Reinhold Friedl about
Iannis Xenakis

What are we looking to celebrate on Xenakis' one hundredth birthday? His radical works, his sensuous sounds, his ideas, his manifold inspirations, his impact, his contradictions ... but also: where are Xenakis’ ideas today?

Iannis Xenakis revolutionised the music world. As an architect, the composer designed his own listening spaces and conceived music as something multidimensional and spatial. Sounds were now allowed to move around, to impact the listener from different directions, to overwhelm, to be loud – in a word: to be immersive. Xenakis was much taken by wild and intoxicating sound settings; indeed, they shaped him: the chirping of cicadas in his native Greece, but also the turmoil and riots of the anti-fascist resistance, not to mention the bullets that flew during the street skirmishes against the British occupation. Xenakis had sustained severe facial injuries from an exploding grenade and, having been sentenced to death, managed to flee into exile in France in 1947. Noises and sounds became his musical fodder, and he welcomed the foreign and the strange: just how much he loved non-European music and how pointedly he incorporated it into his tape music still remains a little-known fact to this day. Three perspectives present themselves as a result: musical spatialisation, non-European music and the emancipation of sound.

The mainstay of the programme is the spatial reproduction of the radical electro-acoustic multi-channel works: La Légende d’Eer to open the evening’s proceedings; then Bohor, the great scandalous piece, during the middle of the night; and finally, Persepolis, the longest work, with the promise of light as dawn is ushered in. All with the appropriate listening situation, of course, complete with cushions and portable chairs. And performed by proven specialists of electronic music: Wolfgang Musil, Thomas Grill and Katharina Klement, all lecturers in the ELAK electronic music course at the University of Music and Performing Arts Vienna (mdw). A presentation of selected works with a Xenakis-related theme from the ELAK environment is also be performed.

Japanese biwa music was something of an awakening for Xenakis, and it will guide the listener beyond European boundary lines. The percussion music from Africa is as physical and rousing as the biwa music is monolithic, and the Laotian mouth organ sounds in Bohor are deeply sonorous. Electronic music, long since established in Africa, now returns with the imaginary balafon orchestras of DJ DIaki, danceable and just as mind-bending as Xenakis’ thumb piano layerings. Kink Gong’s montages of field recordings feature at the Basement along with Jim O’Rourke and Gilles Sivilotto’s meticulous research into sounds; Rashad Backer focuses on the electronic music of unknown species; in Marcus Schmickler’s sound tempests all manner of sounds swarm about the premises; and a choir fills the space with song under the direction of Guy Reibel. The freedom of noise and sound is celebrated by Lee Ranaldo, the sound-defining Sonic Youth guitarist, and by California’s female duo Blectum from Blechdom. And while the Golden State is now the home of electronic music, it is unmistakably present in the sound storms unleashed by Copenhagen musician Puce Mary. Xenakis would certainly have enjoyed it! Gerriet K. Sharma, for his part, will tease out the Basement’s spatial resonances with his multidirectional IKO loudspeaker. Then finally, it will be time to take to the dance floor, too, with DJ Marcelle and some undisguised Xenakis references. The hundredth anniversary of Xenakis' birth: what a celebration!

Those keen to find out more should on no account miss the keynote speeches by composer and electronic artist Marcus Schmickler and architect Markus Penell (Ortner & Ortner), not to mention the warmly extended invite to take part in the nUFO workshop by Alberto de Campo and colleagues in the afternoon.

About the performers


Blectum from Blechdom (live)
These two San Francisco musicians simply love electronic avant-garde music! And glitch has certainly been a strong influence. When we contacted them with our request, Bevin Kelley just happened to be listening to the new Xenakis box set, so the timing couldn’t have been better. And we can definitely hear the influence of and penchant for scratchy inserts and harsh electronics that lurk behind their melodiously humorous songs. Perfect for the Xenakis party!

DJ DIaki (DJ)
It’s not a party if there’s no dancing! Xenakis loved African percussion and, over the course of this long night of music, you’ll get a chance to hear it time and again in Persepolis and La Légende d’Eer featuring ferocious textured layers of Central African thumb piano. Xenakis even thought that Senegalese drumming resembled his own stochastic music. But now the tables have turned: electronic music has reached Africa, and the Ugandan label Nyege Tapes enjoys cult status. Just as Xenakis once overlaid thumb pianos, Mali’s DJ DIaki now superimposes marimba-like balafon grooves. Disparate concurrent rhythms, right up Xenakis’s street! Except that, with DJ DIaki, you just have to head for the dance floor ...

