeug”), zu dem unter anderem auch der chinesische Chan-Buddhismus und das japanische Zen zählen. Bei diesem Zweig wird jede spirituelle Übung zum Wohl der anderen Wesen durchgeführt, Erleuchtung kann man in nur einem Leben erlangen und die Sutren sind Unterweisungen, die direkt von Buddha kommen und somit für heilig gehalten werden. Die Texte sind daher oft mit Edelsteinen verziert oder auf vergoldeten Platten eingraviert und sogar Gegenstand von Prostrationen. Schon das Aussprechen des Titels eines Sutra wird als wohltuend erachtet.

Nichiren machte das Lotos-Sutra zur zentralen Lehre seiner Unterweisungen. Darin wird beschrieben, was mehrere Traditionen „Samen des Erwachens“ oder das „Tathagatagharba“ nennen, also das Potenzial jedes Einzelnen, mithilfe von tugendhaften Taten und schnellen, wirksamen und „gekonnten Mitteln“ die Buddhaschaft zu erlangen.

Gongyō (wörtlich „fleißige Ausübung“) ist die grundlegende Praxis des Nichiren-Buddhismus. Sie besteht darin, den Titel des Lotos-Sutra Nam Myōhō Renge Kyō zu wiederholen, oft gefolgt von der Lektüre eines Teils der Kapitel 2 („Zweckmäßige Mittel“) und 16 („Die Lebensspanne des Tathagata“). Das Gongyō wird jeweils morgens und abends vollzogen.

Unsere Aufnahme ist ein Tutorial, um die Aussprache des Gongyō, langsam rezitiert, zu erlernen. Seitdem es am 7. Februar 2013 ins Netz gestellt wurde, ist es 1.823.202 Mal angeklickt worden.

logo
logo
Drücken Sie die Eingabetaste, um zu suchen, oder ESC, um zu schließen
Die Wiener Festwochen danken ihren Hauptsponsoren