Artistic director - Applications welcome

The Wiener Festwochen is Vienna’s foremost international theatre, music and art festival. Since its founding in 1951, the Wiener Festwochen has seen itself as an interdisciplinary festival that showcases artistic works from around the world and plays a significant role in their creation.

From 1 September 2024 (i.e. for the 2025 Festival) Wiener Festwochen GesmbH is looking for an experienced personality to take up the post of

Artistic Director

with a proven track record of successful leadership in international festival. Candidates will have demonstrated expertise in the fields of theatre, music theatre, performance and interdisciplinary art forms and have the relevant specialist knowledge and prior experience in the conceptual formulation of innovative artistic programming and mediation strategies. Language skills in German and English are a prerequisite.

Vienna’s diverse social and cultural fabric is to be taken into account in drawing up the festival programme. The active involvement of Vienna’s cultural scene and locating new venues are welcomed. In-house productions and world premieres with an international signal effect are as desirable as networking with artists, cultural institutions and initiatives and initiating national and international joint ventures.

The position will include taking over management duties alongside the Managing Director responsible for the commercial sector.

The envisaged annual remuneration package is EUR 160,000, with the possibility of overpayment.

The position of Artistic Director and the artistic management of Wiener Festwochen GesmbH is being advertised for a five-year period of office on the basis of the federal act on transparency with regard to appointments to positions in state-affiliated businesses.

Written applications enclosing a CV and a conclusive concept are to be emailed to the Head of the Cultural Department of the City of Vienna, Ms Anita Zemlyak, at bewerbungen@ma07.wien.gv.at by 21 October 2022.

Top
logo
logo
Press the Enter key to search or ESC to close
The Wiener Festwochen would like to thank their main sponsors.

Ausschreibung

Die Wiener Festwochen sind Wiens bedeutendstes internationales Theater-, Musik- und Kunstfestival. Seit der Gründung 1951 verstehen sich die Festwochen als ein spartenübergreifendes Festival, das künstlerische Werke aus allen Weltgegenden präsentiert sowie an deren Entstehung maßgeblich beteiligt ist.

Die Wiener Festwochen GesmbH sucht ab 1. September 2024 (Festival 2025) eine erfahrene Persönlichkeit als

Intendantin/Intendant

die sich durch eine erfolgreiche Führungstätigkeit im internationalen Festivalbetrieb bewährt hat. Eine ausgewiesene Expertise in den Bereichen Theater, Musiktheater, Performance und interdisziplinärer Kunstformen ist ebenso Voraussetzung wie einschlägige Fachkenntnisse und Vorerfahrung bei der Konzipierung innovativer künstlerischer Programm- und Vermittlungsstrategien. Sprachkenntnisse in Deutsch und Englisch werden vorausgesetzt.

Die vielfältige soziale und kulturelle Struktur Wiens ist in der Programmgestaltung zu berücksichtigen. Eine aktive Einbindung der Wiener Kulturszene und das Finden neuer Spielorte wird begrüßt. Eigenproduktionen und Uraufführungen mit internationaler Signalwirkung sind ebenso erwünscht wie die Vernetzung zu Künstler:innen, Kulturinstitutionen und -initiativen sowie das Initiieren nationaler und internationaler Kooperationen.

Die Position beinhaltet die Übernahme der Geschäftsführung, gemeinsam mit der für den kaufmännischen Bereich verantwortlichen Geschäftsführerin.

Das vorgesehene Jahresgehalt beläuft sich auf brutto Euro 160.000,-, eine Überzahlung ist möglich.

Die Intendanz und künstlerische Geschäftsführung der Wiener Festwochen GesmbH wird auf Basis des Bundesgesetzes über Transparenz bei der Stellenbesetzung im staatsnahen Unternehmensbereich für eine Funktionsperiode von fünf Jahren ausgeschrieben.

Schriftliche Bewerbungen unter Beilage eines Lebenslaufs und eines aussagekräftigen Konzeptes können bis 21. Oktober 2022 an die Leiterin der Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien, Frau Anita Zemlyak unter bewerbungen@ma07.wien.gv.at übermittelt werden.

Zum Seitenanfang
logo
logo
Drücken Sie die Eingabetaste, um zu suchen, oder ESC, um zu schließen
Die Wiener Festwochen danken ihren Hauptsponsoren