DJ Marcelle (DJ)
She herself has long ceased to be an unknown quantity, even if she embraces the unknown and the surprising, and has an appetite for risk. As in Xenakis’s Polytopes (to be heard in performances both before and after), DJ Marcelle likes to stack heterogeneous material and find harmonies in the sounds of avant-garde and hip-hop, African dance music and animal voices, evolving all the while into a fully-fledged composer at the mixing desk. The source material from her 20,000+ LP collection is seemingly inexhaustible, and Marcelle has compiled a Xenakis homage set specially for this evening. Whether or not she sticks to it is another matter. After all, total freedom is her creed, underground her origin – not to mention the Monty Pythonesque aspect, too. So we’re thrilled to have the lifetime resident DJ of the Uganda Nyege Music Festival on board with us tonight!

Gerriet K. Sharma / IKO (live)
Gerriet K. Sharma’s site-specific IKO project is an amazing extension of Xenakis’s ideas of spatialisation that uses a spherical loudspeaker instead of a direct multi-channel sound system for a precisely controlled omnidirectional sound. The result is impressive and, as with Xenakis’s Polytopes, the space itself becomes the instrument. What we hear are mostly initial reflections of the IKO located somewhere in the room. Sharma’s sound textures take on an unimagined spatiality and never cease to surprise us with overlapping imaginary soundscapes. The IKO plays the room the way a bow plays the fiddle, transporting us towards raptures of sound.

Gilles Sivilotto: handmade 02 (live)
Even though French electro-acoustic musician Gilles Sivilotto did study all the finer points of software composition in California and at the French Institute for Research and Coordination in Acoustics/Music (IRCAM), he subsequently opted to renounce it all. Since then, he has drawn his sampling graphs by hand using a computer mouse. It takes days of obsessive work to produce just a few minutes of music and yet they are somehow reminiscent of Xenakis’s UPIC experiments, with graph elements transposed directly into music. Here Sivilotto has exaggerated the process even more: every single sample value is handmade. The result? Raw, edgy and unruly music!

Guy Reibel & Construction Choir Collective (live)
Guy Reibel is a living legend; in fact, it’s hard to think of a more versatile composer of his generation. He ran Pierre Schaeffer’s music research department at French radio, recorded Ligeti’s complete vocal works on CD for the first time as a conductor, but also conducted Xenakis and was in charge of a composition class at the Paris Conservatoire. In Xenakis’s honour, he will be performing his Jeux Vocaux with Vienna’s Construction Choir Collective. There is no denying its affinity with Xenakis in terms of spatial layout, flexibility, sound layering, but also the glissando fields and its origins in musique concrète. Wild choral music, free and immersive.

Isabelle Duthoit (live)
Isabelle Duthoit is an exceptional singer or, rather, vocal artist from France. Ligeti proved with Atomsphères that an orchestra can sound like electronics and Isabelle Duthoit demonstrates that a human voice can sound like a late-Xenakis stochastic noise generator. In fact, you’re tempted to say: ‘has to sound’, so fascinating and surprising are her vocal performances. Almost extra-musical in nature, reminiscent of the techniques of Persian pearl fishers, with undertones and scratch sounds condensing into musical forms. Isabelle will guide the audience not just physically, from Floor 01 to Floor 02, but also musically, ensuring the transition to the chamber music interventions in the Basement.

Jim O’Rourke: gametophyte 4 ix (world premiere, performed by Reinhold Friedl)
Jim O’Rourke is known for his musical open-mindedness, from pop productions to his collaboration with Tony Conrad. What few people know is that he was also a Xenakis fan right from the very outset. In Japan, he has since then taken mathematics lessons at university to better understand Xenakis’s compositional approaches and implemented them in present-day software. That’s precisely what he’s now done for the Wiener Festwochen and the result is a new work scheduled to have its world premiere in a quadraphonic setting. And we’re really excited and thrilled to hear it.

Junko Ueda (live)
In 1972, biwa player and singer Kinshi Tsuruta released a record in France. Xenakis loved this traditional Japanese music and provided the sleeve notes. This ‘Japanese troubadour music’ was something of an epiphany for him. He went on to use biwa sounds in his electronic music. Non-European music was of great importance to Xenakis, a fact still too little known to this day, and so we’re particularly looking forward to the performance by Junko Ueda, master student of Kinshi Tsuruta. As Xenakis once wrote: ‘Even if we don’t understand the text, we can enjoy the music for hours.’

Kink Gong: music of ethnic minorities (DJ/live)
The Kink Gong project by French globetrotter, musician and sound collector Laurent Jeanneau focuses on the music of ethnic minorities. Music that Xenakis loved; indeed, he used many different sounds of non-European origin in his electronic music, from African percussion (La Légende d’Eer) to Japanese timbrels and the Laotian mouth organ (Bohor). Kink Gong combines field recordings and superimposes them as quadrophonic sounds, but also adapts music to ambient sounds. To this end, Laurent Jeanneau is bringing along recordings with a definite kinship to Xenakis’s ethnic borrowings. Expect beauty, chill-out and ecstatic compression.

