Arnold Schoenberg Chor

© Lukas Beck

Biography

Founded in 1972 by artistic director Erwin Ortner, the Arnold Schoenberg Chor is one of Austria’s most multifaceted and sought-after vocal ensembles. Since 2006 the choir is the opera chorus in residence of Theater an der Wien. Their repertoire spans from the Renaissance and Baroque to the present with a focus on contemporary music. The choir has a particular interest in a capella works; however, yet the great works for choir and orchestra are consistently represented on its concert programs.
Cornerstones of staged productions at Theater an der Wien include operas such as Schubert’s Fierrabras (Wiener Festwochen 1988), Janácek’s In einem Totenhaus (Wiener Festwochen 2007), and the International Opera Award-winning production of Benjamin Britten’s Peter Grimes under the direction of Christof Loy and the musical direction of Cornelius Meister. In 2017, the Arnold Schoenberg Chor was named opera chorus of the year at the International Opera Awards. International touring invitations have taken the Arnold Schoenberg Chor to Asia and America, as well as across Europe and all throughout Austria as a guest ensemble at festivals, among them Wiener Festwochen, Salzburg Festival, Wien Modern, Carinthischer Sommer, and styriarte Graz.
Arnold Schoenberg Chor enjoyed a nearly 40-year-long collaboration with Nikolaus Harnoncourt and Concentus Musicus Wien, which led to a 2002 Grammy Award for a recording of J.S. Bach’s St Matthew Passion. Further recordings with Harnoncourt include albums featuring the Cantatas of J.S. Bach (nominated for a Grammy in 2010), the oratorios of Handel and Haydn, sacred music by W.A. Mozart, productions such as Gershwin’s Porgy and Bess, as well as Harnoncourt’s final CD-production of Beethoven’s Missa solemnis in 2016.

Productions and events
by
Arnold Schoenberg Chor
logo
logo
Press the Enter key to search or ESC to close
The Wiener Festwochen would like to thank their main sponsors.

Arnold Schoenberg Chor

© Lukas Beck

Biografie

Der 1972 von seinem künstlerischen Leiter Erwin Ortner gegründete Arnold Schoenberg Chor zählt zu den vielseitigsten und gefragtesten Vokalensembles Österreichs und ist seit 2006 Hauschor des Neuen Opernhauses – Theater an der Wien. Sein Repertoire reicht von der Renaissance und Barockmusik bis zur Gegenwart mit Schwerpunkt auf zeitgenössischer Musik. Besonderes Interesse des Chores gilt der A cappella-Literatur, aber auch große Chor-Orchester-Werke stehen immer wieder auf dem Programm.
Grundstein szenischer Produktionen im Theater an der Wien legten Opern wie Schuberts Fierrabras bei den Wiener Festwochen 1988, die von der Fachzeitschrift Opernwelt gekürte Oper Janáceks In einem Totenhaus 2007, bis hin zu der mit dem International Opera Award 2016 ausgezeichneten Oper Peter Grimes von Benjamin Britten unter der Regie von Christof Loy und der musikalischen Leitung von Cornelius Meister. 2017 wurde der Arnold Schoenberg Chor bei den International Opera Awards in London als bester Opernchor des Jahres ausgezeichnet. Konzerteinladungen führen den Arnold Schoenberg Chor nach Asien und Amerika. Auch innerhalb Europas und in Österreich ist das Ensemble häufig zu Gast bei Festivals wie den Wiener Festwochen, den Salzburger Festspielen, Wien Modern, Carinthischer Sommer oder styriarte Graz.
Die fast 40 Jahre währende Zusammenarbeit mit Nikolaus Harnoncourt wurde 2002 mit einem Grammy für die Aufnahme von J.S. Bachs Matthäus-Passion gewürdigt. Weitere Aufnahmen mit Nikolaus Harnoncourt umfassen Alben mit Kantaten J.S. Bachs (Grammy-Nominierung 2010), Oratorien von Händel und Haydn sowie geistliche Musik von W.A. Mozart, ergänzt durch Produktionen wie Gershwins Porgy and Bess und schließlich der letzten CD-Produktion von Nikolaus Harnoncourt, der Missa solemnis von Beethoven 2016.

Produktionen und
Veranstaltungen von
Arnold Schoenberg Chor
logo
logo
Drücken Sie die Eingabetaste, um zu suchen, oder ESC, um zu schließen
Die Wiener Festwochen danken ihren Hauptsponsoren