Day 29

Text excerpts by Toshiki Okada. Visual by Teppei Kaneuji

Overview digital gestures

Toshiki Okada’s piece Eraser Mountainhas proved prophetic in capturing the zeitgeist. The director and author, a foremost protagonist of Japanese contemporary theatre, is renowned for his ability to sense social upheavals. For Festwochen 2020 reframed, he has provided us with two text excerpts from his piece: about the nature of time and the absent audience. Teppei Kaneuji, a visual artist and the set designer for the production, has authorised the pre-release of a visual he has created for a new book publication entitled Eraser Stone. In it, he sketches out the time scales between past, present and future and the relationship between human beings and objects.

© Teppei Kanuji

Eraser Mountain
Fragments of the play by Toshiki Okada

Fragment 1

LOSSS This might be a difficult topic, but it would make me happy if you could understand it. And what it is, is, it's about time. There was this thing called time. But you have no understanding of what kind of thing time was, right? Do you understand? You don't, do you? Of course you don't. In that case, let's put aside what kind of thing it was and just know that there was something called time and hold that in your mind for starters, that would be good. But if I could say one thing about time, it had the property of duration. But you don't understand what duration means, right? You don't understand. In that case, just the fact that there's a thing called time and it had the property of duration. Hold that in your mind for starters, that would be good. So anyway, human beings had this thing called time. I'm talking about humans. Human beings had this thing called time and for humans, this time was a problem. For humans, time was relentlessly a big problem. In fact, I could say that for humans, every single problem boiled down to time – it was that vast. For humans, time was a big big big problem. You don't understand this either, do you? You don't understand this. Of course you don't. In that case, just say that for humans, time was a big problem, just that much. Hold that in your mind for starters, that would be good. So then the question is, why was time such a big problem for humans? The reason was that humans belonged to time. It was not possible for humans to not belong to time. The most they could do was to change the texture of the time they belonged to into a different kind of thing. But even then, they still belonged to time. Humans could only exist on top of time. That's why for humans, all problems were fundamentally about time. And this might be the most difficult part of this to understand. If you could understand this point, you would basically come to a complete understanding of human beings. What do you think? Do you understand? You don't understand. Of course you don't. But it goes both ways. Humans, as humans, could not understand that time existed only for humans. They could not understand it at all. Since humans could not imagine a state of not belonging to time they could not understand what it would mean not to have time as a problem. The most they could do was to imagine an extremely long period of time. That was about all they could muster. But even then, time was still a problem for them. But this was simply the limitation of humans. Nothing could be done about it. So, the fact that there could be a state of being of not belonging to time was a concept that humans could not imagine. If you could understand that much, that would be good.

Fragment 2

For the grass and trees where the slight breeze blew, there was no audience.

For the slowly shape-shifting clouds that are moving at a barely perceptible speed seen only if you train your eyes on them, still, for a long time, there was no audience.

For the reflections of those clouds and sky in the wet rice fields during the season before planting, there was no audience.

For the distant thunder, there were no listeners.

For some song that was accidentally set to play on a music app in a smartphone that came blaring through the headphones, there were no listeners.

Early in the morning, crows tore away at the garbage bags full of kitchen waste for pick-up. They pecked away all they wanted and beat their wings to fly away, and at that moment their wings made a noise like a heavy umbrella opening forcefully.

Then they perched atop a power line.

There was no audience.

For a bath towel stuck in the branches of a pine tree, there was no audience.

For the changes to the topography, there was no audience.

For the wallpaper in the small room, there was no audience.

The faraway light blinking across the ocean sometimes, accidentally, lit the figure of a ghost standing on the dark sea surface.

But there was no audience.

There was no audience for the cave.

As soon as a brilliant phrase was typed out, the computer froze, and the screen blacked out.

Translated by Aya Ogawa

Related content
logo
logo
Press the Enter key to search or ESC to close
The Wiener Festwochen would like to thank their partners

Day 29

Textauszüge von Toshiki Okada. Bild von Teppei Kaneuji

Übersicht digitale Gesten

Toshiki Okadas Stück Eraser Mountain hat prophetisch den Nerv der Zeit getroffen. Der Regisseur und Autor ist einer der wichtigsten Protagonisten des zeitgenössischen japanischen Theaters und bekannt für sein Sensorium hinsichtlich gesellschaftlicher Umbrüche. Für Festwochen 2020 reframed stellt er uns zwei Textauszüge aus seinem Stück zur Verfügung: über das Wesen der Zeit und die Abwesenheit des Publikums. Teppei Kaneuji, bildender Künstler und Bühnenbildner der Produktion, ermöglicht eine Vorab-Veröffentlichung eines Bildes, das er für eine neue Buchpublikation namens Eraser Stone geschaffen hat. Darin gestaltet er die Zeitebenen zwischen Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft sowie die Beziehung zwischen Mensch und Objekt.