Lee Ranaldo (live) was arguably the creative musical core of the New York cult band Sonic Youth, which oscillated between noise rock and no-wave: his origins in Glenn Branca’s band and his affinity for the avant-garde are legendary. Ranaldo’s solo projects celebrate the vast diversity and freedom of the material, just as Xenakis celebrated it, with harsh and precise soundscapes and surging noise conglomerations, some of which undoubtedly toy with voice and hidden blues references. Kindred spirits indeed. Xenakis loved thunderstorms, and Ranaldo has dedicated his Fender Rhodes piece to the hurricane that struck and paralysed New York for days on end in 2012.

Puce Mary (live)
Where Xenakis was still having to deal with hostility for showcasing noises as music-compatible material, continuing in the tradition of Varèse and Pierre Schaeffer, Puce Mary, who was born in 1987, has long become established as a precision artist: with tonal accuracy and meticulous craftsmanship, she explores avenues beyond martial swagger. And anything goes: drones and field recordings blend with vocal interludes and unpredictable noise eruptions, electronics flash from every corner, creating a superlative multi-dimensional sound experience. Overwhelming aesthetics in the best Xenakis tradition.

Rashad Becker: Traditional Music Of Notional Species – New Version (live)
Rashad Becker is not only one of the world’s most sought-after mastering engineers, but also one of the most prominent exponents of electro music, at the very latest following the release of his LP Traditional Music of Notional Species Vol. I in 2013. Like Xenakis, Rashad Becker is fascinated by the foreign and the outlandish, the musically undefined, the seemingly unmusical. Where Xenakis uses African percussion sounds or Japanese string instruments, Becker electronically generates the new music of an imaginary species using sophisticated analogue-digital resources. Here now, specifically to coincide with the Xenakis festival, is the premiere of the material he has developed further into a space-defining eight-channel composition.

Marcus Schmickler: Particle/Matter-Wave/Energy (live)
Marcus Schmickler’s multi-channel composition Particle/Matter-Wave/Energy is a stunning demonstration of how Xenakis’s spatial and multi-channel ideas can be taken to the next level. Swarms of sound race about the space, almost physically grasping the listener surrounded by speakers. It’s an intoxicating sound experience that not only has this particular aspect in common with Xenakis’ great works such as Persepolis or La Légende d’Eer, but is also without question in Xenakis’ own tradition, in both style and ingenious programming technique. Automated overpowering aesthetics, stage-managed by the composer himself at the mixing desk: idiosyncratic and monolithic.

Course in electroacoustic and experimental music (ELAK) at the University of Music and Performing Arts Vienna (mdw, live)
Featured here are four multi-channel compositions from the course in electronic and experimental music (ELAK) at the mdw, by way of a no-holds-barred introduction to Xenakis’s ideas, whether it’s granular synthesis, stochastic methods or noise.

Keynote speeches: Markus Penell & Marcus Schmickler, hosted by Reinhold Friedl
Two keynote speeches will focus on aspects of Xenakis’s oeuvre and take a pragmatic look at it from today’s perspective. Marcus Schmickler will talk about Xenakis’s influence on today’s composition practices and non-academic electronics as illustrated through Schmickler’s own approaches. Markus Penell, head of the Vienna office of the renowned Ortner & Ortner architectural firm will discuss and present the practical aspects of Xenakis’s architectural inventions, something he has been familiar with since his student days. An intervention that’s as exciting as it is rare.



Music by Iannis Xenakis

Persepolis (sound by Thomas Grill)

Created in 1971 for the Persepolis festival under the Shah of Persia marking the anniversary of the founding of the Persian Empire. Performed with the use of hundreds of loudspeakers in the ruins of Persepolis, the ancient imperial city. The spectacle featured a light extravaganza, torchlight processions and choreographies, with the audience free to move around at its leisure. The 8-track tape composition on which Xenakis condensed his sound material into a great symphony of sound and noise has survived. Processed orchestral sounds merge with African drums; deep and distorted Japanese gongs underpin and sustain the evolution of the music; the clicking of Japanese claves is to be heard, reminiscent of his early audiotape piece entitled Concret PH, which is also incorporated. For the record sleeve of the Japanese release, Xenakis chose the image of a sunrise, with the following phrase emblazoned on the cover: ‘We Bear the Light of the Earth’. A worthy conclusion to this night dedicated to Xenakis as the sun rises from behind the glass frontage of Haus 21.

