Live Broadcast on ORF 2, 3sat and orf.at Live Broadcast on ORF 2, 3sat and orf.at Live Broadcast on ORF 2, 3sat and orf.at Live Broadcast on ORF 2, 3sat and orf.at Live Broadcast on ORF 2, 3sat and orf.at Live Broadcast on ORF 2, 3sat and orf.at Live Broadcast on ORF 2, 3sat and orf.at Live Broadcast on ORF 2, 3sat and orf.at Live Broadcast on ORF 2, 3sat and orf.at Live Broadcast on ORF 2, 3sat and orf.at Live Broadcast on ORF 2, 3sat and orf.at
70 years Wiener Festwochen - The concert
#70jahre #festwochen
Music
Date
14. May
Friday
Time 9.20pm
 
© Wolfgang Bohusch
© Sepp Pixner
© Ina Aydogan
© Peter Mayr
© Skye Kiss
© Apollonia Bitzan
© Poly Maria
© Martin Bilinovac
© Bakanic_Spaemann
© Harry Schiffer
© Julia Haimburger
© Daniela Matejschek
© Maria Frodl
  • Please note

    LIVE BROADCAST on ORF2, 3sat and orf.at. Please note that, no audience will be admitted to this event.

  • Evening Programme

    Please find the schedule of the concert here

The first opening concert of the Wiener Festwochen was performed in 1951, after the end of the Second World War. In an occupied city, tens of thousands of Viennese celebrated their love of, and passion for, music and theatre – and one of the first major public festivals of the postwar era.

Even 70 years later, in keeping with tradition, the Festwochen are due to open on Vienna’s Rathausplatz. After a long period of cultural austerity, the 2021 festival is eager to recall and celebrate the performing arts as an encounter between people.

The opening concert will feature music from across three centuries as well as artistic messages from the Festwochen’s multifaceted history.

  • Artistic Team

    With PHOEN Extended, Die Strottern, Lukas Lauermann, Mira Lu Kovacs, Marie Spaemann & Christian Bakanic, Herbert Pixner Projekt, Golnar & Mahan Trio, Mischwerk, Soap&Skin & Florentina Holzinger Special Guests Federspiel, Ernst Molden, Hernán Toledo & Tango Friends Musical Direction Paul Gallister Artistic coordination Charlie Bader Light design Daniel Biegger Sound design Doris Jaindl, Volker Werner Book, Direction Gerald Votava, Wolfgang Wais

  • Production

    Wiener Festwochen

Related content
Florentina Holzinger feat. Soap&Skin
FESTZUG
Music, Performance
Date 14. May
More info Admission free
logo
logo
Press the Enter key to search or ESC to close
The Wiener Festwochen would like to thank their main sponsors

Liveübertragung auf ORF 2 und 3sat. Liveübertragung auf ORF 2 und 3sat. Liveübertragung auf ORF 2 und 3sat. Liveübertragung auf ORF 2 und 3sat. Liveübertragung auf ORF 2 und 3sat. Liveübertragung auf ORF 2 und 3sat. Liveübertragung auf ORF 2 und 3sat. Liveübertragung auf ORF 2 und 3sat. Liveübertragung auf ORF 2 und 3sat. Liveübertragung auf ORF 2 und 3sat. Liveübertragung auf ORF 2 und 3sat.
70 Jahre Wiener Festwochen - Das Konzert
#70jahre #festwochen
Musik
Termin
14. Mai
Freitag
Zeit 21.20 Uhr
 
© Wolfgang Bohusch
© Sepp Pixner
© Ina Aydogan
© Peter Mayr
© Skye Kiss
© Apollonia Bitzan
© Poly Maria
© Martin Bilinovac
© Bakanic_Spaemann
© Harry Schiffer
© Julia Haimburger
  • Hinweis

    LIVEÜBERTRAGUNG auf ORF 2 und 3sat. Wir möchten Sie darauf hinweisen, dass bei dieser Veranstaltung kein Publikum zugelassen sein wird.

1951 fand nach Ende des zweiten Weltkriegs das erste Eröffnungskonzert der Wiener Festwochen statt. In einer besetzten Stadt feierten zehntausende Wiener*innen ihre Liebe und Leidenschaft zu Musik und Theater – und eines der ersten großen Volksfeste der Nachkriegsgeschichte.

Auch 70 Jahre später eröffnen die Festwochen traditionell am Wiener Rathausplatz. Nach einer langen Zeit kultureller Entbehrungen will das Festival 2021 die darstellenden Künste als Begegnung unter den Menschen in Erinnerung rufen und feiern.

Das Eröffnungskonzert vereint Musik aus drei Jahrhunderten sowie künstlerische Botschaften aus der facettenreichen Festwochen Geschichte.

    • Künstlerisches Team

      Mit Koehne Quartett, PHOEN Extended, Die Strottern, Lukas Lauermann, Mira Lu Kovacs, Marie Spaemann & Christian Bakanic, Herbert Pixner Projekt, Golnar & Mahan Trio, Mischwerk, Soap&Skin & Florentina Holzinger Musikalische Leitung Paul Gallister Künstlerische Koordination Charlie Bader Lichtdesign Daniel Biegger Sounddesign Doris Jaindl, Volker Werner Bühnenregie, Konzeption Gerald Votava, Wolfgang Wais

    • Produktion

      Wiener Festwochen

    Zugehörige Inhalte
    logo
    logo
    Drücken Sie die Eingabetaste, um zu suchen, oder ESC, um zu schließen
    Die Wiener Festwochen danken ihren Hauptsponsoren