A prologue to the exhibition will be on view from 1 June 2020 in public space, with its continuation scheduled for 2021. A prologue to the exhibition will be on view from 1 June 2020 in public space, with its continuation scheduled for 2021. A prologue to the exhibition will be on view from 1 June 2020 in public space, with its continuation scheduled for 2021. A prologue to the exhibition will be on view from 1 June 2020 in public space, with its continuation scheduled for 2021. A prologue to the exhibition will be on view from 1 June 2020 in public space, with its continuation scheduled for 2021. A prologue to the exhibition will be on view from 1 June 2020 in public space, with its continuation scheduled for 2021. A prologue to the exhibition will be on view from 1 June 2020 in public space, with its continuation scheduled for 2021. A prologue to the exhibition will be on view from 1 June 2020 in public space, with its continuation scheduled for 2021. A prologue to the exhibition will be on view from 1 June 2020 in public space, with its continuation scheduled for 2021. A prologue to the exhibition will be on view from 1 June 2020 in public space, with its continuation scheduled for 2021. A prologue to the exhibition will be on view from 1 June 2020 in public space, with its continuation scheduled for 2021.
AND IF I DEVOTED MY LIFE TO ONE OF ITS FEATHERS?
Visual Arts
© Jim Denomie, Standing Rock, 2016 Courtesy the artist
  • Please note

    Every admission ticket for Festwochen 2020 reframed 26 Aug – 26 Sep entitles the ticket holder to a EUR 2 discounted admission to this 2021 exhibition.

The exhibition And if I devoted my life to one of its feathers? is a joint project by the Wiener Festwochen and the Kunsthalle Wien that reflects the struggles for collective survival and the processes involved in restoring social bonds. Bonds disrupted by misogyny, colonialism and imperial violence. The exhibition brings together artists and artworks from various cultural contexts to initiate a conversation about self determination and social and ecological change. The showcased works are responses to the breakneck pace with which raw materials are mined and the environmental destruction inflicted by neoliberalism. Indigenous positions burst through the colonial legacy to postulate collective rights. The works tell the story of solidarity-based encounters in the struggle against capitalism and state oppression. Anthropocentric and hetero-patriarchal fantasies that accept human beings as the dominant life form on our planet are called into question. And in the process, the plurality of life choices and life concepts is reconquered.

A joint exhibition by the Wiener Festwochen and the Kunsthalle Wien

  • Curated by

    Miguel A. López

  • With artworks by

    Babi Badalov, Denilson Baniwa, Patricia Belli, Amoako Boafo, Anna Boghiguian, Victoria Cabezas, Giuseppe Campuzano, Manuel Chavajay, Chto Delat, Rosa Elena Churruchich, Annalee Davis, Vlasta Delimar, Jim Denomie, María Galindo, Nilbar Güreş, Sheroanawe Hakihiiwe, Hiwa K, Eduardo Hirose, Inhabitans with Margarida Mendes, Karrabing Film Collective, Daniela Ortiz, Prabhakar Pachpute, Amanda Piña, Shoyan Shëca (Roldán Pinedo), Sophie Utikal, Cecilia Vicuña, Anna Witt, Santiago Yahuarcani and others

Related content
logo
logo
Press the Enter key to search or ESC to close
The Wiener Festwochen would like to thank their partners