La Légende d’Eer (sound by Wolfgang Musil)

The audiotape piece La Légende d’Eer was created in 1978 at the Electronic Studio of the Westdeutscher Rundfunk in Cologne as the musical element of the Diatope, a listening room designed by Xenakis for the opening of the Centre Pompidou in Paris. La Légende d’Eer is regarded as the culmination of Xenakis’s Polytopes: multimedia performances featuring multi-channel audiotape feeds. A rich diversity of sound material is modularly superimposed and scattered about the space via eight tracks. The piece begins (and ends) with the legendary oscillator sounds of the Synthi 100 as they slowly become turbulent (Xenakis dubbed them ‘shooting stars’) and then make way for a wide arching form that includes the richest sound material that includes the African thumb piano and a double bass solo as well as, for the first time, sounds created using stochastic synthesis. An eventful grand journey of sound.

Bohor (sound by Katharina Klement)

is regarded as the greatest scandal in electro-acoustic music. Pierre Schaeffer, director of the GRM in Paris and dedicatee of the piece, was horrified by the excessive and exuberant sound textures. Eight loudspeakers surround the audience as metallic sounds of Persian and Iraqi jewellery evoke – some would say – the clatter of a knight’s armour: the titular Bohor, a knight of the Round Table who, like Xenakis, bore a large scar on his face. The sound of a Laotian mouth organ transposed into a deep bass provides a continuous drone, with the piece concluding in a rapture of sound generated by thunder sheets, similarly transposed. Xenakis played the piece at maximum volume, demanding that the listener surrender to the music.

Concret PH was composed in 1958 for the pavilion Xenakis designed at the World Exposition in Brussels, which was directly adjacent to the Austrian Pavilion by Karl Schwanzer, where this event is taking place today, namely the Belvedere Haus 21. But at the time, Concret PH, which is barely three minutes long, served merely as an intermezzo, an interlude sonore between the performances of Edgar Varèse’s poème électronique. The textural audiotape piece, supposedly consisting exclusively of the sound of glowing coals, is to be heard several times at this anniversary celebration, in its original function as intermission filler.


Translation
Stephen Grynwasser

© David Heerde Reinhold Friedl
Reinhold
Friedl
© famille Xenakis DR Iannis Xenakis
Iannis
Xenakis
Top
logo
logo
Press the Enter key to search or ESC to close
The Wiener Festwochen would like to thank their main sponsors.

Reinhold Friedl über
Iannis Xenakis

Was wollen wir feiern an Xenakis' hunderstem Geburtstag? Seine radikalen Werke, seine Klangsinnlichkeit, seine Ideen, seine vielfältigen Inspirationen, seine Wirkungen, seine Widersprüchlichkeiten … und insbesondere: Wo sind Xenakis‘ Ideen heute?

Iannis Xenakis hat den musikalischen Kosmos revolutioniert. Als Architekt realisiert der Komponist eigene Hörräume, dachte Musik mehrdimensional und räumlich. Klänge dürfen sich bewegen, aus unterschiedlichsten Richtungen auf den Hörer einprallen, überwältigen, laut sein, kurzum: immersiv. Wilde rauschhafte Klangsituationen haben es Xenakis angetan – sie hatten ihn geprägt: das Singen der Zikaden in seiner griechischen Heimat, aber auch die Tumulte im anti-faschistischen Widerstand oder das Fliegen der Geschosse im Straßenkampf gegen die britische Besatzung. Xenakis hatte durch eine Granate schwere Gesichtsverletzungen erlitten und floh, zum Tode verurteilt, 1947 ins französische Exil. Geräusche wurden ihm musikalisches Material und das Fremde willkommen: Bis heute ist kaum bekannt, wie sehr er außereuropäische Musiken liebte, und wie unverblümt er diese in seine Tonbandmusiken einbaute. So eröffnen sich drei Blickwinkel: musikalische Verräumlichung, außereuropäische Musik und Emanzipation des Geräusches.

Eckpfeiler des Programms ist die räumliche Wiedergabe der radikalen elektroakustischen Mehrkanalwerke: La Légende d’Eer zur Eröffnung, Bohor, das große Skandalstück mitten in der Nacht und Persepolis, das lichtverheißende längste Werk zum Morgengrauen. Selbstverständlich in angemessener Hörsituation mit Kissen und beweglichen Stühlen. Dargeboten von ausgewiesenen Spezialist:innen elektronischer Musik: Wolfgang Musil, Thomas Grill und Katharina Klement, allesamt Lehrkräfte des Lehrgangs für elektronische Musik ELAK an der mdw. Eine Präsentation ausgewählter Werke mit Xenakis-Bezug aus dem Umfeld der ELAK wird ebenfalls zu hören sein!

