Highlighted Label
Laia Fabre, Thomas Kasebacher / notfoundyet, Felix Schellhorn
Caldo
Labor
Location brut nordwest
Language German and English
Price EUR 25 (Registration fee)
Date
8. September
Wednesday
12. September
Sunday
Time 2pm - 5pm
 
© Susanna Hofer
© Ingo Pertramer
  • Participation

    The Lab is aimed at anyone interested in linking artistic and culinary practices. No previous experience necessary.

  • Registration

    By 31 July via email to mitten@festwochen.at (subject: CALDO), with a few words about why you are interested in the lab topic and who you are. This information will enable the lab leaders to prepare and, in the event of more applications, to select twelve participants.

    Applicants will be notified of their selection by 14 August.

CALDO is a performative food project based around a very special product: bone broth. All the ingredients for the broth that takes 18 hours to cook are sourced locally, with the ideas of zero waste and sustainability in mind. As a social and educational space, CALDO underscores not just the culinary aspect, but also the health benefits of the dish. Together with their workshop participants, Vienna-based artists Laia Fabre and Thomas Kasebacher explore with the cook Felix Schellhorn the ideas of duration and sustainability as they cook the broth on site.

Open Call

Broth takes time. Time to be prepared, time to be consumed. The temporality and duration of making broth lends itself to exploring ideas of slowness and attentiveness, to strengthening the connections between art, food, and body, and to celebrating the concept of spending time, bridging it, and enjoying it. How can we make use of the specific timeframe in which the broth takes shape? How does a process inform a product?

The CALDO Lab is aimed at anyone interested in combining culinary and artistic practices. In collaboration with Felix Schellhorn from the performative cooking project Healthy Boy Band, Laia Fabre and Thomas Kasebacher invite participants to consider not just the concept of time, but also the aspects of zero-waste cooking and local production as key factors for the future. Culinary practices and investigative art will be combined using the ingredients and the properties of the broth: we will cook, serve, and savour ... liquid gold.

  • Biographies

    Laia Fabre, born in Barcelona, is a multidisciplinary​ artist based in Vienna. She holds a BA from BAU Design College of Barcelona and studied Visual Arts at the Academy of Fine Arts in Vienna. Her work consists of visual arts in the form of installations and drawings, combined with performance practice. They are developed by exploring the boundaries between life and art of her generation. Laia Fabre’s work has been exhibited and performed internationally at venues such as BUDA Art Center in Kortrijk, Belgium, at PACT Zollverein in Essen, Arts House in Melbourne, Australia, at ACUD Galerie, Berlin, at the gallery of Leipziger Baumwollspinnerei, as well as in Vienna at Tanzquartier, Weltmuseum, Secession or Kunstraum Niederösterreich. She showed several performances and held workshops at Impulstanz. Laia Fabre and Thomas Kasebacher together build the artist group notfoundyet.

    Thomas Kasebacher is an Austrian Artist, whose work is situated between performance, video, choreography and visual arts. He studied comparative literature in Innsbruck and London and performing arts in Liverpool. Currently, he lives and works in Vienna. His first work together with Laia Fabre as the artist group notfoundyet was Linger, which premiered at brut Wien in 2013. Thomas Kasebacher produced commisioned works for the International Performing Arts Festival SZENE Salzburg, Impulstanz Weltmuseum Wien and collaborated with artists such as Phil Hayes and Maria Jerez, Kate McIntosh, Oleg Soulimenko, Michikazu Matsune and David Subal, Cuqui Jerez, Sarah Vanhee and Forced Entertinment. His works were shown in Vienna and internationally, like The Bolaño Project (with Laia Fabre) at euro-scene Leipzig Teaterfestival. Thomas Kasebacher taught courses at Yale University, Connecticut, and the Stockholm University of Arts.

    Felix Schellhorn initially trained as a chef and is currently studying in the Transmedia Art class at the University of Applied Arts in Vienna. In Schellhorn’s artistic practice, cooking and art are inseparably linked and characterised by a common community-building principle as well as a process-oriented approach. In his work, Schellhorn deliberately emphasises the moments that arise as the completed work takes shape. A key aspect is not just what is literally on the plate, but the event as a whole and everything that surrounds it: the preparation, design, and presentation. In 2018, Schellhorn teamed up with Lukas Mraz and Philip Rachinger to launch the Healthy Boy Band project, a cooking collective consisting of three chefs whose main aim is to reach a new, fresh audience. Through their cuisine, they want to provide food for thought, as it were, for people who thus far have had little exposure to fine dining, cooking culture or even nutrition. Together with the Healthy Boy Band, Schellhorn organises cooking events, performances, and exhibitions, all in an artistic context. The focus is always on broadening people’s horizons and interacting with the target audience.

logo
logo
Press the Enter key to search or ESC to close
The Wiener Festwochen would like to thank their main sponsors

Highlighted Label
Laia Fabre, Thomas Kasebacher / notfoundyet, Felix Schellhorn
Caldo
Labor
Sprache Deutsch und Englisch
Preis 25 Euro (Teilnahmegebühr)

Anmeldung abgeschlossen

Termin
8. September
Mittwoch
12. September
Sonntag
Zeit 14 Uhr bis 17 Uhr
 
© Susanna Hofer
© Ingo Pertramer

    CALDO ist ein performatives Projekt zum Thema Essen, das ein ganz spezielles Produkt umkreist: die Knochenbrühe. Alle Zutaten für die 18 Stunden lang gekochte Suppe kommen aus lokaler Erzeugung; Zero Waste und Nachhaltigkeit sind weitere Produktionsparameter. Als sozialer und informativer Raum unterstreicht CALDO neben dem kulinarischen Aspekt auch die gesundheitsfördernde Wirkung des Gerichts. Zusammen mit Interessierten untersuchen die Wiener Künstler*innen Laia Fabre und Thomas Kasebacher mit dem von ihnen eingeladenen Koch Felix Schellhorn die Aspekte von Dauer und Nachhaltigkeit, kochen gemeinsam die Suppe direkt vor Ort.