© Teppei Kanuji

Eraser Mountain
Textauszug aus dem Stück von Toshiki Okada

1. Textauszug

LOSSS Vielleicht ist das ja ein etwas schwieriges Thema aber ich würde mich sehr freuen, wenn Sie es verstehen könnten. Und zwar geht es dabei um Zeit. Da war einmal die Zeit. Aber Sie haben keine Ahnung, was Zeit eigentlich ist, oder? Verstehen Sie? Verstehen Sie doch nicht, oder? Natürlich nicht. Wenn dem so ist, dann kümmern wir uns erst einmal nicht darum, was Zeit genau ist, sondern ich möchte Sie bitten, dass Sie erstmal im Hinterkopf behalten, dass es so etwas wie Zeit gibt. Naja, aber sie verfügt über das Charakteristikum des Verlaufs um wenigstens etwas zu sagen. Aber Sie haben keine Ahnung, was Verlauf nun eigentlich ist, oder? Natürlich nicht. Verstehen Sie doch nicht, oder? Wenn dem so ist, dann möchte ich Sie bitten, dass Sie erstmal im Hinterkopf behalten, dass es so etwas wie Zeit gibt und dass sie über das Charakteristikum des Verlaufs verfügt. Also, die Menschen hatten also Zeit. Damit meine ich jetzt die Menschen. Die Menschen hatten also Zeit und die Zeit war für die Menschen ein Problem. Mit anderen Worten basierten fast alle Probleme für die Menschen also im Grunde eigentlich auf Zeit, so ein riesengroßes Problem war die Zeit für die Menschen. Verstehen Sie? Verstehen Sie doch nicht, oder? Natürlich nicht. Wenn dem so ist, dann möchte ich Sie bitten, dass Sie erstmal im Hinterkopf behalten, dass die Zeit für die Menschen ein Riesenproblem war. Und der Grund dafür, dass die Zeit für die Menschen nun so ein Riesenproblem war, ist, dass sie der Zeit angehörten. Es war ihnen nicht möglich, der Zeit nicht anzugehören. Wenn ihnen etwas möglich war, dann höchstens, die Textur der Zeit, der sie angehörten, in etwas anderes zu verändern, aber trotzdem gehörten sie der Zeit weiterhin an. Die Menschen konnten lediglich auf Zeit existieren. Und das ist der Grund, warum letzten Endes alle Probleme der Menschen mit Zeit zu tun hatten. Das ist vielleicht der Punkt, der am schwersten zu verstehen ist, aber wenn Sie das verstehen, dann haben Sie die Menschen praktisch verstanden, was meinen Sie? Verstehen Sie? Verstehen Sie doch nicht, oder? Natürlich nicht. Aber das gilt für beides, die Menschen hatten als Menschen Schwierigkeiten zu verstehen, dass die Zeit außerhalb der Menschen nicht existierte. Sie haben es gerade so eben zustande gebracht, sich eine irre lange Zeit vorzustellen aber das war auch das Maximum und trotzdem war die Zeit für sie noch ein Problem. Aber das ist für die Menschen eine unveränderliche Begrenzung, da kann man nichts machen. Und darum möchte ich Sie bitten, dass Sie sich erstmal klarmachen, dass die Menschen sich nicht vorstellen konnten, dass es überhaupt einen Zustand jenseits der Zugehörigkeit zu Zeit geben konnte.

2. Textauszug

Die Gräser und Bäume, die im sanften Wind rauschten, hatten kein Publikum.

Die Wolken, die so langsam ihre Form änderten, dass man es gar nicht bemerkte, wenn man sie nicht unentwegt anstarrte, hatten kein Publikum, das sie mit eigenen Augen gesehen hätte.

Der Himmel und die Wolken, wie sie sich in den wassergefüllten Reisfeldern zur Zeit der Reispflanzung spiegelten, hatten kein Publikum.

Der weit entfernte Donner hatte keine Zuhörer.

Ein paar Lieder aus der Musik-App des Smartphones, die aus irgendeinem Versehen abgespielt wurden und aus den Kopfhörern drangen, hatten keine Zuhörer.

Am frühen Morgen rissen die Krähen mit ihren Schnäbeln die an der Ablagestelle deponierten Säcke mit Küchenabfällen auf und pickten nach Herzenslust und als sie kräftig mit ihren Flügeln schlugen und emporflogen, da klang es, wie wenn man einen dicken Regenschirm schwungvoll aufspannt.

Dann setzten sie sich auf ein Stromkabel.

Es gab kein Publikum.

Das Badetuch, das an einer Kiefer hing, hatte kein Publikum.

Die Änderungen in der Topographie hatten kein Publikum.

Die Tapete in dem kleinen Raum hatte kein Publikum.

Das Licht, das aus der Ferne über das Meer blitzte, erleuchtete manchmal zufällig die Gestalt eines Geistes, der auf der dunklen Meeresoberfläche schwebte.

Aber es gab kein Publikum.

Die Höhle hatte kein Publikum.

Genau in dem Moment, wenn man einen Satz ausgeschrieben hatte, der einem gefiel, blieb der Computer stehen und der Bildschirm wurde plötzlich pechschwarz.

Übersetzung aus dem Japanischen von Andreas Regelsberger

Zugehörige Inhalte
logo
logo
Drücken Sie die Eingabetaste, um zu suchen, oder ESC, um zu schließen
Die Wiener Festwochen danken ihren Partnern