Japanische Biwa-Musik, die Xenakis eine „Erweckung“ war, wird das Ohr über die europäischen Grenzen lenken. So monolithisch diese ist, so klangsinnlich die laotische Mundorgel in Bohor, so körperlich und mitreißend sind die Perkussionsmusiken aus Afrika. Elektronische Musik, längst dort angekommen, kommt nun zurück mit den imaginären Balafon-Orchestern des DJ DIaki, tanzbar und genauso überwältigend wie Xenakis‘ Daumenklavier-Schichtungen. Im Basement werden Kink Gongs Fieldrecordings-Montagen präsentiert, Rashad Backer widmet sich der elektronischen Musik unbekannter Spezien, Klangschwärme fliegen in Marcus Schmicklers Klanggewittern durch das Gebäude, ein Chor ersingt den Raum unter Leitung Guy Reibels, im Basement erklingen akribische Klangrecherchen von Jim O’Rourke und Gilles Sivilotto. Lee Ranaldo, soundprägender Sonic-Youth-Gitarrist, und das kalifornische Musikerinnen-Duo Blectum from Blechdom zelebrieren die Freiheit des Geräusches. Dort ist es heute beheimatet, aber auch unverkennbar in den Klanggewittern der Kopenhagener Musikerin Puce Mary. Xenakis hätte das genossen! Gerriet K. Sharma hingegen kitzelt mit seinem multidirektionalen IKO-Lautsprecher die Raumresonanzen im Basement hervor. Getanzt werden aber darf schließlich auch bei DJ Marcelle, mit unverhohlenen Xenakis-Referenzen. Xenakis zum Hundertsten: ein Fest!

Und wer es genauer wissen will, sollte sich auf keinen Fall die Keynotes des Komponisten und Elektronikers Marcus Schmicklers und des Architekten Markus Penell (Ortner & Ortner) entgehen lassen und ist zudem herzlich eingeladen schon am Nachmittag am nUFO-Workshop von Alberto de Campo und Kollegen teilzunehmen.

Über die Mitwirkenden


Blectum from Blechdom (live)
Die beiden Musikerinnen aus San Francisco lieben elektronische Avantgarde-Musik. Und Glitch hat sie geprägt. Als unsere Anfrage sie erreichte, hörte Bevin Kelley gerade die neue Xenakis-Box, besser konnte es sich nicht treffen. Und wir hören den Einfluss und den Hang zu kratzigen Einlagen, herber Elektronik, die sich immer wieder hinter melodiös-humorvollen Songs versteckt. Ideal für die Xenakis-Party!

DJ DIaki (DJ)
Bei einem Fest muss auch getanzt werden! Xenakis liebte afrikanische Perkussion, in dieser langen Nacht kann man sie auch immer wieder hören in Persepolis oder La Legende d'Eer, wo immer wieder wilde Texturen von zentralafrikanischem Daumenklavier aufscheinen. Xenakis fand gar, dass die senegalesische Trommelkunst seiner eigenen stochastischen Musik gleiche. Nun aber haben sich die Dinge verkehrt: die elektronische Musik ist in Afrika angekommen und das Label Nyege Nyege Tapes aus Uganda genießt Kultstatus. Und wie Xenakis einst Daumenklaviere überlagerte, schichtet nun der malinesische DJ DIaki marimbaartige Balafon-Grooves übereinander. Verschiedene Rhythmen zur gleichen Zeit, genau so wie es sich Xenakis erträumt hat: Bei DJ DIaki geht das allerdings auch direkt in die Beine.

DJ Marcelle (DJ)
Sie ist längst keine Unbekannte mehr, auch wenn sie für die Verwendung des Unbekannten, Überraschenden und Risikofreudigkeit steht. Wie in Xenakis‘ Polytopen – die davor und danach erklingen – schichtet DJ Marcelle heterogenes Material übereinander, findet Zusammenklänge von Avantgarde und Hip-Hop, African dance music und Tierstimmen, avanciert am DJ-Pult zur Komponistin. Das Material ihrer 20.000-LP Sammlung scheint unerschöpflich und Marcelle hat speziell für diesen Abend einen Xenakis-Hommage-Set konzipiert. Ob sie sich dann daran hält ist eine andere Frage: Freiheit ist ihr Credo, Underground ihre Herkunft und Monty Python lässt grüssen. Wir freuen uns auf die 'lifetime resident DJ' des Uganda Nyege Nyege Music Festivals!

