Day 23

Live from Meidling

Overview digital gestures

Reading by Bettina Balàka

In the course of her research for the Festwochen in Meidling project, it transpired from listening to some of the residents that what made the district of Meidling so exceptional, its trademark as it were, is that it’s so inconspicuous. Austrian writer Bettina Balàka elected to take a closer look at Vienna’s 12thmunicipal district as she embarked on her journey through the ages retracing its history. It’s a search for traces that rediscovered long-forgotten aspects and uncovered buried memories as well as faded or effaced events inscribed in the city’s history. The result is a palimpsest of overlaid writings, buildings and stories.

Join us as we follow the live stream of Bettina Balàka’s reading, direct from Wirtshaus Assmayer.

Here you can read the full text Palimpsest Meidling in German.

The Austrian daily Der Standard is to publish an abridged version of the text in its Album section on June 20.

Construction Choir Collectiv. A musical intervention in Meidling

The Construction Choir Collective combines conventional (experimental) forms of singing with other performative and artistic practices to give rise to alternative perceptions of artistic, spatial situations and situations from everyday life.

Commissioned by the Wiener Festwochen to curate an event in Meidling, czirp czirp invited the Construction Choir Collective to stage a performance in the public space. The choir will explore Meidling’s urban landscape through a musical intervention that includes improvisation, singing, movement, and vocal interaction, with a musical nod to this year’s Wiener Festwochen programme.

Related content
DIE FESTWOCHEN IN MEIDLING
Theatre, Music, Visual Arts, Performance, Dance
logo
logo
Press the Enter key to search or ESC to close
The Wiener Festwochen would like to thank their partners

Day 23

Live aus Meidling

Übersicht digitale Gesten

Lesung von Bettina Balàka

Im Zuge der Recherchen für das Projekt Die Festwochen in Meidling war mancherorts von Bewohner*innen zu hören, die Unauffälligkeit des Bezirks sei sein Markenzeichen, also das Außergewöhnliche. Die österreichische Schriftstellerin Bettina Balàka nahm den 12. Wiener Gemeindebezirk in ihr näheres literarisches Blickfeld und begab sich auf eine historische Spurensuche im Wandel der Zeit. Eine Spurensuche, die Vergessenes wiederentdeckt, verschüttete Erinnerungen und verblasste Einschreibungen in die Geschichte der Stadt erneut ans Licht bringt. Entstanden ist ein Palimpsest sich überlagernder Schriften, Gebäude und Geschichten.

Verfolgen Sie mit uns via Live-Stream aus dem Wirtshaus Assmayer die Lesung von Bettina Balàka.

Den Text Palimpsest Meidling in voller Länge finden Sie hier

Am 20. Juni veröffentlicht der Standard im Album eine gekürzte Version des Textes.

Construction Choir Collective. Eine musikalische Intervention in Meidling

The Construction Choir Collective kombiniert übliche (experimentelle) Formen des Singens mit anderen performativen und künstlerischen Praktiken, um Wege zur alternativen Wahrnehmung von künstlerischen, räumlichen und Alltagssituationen zu eröffnen.

Von den Wiener Festwochen mit der Kuratierung einer Veranstaltung in Meidling beauftragt, lud czirp czirp das Construction Choir Collective ein, eine Performance im öffentlichen Raum zu gestalten. Der Chor wird die urbane Landschaft von Meidling in Form einer musikalischen Intervention, welche Improvisation, Singen, Bewegung und vokale Interaktion umfasst, mit Anspielungen auf das heurige Programm der Wiener Festwochen erforschen.

logo
logo
Drücken Sie die Eingabetaste, um zu suchen, oder ESC, um zu schließen
Die Wiener Festwochen danken ihren Hauptsponsoren