    Details

    Brühe braucht Zeit. Zeit in der Vorbereitung, Zeit im Genießen. Die Zeitlichkeit der Brühe, ihre Dauer, bietet sich an, um Ideen von Langsamkeit und Achtsamkeit zu untersuchen, um die Verbindung von Kunst, Essen und Körper zu stärken und das Verbringen, Überbrücken und Genießen von Zeit zu zelebrieren. Wie können wir den spezifischen Zeitraum nutzen, in dem die Suppe entsteht? Wie prägt ein Prozess das Produkt?

    Das Lab CALDO richtet sich an alle, die Interesse an der Verknüpfung von kulinarischen und künstlerischen Praktiken haben. In Zusammenarbeit mit Felix Schellhorn vom performativen Kochprojekt Healthy Boy Band laden Laia Fabre und Thomas Kasebacher die Teilnehmer*innen ein, neben der Zeit die Aspekte von Zero Waste Cooking und lokaler Produktion als Schlüsselfaktoren für die Zukunft zu betrachten. Anhand der Zutaten und der Eigenschaften der Knochenbrühe werden kulinarische Praktiken und investigative Kunst verschränkt: Wir kochen, tischen auf und genießen … flüssiges Gold.

    • Biographien

      Laia Fabre, geboren in Barcelona, ist eine interdisziplinäre Künstlerin und lebt und arbeitet in Wien. Sie studierte am BAU Design College of Barcelona und an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste Wien. Ihre Arbeit kombiniert Bildende Kunst in Form von Installationen und Zeichnungen mit Performance, ausgehend von der Auseinandersetzung mit der Grenze zwischen Leben und Kunst ihrer Generation. Ihre Werke wurden international gezeigt, z.B. im BUDA Art Center in Kortrijk, Belgien, im PACT Zollverein in Essen, im Arts House in Melbourne, Australien, in der ACUD Galerie, Berlin, in der Galerie der Leipziger Baumwollspinnerei, sowie in Wien im Tanzquartier, im Weltmuseum, in der Secession oder im Kunstraum Niederösterreich. Laia Fabre zeigte ihre Peformances und hielt Workshops bei Impulstanz. Gemeinsam mit Thomas Kasebacher bildet sie die Gruppe notfoundyet.

      Thomas Kasebacher ist ein österreichischer Künstler, dessen Arbeiten sich zwischen Performance, Video, Choreografie und bildender Kunst bewegen. Er studierte vergleichende Literaturwissenschaft in Innsbruck und London und Performing Arts in Liverpool. Derzeit lebt und arbeitet Thomas Kasebacher in Wien.Seine erste gemeinsame Arbeit mit Laia Fabre als Künstlergruppe notfoundyet war Linger, das 2013 im brut Wien seine Premiere feierte. Thomas Kasebacher produzierte Auftragswerke für das International Performing Arts Festival der SZENE Salzburg, Impulstanz und das Weltmuseum Wien und arbeitete mit Künstler*innen wie Phil Hayes und Maria Jerez, Kate McIntosh, Oleg Soulimenko, Michikazu Matsune und David Subal, Cuqui Jerez, Sarah Vanhee und Forced Entertinment zusammen. Seine Arbeiten waren in Wien sowie international zu sehen, wie zuletzt The Bolaño Project (mit Laia Fabre) beim euro-scene Leipzig Teaterfestival. Lehraufträge führten Thomas Kasebacher an die Yale University, Connecticut, und die Stockholm University of Arts.

      Felix Schellhorn ist gelernter Koch und studiert in der Klasse für Transmediale Kunst an der Universität für Angewandte Kunst in Wien. In Schellhorns Praxis sind Kochen und Kunst untrennbar miteinander verbunden, gekennzeichnet durch deren gemeinsames gemeinschaftsbildendes Prinzip, aber auch durch einen prozessorientierten Zugang. Bewusst hebt Schellhorn in seiner Arbeit die Momente hervor, die rund um die Entstehung des abgeschlossenen Werks entstehen. Zentral ist nicht nur, was wortwörtlich auf den Tellern liegt, sondern auch das gesamte Geschehen, wie Zubereitung, Gestaltung und Präsentation, rundherum. 2018 hat Schellhorn gemeinsam mit Lukas Mraz und Philip Rachinger das Projekt Healthy Boy Band ins Leben gerufen. Die Healthy Boy Band ist ein Kochkollektiv, bestehend aus drei Köchen, das sich zum Ziel gesetzt hat, ein neues, frisches Publikum zu erreichen. Mit ihrer Küche wollen sie auch Personen, die sich mit Gastronomie, Kochkultur oder Ernährung bis jetzt nur wenig auseinandergesetzt haben, Denkanstöße liefern. Schellhorn veranstaltet mit der Healthy Boy Band Kochevents, Performances und Ausstellungen in einem künstlerischen Kontext. Das Hauptaugenmerk liegt hierbei auf einer Horizonterweiterung und Interaktion innerhalb der Rezipienten.

    logo
    logo
    Drücken Sie die Eingabetaste, um zu suchen, oder ESC, um zu schließen
    Die Wiener Festwochen danken ihren Hauptsponsoren