Gerriet K. Sharma / IKO (live)
Gerriet K. Sharma raumbezogenes IKO-Projekt setzt Xenakis Verräumlichungsideen auf verblüffende Weise fort, verwendet statt direkter Mehrkanalbeschallung eine Lautsprecherkugel, die präzise gesteuert in alle Richtungen Klang abstrahlen kann. Das Ergebnis ist beeindruckend und wie in Xenakis Polytopen wird der Raum selbst zum Instrument. Was wir hören sind zumeist Erstreflektionen des irgendwo im Raum befindlichen IKO. Sharmas Klangtexturen erhalten dadurch eine ungeahnte Räumlichkeit und überraschen durch sich überlagernde imginäre Klangpositionen. Wie ein Bogen die Geige, so spielt der IKO den Raum und kann in einen Klangrausch entführen.

Gilles Sivilotto: handmade 02 (live)
Der französische Elektroakustiker Gilles Sivilotto hat zwar in Kalifornien und am IRCAM alle Finessen der Softwarekomposition gelernt, dieser aber gänzlich abgeschworen. Seine Sample-Kurven zeichnet er seitdem von Hand mit der Maus am Computer. Wenige Minuten Musik erfordern obsessive tagelange Arbeit und gemahnen doch an Xenakis‘ UPIC-Versuche: graphische Elemente werden direkt in Musik transferiert. Sivilotto hat dies hier noch überhöht: jeder einzelne Samplewert ist handmade. Eine rohe, kantige, widerborstige Musik.

Guy Reibel & Construction Choir Collective (live)
Guy Reibel ist eine lebende Legende und vielfältig wie kaum ein anderer Komponist seiner Generation: er leitete die musikalische Forschungsabteilung Pierre Schaeffers am französischen Rundfunk, spielte als Dirigent erstmals das vokale Gesamtwerk Ligetis auf CD ein, dirigierte aber auch Xenakis und leitete eine Kompositionsklasse am Pariser Konservatorium. Zu Ehren Xenakis wird er mit dem Wiener Construction Choir Collective seine Jeux Vocaux aufführen, die in ihrer räumlichen Anlage, ihrer Flexibilität, den Klangschichtungen, aber auch Glissandofeldern und ihrer Herkunft aus der musique concrète die Verwandschaft mit Xenakis nicht verleugnen können. Wilde Chormusik, frei und immersiv.

Isabelle Duthoit (live) ist eine Ausnahme-Sängerin – besser: Stimmkünstlerin – aus Frankreich. Wenn Ligeti mit Atomsphères bewies, dass ein Orchester wie Elektronik klingen kann, so beweist Isabelle Duthoit, dass eine Stimme wie ein stochastischer Gräuschgenerator des späten Xenakis klingen kann. Fast würde man sagen: klingen muss, so faszinierend und überraschend sind ihre stimmlichen Darbietungen. Außermusikalisch geradezu, an Techniken der persischen Perlenfischer erinnend, wenn sich Untertöne und Kratzsounds zu musikalischen Formen verdichten. Isabelle Duthoit leitet das Publikum – nicht nur physisch von Floor 01 zu Floor 02 – sondern auch musikalisch zu den sozusagen kammermusikalischen Interventionen im Basement über.

Jim O'Rourke: gametophyte 4 ix (Weltpremiere, gespielt von Reinhold Friedl)
Jim O`Rourke ist bekannt für seine musikalische Offenheit, von Pop-Produktionen bis hin zu seiner Zusammenarbeit mit Tony Conrad. Was wenige wissen: er ist Xenakis-Fan der ersten Stunde. In Japan hat er nun an der Universität Mathematik-Unterricht genommen, um die Xenakis’schen Kompositionsansätze besser zu verstehen und in heutiger Software umzusetzen. Dies hat er nun für die Wiener Festwochen getan und herausgekommen ist ein neues Werk, das in quadrophoner Hörsituation seine Weltpremiere erleben wird. Wir sind gespannt und freuen uns.

Junko Ueda (live)
1972 erschien in Frankreich eine Schallplatte der Biwa-Spielerin und Sängerin Kinshi Tsuruta. Xenakis liebte diese traditionelle japanische Musik, und steuerte Liner-Notes bei: Die „japanische Troubadour-Musik“ war ihm ein Erweckungserlebnis. Er verwendete die Klänge der Biwa auch in elektronischen Musik. Da es bis heute kaum bekannt ist, wie wichtig Xenakis außereuropäische Musik war, freuen wir uns besonders auf die Performance von Junko Ueda, Meisterschülerin von Kinshi Tsuruta. Wie Xenakis schrieb: „Auch wenn wir den Text nicht verstehen, können wir diese Musik stundenlang genießen“.