Einen Prolog zur Ausstellung können Sie ab 1. Juni 2020 im öffentlichen Raum erleben, die Fortsetzung folgt 2021. Einen Prolog zur Ausstellung können Sie ab 1. Juni 2020 im öffentlichen Raum erleben, die Fortsetzung folgt 2021. Einen Prolog zur Ausstellung können Sie ab 1. Juni 2020 im öffentlichen Raum erleben, die Fortsetzung folgt 2021. Einen Prolog zur Ausstellung können Sie ab 1. Juni 2020 im öffentlichen Raum erleben, die Fortsetzung folgt 2021. Einen Prolog zur Ausstellung können Sie ab 1. Juni 2020 im öffentlichen Raum erleben, die Fortsetzung folgt 2021. Einen Prolog zur Ausstellung können Sie ab 1. Juni 2020 im öffentlichen Raum erleben, die Fortsetzung folgt 2021. Einen Prolog zur Ausstellung können Sie ab 1. Juni 2020 im öffentlichen Raum erleben, die Fortsetzung folgt 2021. Einen Prolog zur Ausstellung können Sie ab 1. Juni 2020 im öffentlichen Raum erleben, die Fortsetzung folgt 2021. Einen Prolog zur Ausstellung können Sie ab 1. Juni 2020 im öffentlichen Raum erleben, die Fortsetzung folgt 2021. Einen Prolog zur Ausstellung können Sie ab 1. Juni 2020 im öffentlichen Raum erleben, die Fortsetzung folgt 2021. Einen Prolog zur Ausstellung können Sie ab 1. Juni 2020 im öffentlichen Raum erleben, die Fortsetzung folgt 2021.
AND IF I DEVOTED MY LIFE TO ONE OF ITS FEATHERS?
Visual Arts
Termine
29. Mai
Freitag
Zeit: Eröffnung 18 Uhr
 
30. Mai
Samstag
21. Juni
Sonntag
Zeit: Di – So, 11 bis 21 Uhr
 
23. Juni
Dienstag
27. Sep.
Sonntag
Zeit: Di – So 11 bis 19 Uhr, Do 11 bis 21 Uhr
 
© Jim Denomie, Standing Rock, 2016 Courtesy the artist
  • Hinweis

    Jede Eintrittskarte der Wiener Festwochen 2020 ermöglicht den ermäßigten Eintritt zu 2 Euro.

  • Kuratorenführungen

    30. Mai, 17 Uhr, 2. Juni, 18 Uhr

  • Überblicksführungen

    jeden Sonntag, 15 Uhr

  • Dauer Ausstellung

    Eröffnung 29. Mai, 18 Uhr
    Dauer 30. Mai bis 21. Juni, Di – So, 11 bis 21 Uhr
    23. Juni bis 27. September, Di – So 11 bis 19 Uhr, Do 11 bis 21 Uhr

Die Ausstellung And if I devoted my life to one of its feathers?, ein gemeinsames Projekt der Festwochen und der Kunsthalle Wien, reflektiert Kämpfe ums kollektive Überleben und Prozesse der Wiederherstellung sozialer Bindungen. Bindungen, die von Frauenfeindlichkeit, Kolonialismus und imperialer Gewalt unterbrochen wurden. Die Ausstellung bringt Künstler*innen und Kunstwerke aus unterschiedlichen kulturellen Kontexten zusammen, um ein Gespräch über Selbstbestimmung, sozialen und ökologischen Wandel zu initiieren. Die gezeigten Arbeiten sind Antworten auf den rasenden Rohstoffabbau und die Umweltzerstörung des Neoliberalismus. Indigene Positionen durchbrechen das koloniale Erbe und postulieren kollektive Rechte. Werke erzählen von solidarischen Begegnungen im Kampf gegen Kapitalismus und staatliche Unterdrückung. Anthropozentrische und heteropatriarchale Fantasien, die den Menschen als dominante Lebensform auf unserem Planeten annehmen, werden in Frage gestellt. Die Vielfalt von Lebensentwürfen zurückerobert.

Eine gemeinsame Ausstellung der Wiener Festwochen und der Kunsthalle Wien.

  • Kuratiert von

    Miguel A. López

  • Mit Arbeiten von

    Babi Badalov, Denilson Baniwa, Patricia Belli, Amoako Boafo, Anna Boghiguian, Victoria Cabezas, Giuseppe Campuzano, Manuel Chavajay, Chto Delat, Rosa Elena Churruchich, Annalee Davis, Vlasta Delimar, Jim Denomie, María Galindo, Nilbar Güreş, Sheroanawe Hakihiiwe, Hiwa K, Eduardo Hirose, Inhabitants mit Margarida Mendes, Karrabing Film Collective, Daniela Ortiz, Prabhakar Pachpute, Amanda Piña, Shoyan Shëca (Roldán Pinedo), Sophie Utikal, Cecilia Vicuña, Anna Witt, Santiago Yahuarcani, u. a.

Zugehörige Inhalte
logo
logo
Drücken Sie die Eingabetaste, um zu suchen, oder ESC, um zu schließen
Die Wiener Festwochen danken ihren Partnern