DER PAVILLON
Music, Visual Arts, Performance, Dance
Dates
16. May
Saturday
Time: Opening, 6pm
 
17. May
Sunday
21. Jun
Sunday
Time: daily from 6pm
 
© Elodie Grethen
© Elodie Grethen
© Elodie Grethen
© Elodie Grethen
  • FESTWOCHEN BAR AT THE PAVILLON

    It’s a hybrid of coffee house and night bar, a link between ‘overground’ and ‘underground’, right in the heart of the city, in between all the performance venues. The Festwochen Bar at the Pavillon is certainly the festival’s ‘happening place’: the rendezvous for encounters and exchanges, opening night celebrations and concerts, post-performance drinks and party. So step right in and step it up!

‘A meeting place in the heart of Vienna since 1897.’ Originally built as the station for Vienna’s Stadtbahn railway at Karlsplatz, the pavilion designed by Otto Wagner has always been a place where people met before heading out all over the city. Its architecture is part of what was then a revolutionary transport network that linked the city centre with its municipal districts, instantly enlivening urban life. Ever since construction work on Vienna’s U-Bahn first began in the 1970s, the pavilion next to Resselpark has stood steadfast through each property development phase. Today, it goes by the name of Otto Wagner Pavillon / Club U with, on the upper level, a Jugendstil café in a prominent city centre location and, on the lower level, an ‘underground’ venue at the intersection of several underground lines. By day, it boasts a sun terrace in the splendid setting of listed imperial architecture; by night, a space for alternative night-life culture bathed in the neon lighting of the U-Bahn passageway … All of which makes the pavilion a venue that could not be more Viennese in its contradictions.
While it plays host to the Wiener Festwochen for five weeks, the pavilion provides inspiration for a wide range of artists. Its particularities will be the starting point for site-specific works, performances and interventions. The café and club will be a place for artists, audience, team members and guests to meet. And all are warmly welcome whenever the artistic blends with the social!

    logo
    logo
    Press the Enter key to search or ESC to close
    The Wiener Festwochen would like to thank their partners

DER PAVILLON
Musik, Visual Arts, Performance, Tanz
Eintritt frei
Termine
16. Mai
Samstag
Zeit: Eröffnung, 18 Uhr
 
17. Mai
Sonntag
21. Juni
Sonntag
Zeit: täglich ab 18 Uhr
 
© Elodie Grethen
© Elodie Grethen
© Elodie Grethen
© Elodie Grethen
  • FESTWOCHEN BAR IM PAVILLON

    Ein Hybrid aus Kaffeehaus und Nachtbar, eine Liaison von Oben und Unten, mitten in der Stadt und zwischen allen Spielstätten – jedenfalls direkt am Festivalpuls: Die Festwochen Bar im Pavillon ist der Ort für Begegnungen und Austausch, Premierenfeiern und Konzerte, After Performance-Drinks und Party. Step in and stay!

„Seit 1897 ein Treffpunkt im Herzen von Wien.” Ursprünglich als eine Station der Wiener Stadtbahn am Karlsplatz errichtet, war der von Otto Wagner entworfene Pavillon von Anfang an ein Ort, an dem Menschen zusammenkamen und in die ganze Stadt ausströmten. Seine Architektur ist Teil eines damals revolutionären Verkehrsnetzes, das Bezirke und Zentrum verband und das urbane Leben mit einem Schlag beschleunigte. Seit dem Bau der U-Bahn in den 1970er-Jahren überlebt das Gebäude am Resselpark standhaft sämtliche Immobilienentwicklungsphasen und ist heute als Otto Wagner Pavillon / Club U bekannt: oben Jugendstil-Café in prominenter Innenstadtlage, unten Underground-Lokal am U-Bahn-Knotenpunkt; tagsüber Sonnenterrasse im Glanz der denkmalgeschützten k. u. k. Architektur, nachts ein Freiraum für alternative Ausgehkulturen im Neonschein der U-Bahn-Passage … Und das macht den Pavillon zu einem Ort, der in seinen Gegensätzen wienerischer nicht sein könnte.
Wenn die Wiener Festwochen hier für fünf Wochen zu Gast sind, wird der Pavillon zur Inspiration für Künstler*innen. Seine Besonderheiten werden Ausgangspunkt für ortsspezifische Arbeiten, Performances und Interventionen. Café und Club werden zum Treffpunkt für Artists, Pub likum, Team und Gäste. Wenn sich das Künstlerische ins Soziale fügt, sind alle herzlich willkommen!

    logo
    logo
    Drücken Sie die Eingabetaste, um zu suchen, oder ESC, um zu schließen
    Die Wiener Festwochen danken ihren Partnern