Kink Gong: music of ethnic minorities (DJ/live)
Das Projekt Kink Gong des französischen Weltenbummlers, Musikers und Klangsammlers Laurent Jeanneau stellt die Musik ethischer Minderheiten in den Mittelpunkt. Musik die Xenakis liebte, der von afrikanischer Perkussion (La Légende d’Eer) über japanische Klanghölzer bis hin zur laotischen Mundorgel (Bohor) vielerlei Klänge außereuropäischer Herkunft in seiner elektronischen Musik verwendete. Kink Gong kombiniert Field Recordings und schichtet sie quadrophon übereinander, zudem aber adaptiert er die Musiken an die Umgebungsklänge. Hierfür wir Laurent Jeanneau auch Aufnahmen mitbringen, die in Verwandtschaft mit Xenakis‘ ethnischen Anleihen stehen. Zwischen Schönheit, Chill-Out und ekstatischer Verdichtung.

Lee Ranaldo (live) war vermutlich der wesentliche musikalische Gestalter der irgendwo zwischen Noise-Rock und No-Wave changierenden New Yorker Kult-Band Sonic Youth: seine Herkunft aus der Band Glenn Brancas, seine Affinität zur Avantgarde sind legendär. Ranaldos Solo-Projekte feiern mit präzise-harschen Geräuschkulissen, akkumulierenden Gitarren-Noise-Konglomeraten – die durchaus mit Stimme oder versteckten Blues-Referenzen hantieren – die große Vielfältigkeit und Freiheit des Materials, wie sie Xenakis zelebrierte. Geistesverwandte.

Puce Mary (live)
Wo Xenakis noch angefeindet wurde, wenn er in Fortführung der Tradition eines Varèse oder Pierre Schaeffers Geräusch als musikfähiges Material präsentierte, ist die 1987 geborene Puce Mary längst Präzisionskünstlerin: mit klanglicher Genauigkeit und akribischer Handwerkstechnik findet sie Wege jenseits martialischer Kraftmeierei. Alles geht: Drones oder Field Recordings vermischen sich mit Stimmeinlagen und unberechenbaren Lärmeruptionen, Elektronik blinkt aus allen Ecken, ein vieldimensionales Klangerlebnis der Extraklasse. Überwältigungsästhetik im besten Xenakis`schen Sinne.

Rashad Becker: Traditional Music Of Notional Species – New Version (live)
Rashad Becker ist nicht nur einer der weltweit gefragtesten Mastering Engineers sondern spätestens seit seiner 2013 veröffentlichten LP Traditional Music of Notional Species Vol. I einer der prominentesten Elektro-Musiker. Wie Xenakis fasziniert Rashad Becker das Fremdartige, das musikalisch Undefinierte, das scheinbar Unmusikalische. Wenn Xenakis afrikanische Perkussionsklänge oder japanische Saiteninstrumente verwendet, so generiert Becker elektronisch – mit ausgefuchsten analog-digitalen Mitteln – die neue Musik einer imaginierten Spezies. Speziell für das Xenakis-Fest nun die Premiere der Weiterentwicklung des Materials zu einer raumgreifenden Achtkanalkomposition.

Marcus Schmickler: Particle/Matter-Wave/Energy (live)
Marcus Schmicklers Mehrkanalkomposition Particle/Matter-Wave/Energy führt auf beeindruckende Weise vor, wie man Xenakis Raum- und Mehrkanalideen weiterspinnen kann: Klangschwärme rasen durch den Raum, scheinen den Hörer – umrundet von Lautsprechern – geradezu körperlich anzufassen. Ein klangliches Rauscherlebnis, das nicht nur diesen Aspekt mit Xenakis großen Werken wie Persepolis oder La Légende d'Eer teilt, sondern auch in seiner Machart und ausgefuchsten Programmiertechnik zweifellos in Xenakis‘ Tradition steht. Automatisierte Überwältigungsästhetik gesteuert vom Komponisten am Mischpult: eigen und monolithisch.

Lehrgang für elektroakustische und experimentelle Musik (ELAK) der mdw (live)
Aus dem Umfeld des Lehrgangs für elektronische und experimentelle Musik (ELAK) an der mdw werden als radikale Einstimmung vier mehrkanalige Kompositionen präsentiert, die an Xenakis Ideen anknüpfen:, sei es Granulasynthese, stochastische Methoden, oder Noise.

Keynote Speeches: Markus Penell & Marcus Schmickler, Moderation Reinhold Friedl
In zwei Keynote Speeches werden Aspekte Xenakis'chen Schaffens in den Mittelpunkt gestellt und aus heutiger Sicht pragmatisch beleuchtet. Marcus Schmickler wird über die Bedeutung von Xenakis für heutige Kompositionspraktiken und nicht-akademische Elektronik auch anhand seiner eigenen Ansätze diskutieren, Markus Penell, Leiter des Wiener Büros des renommierten Architekturbüros Ortner & Ortner wird Xenakis architektonische Inventionen, die er schon seit seiner Studienzeit kennt, aus praktischer Sicht diskutieren und vorstellen. Eine Intervention mit Seltenheitswert.




Musik von Iannis Xenakis

Persepolis (Klangregie: Thomas Grill)
Entstand 1972 für das Festival in Persepolis des Schahs von Persien. Mit Hilfe hunderter Lautsprecher in den Ruinen von Persepolis, der alten Kaiserstadt, aufgeführt. Ein Lichtspektakel, Fackelzüge, Choreographien begleiteten das Spektakel, das Pulikum konnte sich frei bewegen. Überlebt hat die 8-Spur-Tonband-Komposition, bei der Xenakis sein Klangmaterial zu einer großen Klang- und Geräusch-Symphonie verdichtete: Bearbeitete Orchesterklänge verschmelzen mit afrikanischen Trommeln, tiefe, verzerrte japanische Gongs grundieren das musikalische Geschehen, japanische Klanghölzer bitzeln und erinnern an sein frühes Tonbandstück Concret PH, das ebenfalls miteingearbeitet ist. Für das Plattencover der japanischen Veröffentlichung wählte Xenakis das Bild eines Sonnenaufgangs und auf dem Cover prangt der Satz: „We Bear the Light of the Earth“ – Wir tragen das Licht der Erde. Ein würdiger Abschluss dieser Xenakis-Nacht zum Sonnenaufgang hinter den Glasfronten des Haus 21.

La Légende d’Eer (Klangregie: Wolfgang Musil)
Das Tonbandstück La Légende d’Eer entstand 1978 im Elektronischen Studio des Westdeutschen Rundfunks in Köln als musikalischer Teil des Diatope, einem von Xenakis entworfenen Hörraumes, zur Eröffnung des Centre Pompidou in Paris. La Légende d’Eer gilt als die Krönung von Xenakis Polytopen: multimedialen Aufführungen mit Mehrkanal-Tonbandzuspiel. Eine reiche Vielfalt an Klangmaterialien wird modular übereinandergeschichtet und auf acht Spuren im Raum verteilt. Das Stück beginnt (und endet) mit den legendären Oszillatorenklängen des Synthi 100, die langsam in Turbulenzen geraten (von Xenakis „Sternschnuppen“ getauft) und Platz schaffen für eine große Bogenform die neben reichhaltigstes Klangmaterial, darunter afrikanisches Daumenklavier und ein Kontrabasssolo, erstmals auch mit stochastischer Synthese entstandene Klänge umfassen. Eine große bewegte Klangreise.

Bohor (Klangregie: Katharina Klement) gilt als der größte Skandal der elektroakustischen Musik. Pierre Schaeffer, Leiter der GRM in Paris und Widmungsträger des Stückes, war entsetzt von den überbordenden Klangtexturen. Acht Lautsprecher umgeben das Publikum, metallische Sounds von persischem und irakischem Schmuck gemahnen, wie manche meinen, an das Klappern einer Ritterrüstung: den titelgebenden Bohor, einen Ritter der Tafelrunde, der wie Xenakis eine große Narbe im Gesicht trug. Der in den tiefen Bass transponierte Klang einer laotischen Mundorgel sorgt für einen durchgehenden Drone und beschlossen wird das Stück im Klangrausch von ebenfalls transponierten Donnerblechen. Xenakis spielte das Stück in größter Lautstärke ab, die Hingabe des Hörers an die Musik einfordernd.

Concret PH entstand 1958 für den von Xenakis gebauten Pavillon auf der Weltausstellung in Brüssel, der direkt neben dem Österreichpavillon von Karl Schwanzer Pavillon stand, in dem diese Veranstaltung stattfindet: das heutige Belvedere Haus 21. Das nur knapp 3-minütige Concret PH fungierte damals allerdings lediglich als Zwischenspiel, als Interlude sonore zwischen den Aufführungen von Edgar Varèses poème électronique. Das texturale Tonbandstück, das angeblich ausschließlich aus dem Klang glühender Kohlen besteht wird an dieser Geburtstagsfeier in seiner ursprünglichen Funktion als Pausenfüller mehrfach erklingen.

© David Heerde Reinhold Friedl
Reinhold
Friedl
© famille Xenakis DR Iannis Xenakis
Iannis
Xenakis
Zum Seitenanfang
logo
logo
Drücken Sie die Eingabetaste, um zu suchen, oder ESC, um zu schließen
Die Wiener Festwochen danken ihren Hauptsponsoren